We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Canalta Oyen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalta Oyen
Ranked #1 of 2 Oyen B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I am only one night of a three night stay. I have to say this hotel has been great! The management is very detail conscious. I was greeted in the room with a small gift bag on the bed thanking me for my stay, followed by a prompt phone call from the front desk to ensure everything was ok with the room. The room I found to be large and well appointed. Although this hotel is the only game in town, the do not use that for an excuse to cut corners. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayball99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments,your feed back is extremely important to us. Our goal at Canalta Oyen is customer appreciation and satisfaction,it was nice to see we reached our goal.It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
6
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

place was great lots of parking space easy side access rooms popcorn machine. Great breakfast in the morning. Comfy beds. Hotel was clean staff was friendly. There is no delivery service
In oyen so you got a bit of a drive to any dinners

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theronivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is excellent to receive feedback by our guests and we are delighted you enjoyed what we have to offer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here the weekend of the Oyen 100 Anniversary / Centennial Celebrations this summer (Aug 2-4, 2013). The rooms were very spacious and clean. The standard had 2 queens plus a kitchen. The staff were all super friendly. The hospitality in the entire town was wonderful. We did not eat at the breakfast buffet the Centennial celebrations included a buffet. We are glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogadog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for the great comments on our hotel. We strive to be the best we can be and want all our guests to have a great experience at our hotel.
Cheryl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful large room with a king bed, incredible breakfast that was a buffet more than a continental, and wonderful customer service. A bit pricey at $152 for the standard, but was worth it. We stayed here to split up the trip to Calgary and were glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Just want to send a thank you for your great review. It's great to have some feedback from our guests and to know that we are doing a good job. Hope to see you soon.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very busy little hotel. My kids and I stayed here on the way to Calgary to break the trip up a little. Lots of workers staying but they all leave early so it's a nice quiet breakfast. Service was great and everyone, including housekeepers were so nice! Rooms were large with basic furnishings but very clean. The hot tub is like a little kids pool which we appreciated. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments,your feed back is extremely important to us. Our goal at Canalta Oyen is customer appreciation and satisfaction,it was nice to see we reached our goal.It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Thank You
Julia Callarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were stuck in Oyen with no where to go because of the horrible driving conditions when we stopped in this hotel. There were 30 other people and the staff told us that there was no rooms left, but they said that we could stay in the lobby all night if needed. At this point we didn't care so we thought it was great. The staff then preceded to make all of us dinner - amazing pulled pork and soup. Our luck changed when a room had opened up with two beds so they asked if we could share with two others and we said sure it was a bed to sleep in. One man had already paid for the room for one of his construction workers that didn't show so we were all set. We were very surprised by how big the rooms were, twice the size of the hotel we had stayed in in calgary.
All in all the most amazing hospitality and the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in in a small town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and your kind words. My team and I was happy to help in a time like that. We was glad that you enjoyed the lunch. We hope that you will chose the Canalta Oyen the next time that you visit or driving through

Thank You
Julia Callarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel to be stormstayed in...Thank you to all the staff who were very helpful and made sure our stay was awesome. A bad blizzard and icy roads and road closure stopped us in our tracks on the way back to Saskatoon last weekend. I would highly recommend to stay there...AND the Continental breakfast is like no other.....Its more like a buffet....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the kind comments my team and I were very happy that we could help in a time of need,we hope you will visit us again at a time more relaxing. Is was so nice to hear that you were pleased with the services,our gold is to make all our guests as comfortable as possible.

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canalta Oyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Oyen

Property: Canalta Oyen
Address: Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J 2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Oyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Oyen 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Canalta Oyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Oyen Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing