We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cathy, Campbeltown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Robert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Robert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cathy, Campbeltown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a Tibute Weekend at the King Robert Hotel which was great, but the biggest impression was the staff who were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel like family and were so cheery and helpful - all of them. Other hotels should take note.
Never been to such a friendly hotel. Oh, by the way, food and rooms were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    170
    91
    36
    24
See reviews for
84
196
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked a tribute weekend for my friend and I. We had a great weekend. the staff are warm and friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and the food is great and so was the service. We received a lovely welcome. The room was clean and both room and bathroom spotless. Meals were great and always warm and well served. I'd recommend this hotel as it is very friendly and welcoming.
The Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra tribute was great and so was Will Easton who sang and played for us on the Friday evening a great all round entertainer.
Thanks to all the lovely staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnann17561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
172 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The King Bob is a great place if you aren't particularly looking for comfy lounges and peace and quiet. The team at the King Robert are so friendly, welcoming and certainly make guests feel at home. So much so that even though I was on business there, I was wearing my slippers whilst setting up for a corporate event... Nothing is too much trouble. The place is actually rocking most of the time, with a mix of educational coach trips, leisure groups on holiday, business folks like me and local community events. There doesn't seem to be a dull moment. Also the tribute acts that are put on look amazing. The singer I listened to one night, Rhona, I think was absolutely brilliant, tremendous voice. The food is basic but good, and the hotel is very clean. My room is basic, no bath though, and I have to say I always slept very well indeed in a comfy bed. I look forward to returning, although it may not be everyone's cup of tea, I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I live local so I wouldn't normally have to stay here however I was attending a function upstairs. The hotel itself is quite comfortable although not really modern as such. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and did the job. Staff were also very friendly. Wifi strength was very good.

The food however is what makes the hotel. Dinner was fantastic and so was breakfast with plenty of choice, quite surprising for a hotel of this sort.

Ideal hotel for a quick one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 3 nights here. excellent value for money and the staff were excellet. the rooms are slightly dated but were clean and warm. the building work locally did disturb us on a morning but that cant really be helped and overall the hotel is an excellent location and provided a warm welcome. we all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j14102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciathomson, Manager at King Robert Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to The King Robert again soon.

Patricia Thomson, General Manager, King Robert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just come back from 4 night break , staff very good and obliging, food good especially the breakfast. entertainment 4 singers 3 of whom were very good, one a little karaoke. Bedroom quite small, ours obviously had a mould problem as a vent had been put into the wall but every morning there was mould which was at least removed every day by the cleaner, also there were no sockets near any mirrors so very difficult to use a hairdryer etc. also there was no towel rail so had to have fresh towels every day as there was nowhere to dry them , there was also no lounge for residents to go if you wanted a quiet drink only the bar room were the cabaret was or some seats in reception near the front doors. This is in my opinion a 2 star hotel trying to be a 3 star.

Room Tip: Get a room up the stairs and not along the long corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from one of their frequently held Tribute Weekends. 2 x nights DB&B - £99PP.
First impressions of the exterior of the hotel as you drive thro' the neighbouring building site
( the refurb. of the Bannockburn Memorial and Visitors Centre won't go on forever!) is a tad offputting but this belies the very good value for money that this whole weekend break delivered. Whilst our twin-room was plain it didn't lack any essentials....plenty hot water for bath/shower, fresh towels daily, tea/coffee facility, flatscreen TV, comfy beds. Evening meal on Friday in the Bistro room was excellent... great choices, well presented and plentiful. All the girls on duty worked really hard and nothing was too much bother. Sat. night Tribute Dinner was held up in the Ballroom...nice set-up. The meal was a set menu - one starter, choice from two mains with fresh vegs.and a sweet. The show was a Lady Gaga/Kylie act - the girl's Gaga was excellent but - being a foot and a half taller and a fair bit heftier - her Kylie was not so convincing !! Breakfasts were well cooked and plentiful with lots of extra's if you didn't want a cooked meal. Cannot praise all the staff enough - they were a credit to the hotel. The Hotel is well placed and is only 10 minute bus run from Stirling. Overall a really enjoyable 'break'.

Room Tip: Rooms prefixed with '2' are located away from main building and are thereby quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Robert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Robert Hotel

Property: King Robert Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 0LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Robert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Robert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Robert Stirling
King Robert Hotel Stirling/Bannockburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing