We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Year Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ochil Cottage

outside ochil cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
side entrance to Ochil cottage
well equipped kitchen with stanley range with seating for 7
upstairs double bedroom
down stairs double  bedroom
large sitting room with plenty seating
entrance porch with seat
small sitting room with futon and french windows to decking
large sitting room
bathroom with shower over bath
kitchen with every thing you need to cook a lovely meal
kitchen
view from courtyard
Robert the Bruce Statue at the Rotunda in Bannockburn a short walk  from the cottage
Stirling Castle 15 mins from cottage
quiet corner to relax
The Wallace Monument as the sun goes down
Lochs and lakes in and around the Stirling area
The Bannock burn 5 mins walk from cottage - one of many beautiful country walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma T
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In desperate need of repair”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We did write a review on the 30th December, however not sure but it hasn't appeared.
Overall very disappointing, the heating kept breaking down, rooms were cold and dirty, cobwebs all over.
Crockery was chipped and dirty and pubic hair on the inside of the bathroom door. The shower leaked and the only ventilation was a window which opened into the small hall, which had seating,not pleasant.
The location is amazing and thankfully a lovely golf clubhouse nearby who kindly let Us borrow champagne glasses.
Overall the property was very disappointing, especially Xmas day when the AGar broke again , not helpful.
The house from arrival to departure smelt strongly of oil and a stair light was broken, we were told she was expecting both to be repaired, however that didn't happen, smoke alarms with no batteries, we replaced them and told Anne but not forthcoming with the money for the batteries
We did share our concerns with Ann who simply stated no one else has said this and you should have told me, which we did several times...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
well i am so sorry about the Stanly cooker it is fixed now and there was an electric cooker
the house was not dirty but again sorry you found cobwebs on a light fitting and cracked crockery i have now left note for any found please leave out and every thing else had been rectified
the leak you say was in bathroom has not been found the people that had Ochil cottage for new year just after you found none of these problems as you can read there review
but am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay
kind regards
A Pollock
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB76
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year Stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage for a week over the New Year as a group of 8 adults and two dogs. The cottage was warm, quiet, well equipped and there was plenty of room for all of us. Wifi is available in the kitchen. There is an enclosed garden which allowed for secure parking and was ideal for the dogs to wander around. In summer the garden would be ideal for sitting outside and using the barbeque.
The location of the cottage is fantastic. At the end of the road there is a golf club which serves good food. A short walk takes you into Bannockburn to a pub, cafe and some smaller shops. It is a short drive into the city of Stirling which has numerous restaurants and tourist attractions. The cottage is close to a main roundabout which allows very easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and Perth. We enjoyed visits to the Battle of Bannockburn with its 3D experience, the Wallace Monument and Doune Castle.
The owner of the cottage lives next door and was available to help us with any queries we had.
We had a fantastic stay and would be more than happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
thank you for your review i am so happy you enjoyed your stay at Ochil cottage and would be very welcome back love to see the pup again
kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage in a lovely part of the world.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed as a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) in late October 2015. We found the cottage to be ideal for us. The booking was very easy and Anne was always contactable via email and phone if we had questions prior to arriving. We found the cottage to be as advertised. A previous review had mentioned about trouble parking but we found it not be a problem and could park our large estate car easily on the driveway. The WiFi is only accesible from the kitchen and small snug room but this didn't cause any major issues and Anne had advised us of this on arrival. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. It was extremely quiet during the evening and at night and we certainly had no incidents of noisy behaviour. The cottage is ideally located for exploring this area and beyond. It is perfectly positioned just off the M9 (5min drive) but is extremely quiet. We travelled to Edinburgh (35 mins), Loch Lomond (30 mins), Falkirk (15 mins) as well as the more local sights of Stirling and Bannockburn. We would happily return if we ever decided to come back to this area. Thanks Anne for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
thank you Jim for this very honest review

hope to welcome you back again sometime
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
thank you for your review i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ochil cottage and hope to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MegM25506...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst place ever. Don't stay here.”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked this place based on previous reviews but it is dreadful and the advertising is completely false and misleading. It is not furnished to a high standard as claimed - far from it. The beds are average, the lounge furniture is dirty and uncomfortable and the unreliable wifi can only be accessed from the small day room as the modem is actually in the owners house next door. The decking area outside was unusable as the BBQ was dirty and scattered with litter and the furniture was also dirty and broken. The kitchen was smelly and crockery was chipped. The utensils had food remains on them. The bath and tiles were mouldy and the coffee pot had mould inside it.The cottage is in a run down area at the end of a dirt road which is used as a walkway at all hours through to an estate at the rear. The window in the upstairs bedroom facing the road was broken and did not close properly so we were disturbed during the night as drunken locals use it regularly. Parking and turning were also difficult as you either conduct a many point turn or back into the cottage courtyard via a broken gate. There was a strong smell of diesel in the kitchen making it unpleasant to use and necessitating closure of all doors to prevent the rest of the house from smelling. The owner had opened the small kitchen window to try to let the smell out and denied it was a problem. We returned one afternoon and there were 4 plug in scent bottles in the area and it was obvious that the window and front door had been left open while we were out. Apart from the security issues, we were not happy and advised the owner we would be leaving the next day. We had paid in advance for the cottage and advised that we would pay for the 3 nights we had stayed and requested a refund of the remainder. It was expensive at $710 or 330 pounds for 3 unpleasant nights but we couldn't stand the smell and were feeling quite ill so we just wanted to leave. The owner gave us a cheque the next morning. She must have known that, as tourists, we would not be able to cash it as we did not have a UK bank account. We then lost 2 days of our holidays driving back to Bannockburn to return the cheque to the owner as she would not deposit money into our account until she had the cheque back.
AVOID THIS PLACE. It is not a luxury cottage. It is a very basic, poorly furnished, dirty, badly maintained and a total ripoff.
If you want to stay in the area, stay at Salruth Cottage in Alloa. We have stayed there previously and it is what a self catering cottage should be.
If you are in any doubt, please take a look at the photos. I have only uploaded a few but I have many more to illustrate the poor standard of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing. Avoid at all costs.
Liked least: Location, access and condition of the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
i don't know how one person can find a property so dreadful when other people find it so nice ,comfortable ,good area , great for family's
it was unfortunate that this one person did have a few problems with various things that have now been sorted and i am very sorry for the problems it caused for you
i don't however agree with the long rant you have posted and after 10 years of having a holiday let have never experienced anything like this ever
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R
1 review
“very nice house within easy reach of lovely places”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

very clean and comfortable, very nice landlady. big garden for kids to play in, nice area, within easy reach of nice places to visit

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
happy you enjoyed your time at ochil cottage hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dglgkg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Amazing cottage"”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we are just back from an amazing weekend at this gorgeous cottage we couldn't have possibly asked for anything else there was 7 of us in total four adults and 3 kids and the dog there was more than enough room for everyone and a lovely outdoor area to and the owner Anne is lovely couldn't recommend this beautiful cottage enough absolutely amazing will Defo be back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
so happy you all had a good time and are very welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing