We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day break”
Review of King Robert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Robert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Certificate of Excellence
kilmarnock ayrshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Three day break”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wife and i spent three days in the King Robert Hotel this week.
Great food, kept very clean and tidy, well kept grounds,
staff very helpfull, have been before, and will go again.
No bad points at all.
wes

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    177
    96
    36
    25
See reviews for
87
202
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful, we were given a room on the ground floor. It was very clean and tidy. Adequate facilities within the room, maybe a hook or two in the bathroom to hang wet towels up could be arranged. Tribute band on the first evening which didn't finish till well after midnight then noisy guest leaving to get on a coach , made sleeping before 1am impossible. Might be an idea to advise guests of the tribute night when they book. Same receptionist on the following morning, again very helpful. Breakfast was typical Scottish and a good start to the day. Receptionist arranged a taxi to our wedding venue, seemed to multi task as she also served in the bar. Good choice of spirits and mixers in the bar and reasonably priced. Only had one meal in the bar which was served appetisingly by a pleasant bar manager. All in all a good stay at this reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether there is a tribute band on when booking as these are held regularly and can affect sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ennaid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciathomson, Manager at King Robert Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I will certainly pass your kind comments onto Lorraine & Alan. We host numerous events in the Ballroom throughout the year and i agree that we should inform guests that functions do not finish until 1am. Sorry if it disturbed your sleep. Again thank you for your review.

Patricia Thomson
General Manager
King Robert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just been to the King Robert Hotel in Bannockburn and found that it needs a bit of money spending on it.
The carpets on the stairs and the bedrooms were dirty and smelt musty in places and a bit unhealthy.
The bathroom needed a complete over hall, the toilet was set at an angle and the bath was dated.
Meals had to be ordered for evening meal for all courses i.e.: starter main and sweet at the same time as we sat down
Breakfast was the best meal as it was all self service.
With a bit of a tweak and updating in places and more customer care this could be a good hotel in a very nice and pleasant area of Scotland
The service at Dinner was very very slow.
The main course was all served with everything on the plate No Dish with Vegetables of gravy in a boat.
When we had Mash potatoes they were out of a packet and when it was steak pie the steak was from a tin and a bit of pastry put on top.
The entertainment was fair but the staff kept walking across in front of the entertainer to get in and out of the restaurant which was very bad.
The hotel let in locals to the bar so you had to drink with them.
They had a Disco one night for the locals that was very noisy.

.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciathomson, Manager at King Robert Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on the Trip Advisor site. I have uploaded pictures of the new carpets that were being fitted the day after your stay. You mention service at Dinner was slow, when you are with a party of 40 it does take time to serve a 3 course meal given time also to digest between courses. The Steak we use is scottish and is sourced from our local butcher. On a Monday Evening there is a Dance Class held in our Large Function room, i am not aware of any complaints of noise from this class. Our Cocktail Bar is open every day, and we are delighted that our local community supports us.
Patricia Thomson
General Manager, King Robert Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I had to organise accommodation for twenty plus for a family gathering over the May Bank holiday weekend. The manager was terrific and was able to accommodate all the changes that were inevitably made, including wheelchair usage. The meals were excellent and the staff very accommodating, particularly having fifteen decide at short notice to have their second evening meal there. The steaks were spot on. Nothing was problem, even to having to leave behind to be collected later. All who stayed were very complementary of staff and food. The only comment was that it could do with a refurbishment soon – in line with the new Bannockburn center next door?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzyfozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff and a great location, but this hotel is sadly let down by the extremely poor standard of its rooms. We had experience of 3 rooms during our stay all of which were dark dingy and not very clean. Extremely dated and shabby, poorly decorated in desperate need of refurbishment. Beds were very old and uncomfortable too. You would get much better value for your money elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carola39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a 70s cornflake-box-architecture sort of place, but it is right beside the Bannockburn battle site and just a 5-minute drive into central Stirling. The staff are all lovely, the room was clean (but cold until the heating came on in the evening) and it feels very safe for a solo woman traveller.
Food is stuck in the 1970s too, but what they do they do well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were there for a tribute weekend. Rooms are well past their sell by date - corridor carpets look really dirty. On the plus side - price was okay, meals were really good and staff very pleasant. Nice outdoor surrounding and handy for Stirling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyes1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciathomson, Manager at King Robert Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for such positive feeback regarding your meal and our staff.
You mentioned the corridor carpets, since your visit all our corridors have had new carpets fitted.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Kindest Regards
Patricia Thomson
King Robert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
944 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Robert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Robert Hotel

Property: King Robert Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 0LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Robert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Robert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Robert Stirling
King Robert Hotel Stirling/Bannockburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing