We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class guest house in a beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Betty's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class guest house in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent two nights at van den Berg's guest house in Betty's Bay, during February of this year. A well located spacious guest house, with tremendous attention to detail. Hosts Era & Raoul ensured a most pleasant stay and kept us well informed of all points of interest in the area.

Room Tip: Sea or mountain views are available. Equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Martin & Suzi,
Thanks for a great review. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Friendliest regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
74
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I came up for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and valentines day. Couldn't of picked a better place to stay! Era & Raoul were very kind and helpful, made sure we had everything we needed and were very knowledgeable about the area and all the activities to do in the area. They even gave us a booking at a very good restaurant called "The Tides" on Valentines Day. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, great little apartment with full dstv, small kitchen with everything you need, fancy bathroom and a big bedroom. Raoul even borrowed us his sand boards and told us where to go for some great sand boarding in the area. Definitely recommend staying there if you are wanting to go to Betty's Bay.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite faces the ocean, and leads onto main balcony on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin3166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Calvin & Kara,
Thanks for a wonderful review and I am really glad to see that you enjoyed some of the adventures the Overberg has to offer.
It was our pleasure hosting you and you are welcome anytime.
Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a pleasant surprise this little B&B was that a friend of ours found. Not only are the rooms fantastic, the warm & friendly welcome by the owners Era and Raoul was memorable. The breakfast is delicious and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemeHarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi RemeHarber,

Thank you for your great review, it was also fabulous to see that you enjoyed what the Overberg region has to offer based on your other reviews of the penguins and restaurant. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your friends and you are welcome anytime to experience the other gems that Overberg has to offer.

Friendliest regards.

Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were looking for a Cape holiday without the hustle and bustle of Cape Town during the peak season. Van Den Bergs in Betty's Bay was the perfect place for us. Era and Raoul are great hosts, giving us loads of information of what to do in the area and some great knowledge about the area and surrounds. If you looking to relax in peace and quiet or wanting to be active and adventurous, Betty's Bay or close drives in either direction have it all. The views from the house whether sea facing in the front, or the amazing towering Kogelberg mountains at the back are spectacular. We definately had a relaxing stay and want to come back.

Room Tip: The Dolphin suite has amazing sea views with a huge balcony and great gas braai
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
HI StefanJoburg,
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure hosting such active and adventurous guests as yourselves. You are welcome anytime and hope to see you soon when Joburg gets too much.
Best Regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Thank you Era and Raoul for every moment in your beautiful guesthouse. A home away from home. The conversations around breakfast table, sunset on the balcony and your guidance and suggestions about the Wild Horses. It was a breathtaking experience at Rooisand with the horses. Era, thank you for my LCHF breakfast. I stayed in the spacious Whale suite. I want to add a quote to underline your special kindness.
" Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for kindness"
Seneca

Room Tip: All the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermienM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi HermienM,
Thank you for staying with us and your gorgeous review. It was our pleasure hosting you and you are welcome anytime. Already looking forward to your next stay.
Friendliest regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Van den Berg's B&B is very well located, with Era & Raoul as very kind hosts. Very quick in responding to inquiry and very helpful to make suggestions to explore the beautiful surroundings. The Pheasant apartment was very clean, spacious and great internet connection as well -;) The sunsets from the front balcony chatting with other guests is a pleasant intermezzo.

Room Tip: Pheasant faces the mountains and occasionally you hear traffic. When you sit in front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi Helena,
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we realy enjoyed our time together. Hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My Wife and are were spending our honeymoon in South Africa, enjoying it as a road trip. We planned to stay in Hermanus, but luckliy, we ended up with Era & Raoul.
Both are great host, offering a couple up just finished, brand new, well equipped Appartments. We stayed in the Pheasant Suite, not facing the sea but the Mounains in the back.
Era and Rould invited us to a sundowner on there Balkony with an awesome view.
We were told about every rock, flower, animal we need to see and watch, so they know their area. We can higly recommend staying with them and wish the best to their Guesthouse project.
Keep up the good work, you guys ;

Room Tip: The Rooms to the back where nice, facing the front is greater. Get the Penguin suite, when it is don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Patric & Christina,
Thank you very much for a wonderful review. We enjoyed your company tremendously and you are welcome anytime. We wish you the best and hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betty's Bay
7.2 mi away
Sea Villa Glen Craig
Sea Villa Glen Craig
#1 of 1 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
18.5 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay
Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay
#2 of 8 in Betty's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Moonstruck on Pringle Bay Guesthouse
8.3 mi away
Villa Marine Guest House
Villa Marine Guest House
#3 of 7 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.0 mi away
3Flavours Guest House
3Flavours Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pringle Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B

Property: Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Address: 3273 Albertyn Drive, Betty's Bay 7141, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Betty's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Betty's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious and spacious guesthouse with its well appointed guests units and the scenic environment will satisfy your requirements. Everything, from the gastronomic breakfasts and dinners, experiencing the Fynbos, enjoying the beaches, relaxing on the patio and drinking in the sights, to partaking in the many adventures the region has to offer is there to please you. We also have stunning views of the Overberg Mountains to the north, Walker Bay to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.Adventures on offer are:• Hiking in the Overberg Mountains• Enjoying the many beaches• Boating in the ocean• Motorcycle riding• Water skiing and wakeboarding on the lagoon• Sand boarding on the dunes• Cray fishing and fishing in season• Whale watching• Wine tasting and visits to the wine districts• Sightseeing, exploring the Cape• Visit Harold Porter National Botanical Garden an international heritage site• Visit one of only two African penguin breeding colonies• Shop for local arts and crafts in Kleinmond’s famous Harbour Road or have a snack/meal at one of the many restaurants• And much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing