We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ochil Cottage

outside ochil cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
side entrance to Ochil cottage
well equipped kitchen with stanley range with seating for 7
upstairs double bedroom
down stairs double  bedroom
large sitting room with plenty seating
entrance porch with seat
small sitting room with futon and french windows to decking
large sitting room
bathroom with shower over bath
kitchen with every thing you need to cook a lovely meal
kitchen
view from courtyard
Robert the Bruce Statue at the Rotunda in Bannockburn a short walk  from the cottage
Stirling Castle 15 mins from cottage
quiet corner to relax
The Wallace Monument as the sun goes down
Lochs and lakes in and around the Stirling area
The Bannock burn 5 mins walk from cottage - one of many beautiful country walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joan B
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A deceptively roomy cottage. As it was a family get together we had 3 cars but there was no trouble parking even though it was a small lane. There were 6 adults and one child in our party, so the second lounge was turned into a bedroom for the little one. We also had to use it to get wifi.
The cottage was very clean and all the chairs were comfy, a big plus factor. The bedrooms were compact but because of the large wardrobes it wasn't a problem. Enough room in the kitchen for everyone to sit and loads of workspace if you wish to cook. Plenty of hot water all the time. The owner was very helpful.
A couple of minor minus points - the kitchen cupboards had food left by previous renters. It would have been better to clear these as we had no way of knowing how long the food had been there, and it would have been useful to have a list of what was recyclable and which bin it was supposed to go in! We did manage to sort it eventually!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
thank you for your review i will take into account the packets of food that were left and i will have instructions printed out about recycling and which bins to use
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_G22014
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Ochil Cottage is a roomy comfortable place; we, five adults, felt like it was our home for the 14 days we were there.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our party of five related adults visited Scotland from the USA, We live in Colorado, Kansas, and Michigan. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Ochil Cottage for two weeks. Anne is a helpful but non-intrusive hostess. We enjoyed the feeling of "coming home" each evening after travelling to various sites in Scotland. We rented a car, but bus service is handy - just down the hill, and the train from Stirling is not far away. We went by train to Inverness and to Glasgow on the bus. Bannockburn is an interesting town to explore and the folks there are friendly and very helpful. Lian, in the coffee shop, even obtained a golfing tee time at Gleneagles for our son. We highly reccomend Ochil Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2014
i am so happy you all had such a nice time and hope you will come back again
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally-Ann...
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best linen, great small amounts of essentials, dog friendly. Cosy warm.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Travelled with my husband, his parents (in their 80's) a part time daughter (who has her own flat in Stirling) and our Chocolate Labrador.
Lovely and toasty warm (sub zero outside)
Good range of those basic bits you need on arrival, tea, coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, cooking oil, ketchup, salt, vinegar etc etc etc... and lots of loo rolls (we were caught out badly once when there were none..so this was lovely) .
Very comfortable chairs and settees, downstairs bedroom opposite bathroom for the OAP's was great.
Previous tenants had upset owner by creating a lot of mess/damage - which had obviously upset her - (and is just plain WRONG) but none of this was obvious other than a slightly eclectic range of crockery - which we liked anyway!
For us a brilliant location, and we mainly ate out anyway (father in law only fish and chips or a roast - the rest of us like some variety in life).
All good. Dog enjoyed his stay (and there are dog poo bins just 5 mins from the cottage) - he may however have wound up neighbouring dogs occasionally......
We would have liked a dishwasher rather than a washing machine but we are lazy!
The linen quality was incredibly good...really lovely crisp cotton sheets and duvet covers.
NB. Mainly fabulous goose/down/feather - so allergic folk need to take their own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warmth and the sheets
Liked least: Nothing - all good.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
thank you hope to see you back some day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenie_T...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our family of 5 adults and 2 small dogs stayed for a week in May 2013. We were surprised at how spacious the property was. 3 good size bedrooms 2 x double and 1 x twin. The lounge is large and we enjoyed family meals around the large kitchen dining table. Sadly the weather wasn't good enough for us to make use of the lovely outdoor space. We were delighted with the facilities, the kitchen was very well equipped which encouraged us to cook lots of family meals. The cottage is ideally located for day trips with a nice 2 mile walk nearby with a stream if you have dogs. We would recommend breakfast at the golf club down the road on check out day to fill you for the journey home. This property is a good choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space available
Liked least: The mattresses were a little soft for our taste we prefer firmer mattresses
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2013
thank you for your kind words hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy989
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stay and a Great Value!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our family traveled to Stirling this March to tour southern Scotland and we chose to stay at the Ochil Cottage. The cottage was in a great location for touring Stirling and nearby attractions in Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. The cottage had plenty of room for our group of five and we really enjoyed having the extra living space (living room and sitting room) and full kitchen. Although it was a bit cold during our stay, the property outside was really inviting with an outdoor fireplace/grill, shaded sitting area, and a well maintained garden. Staying at Ochil Cottage was a great choice and allowed us to experience the authentic feel of the Scottish countryside. Thanks to Anne, the owner, for making our stay a great one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The picturesque surroundings.
Liked least: The wifi was a bit spotty with access confined to a small portion of the house.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2013
I hope you come back to Ochil cottage happy you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing