We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the middle of eastern Alberta.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canalta Oyen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalta Oyen
Ranked #1 of 2 Oyen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of eastern Alberta.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews as we were heading to Calgary to catch the plane home to Australia. We wanted a clean and modern hotel to rest our weary heads and we got that and much more! We were professional greeted when we arrived and were told the facilities on offer in the hotel, as well as the fact that there was a Bull-o-rama on in Oyen that night and were given a ‘gift’ to celebrate it being held! Well there went our plans for a night in! We had a fantastic time and found all the inhabitants of Oyen to be so very welcoming, just like the staff at the hotel. Be aware that this hotel is out on the highway about an approx. 10 min drive from Oyen, so you will have to drive in there if you want takeaway for dinner. Breakfast was included in the cost and offered a good range of choices. I’d like to thank Betty for cleaning the waffle maker after I made a mess and thank her for all her help and friendly chat. Do yourself a favour if you’re passing thru there – stay. It restores your faith in good ‘service’.

Room Tip: We were right at the front of the hotel but weren't worried by any traffic noise, so I think all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel but also that you took in the Bullarama and were able to see what our town has to offer. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
5
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
176 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Large well equipped rooms. Beds were comfortable with reasonably new linen and mattresses. Room presentation was good. Breakfast was comprehensive with more on offer than I expected. Staff were warm and welcoming - indeed, all staff we met seemed to enjoy their jobs and the team environment. This made for a pleasant, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our hotel and we really enjoyed learning about your trip. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is very friendly, CLEAN, comfortable with lots of extras. They have fresh cookies and popcorn, coffee and hot chocolate 24/7. The continental breakfast has a huge variety of hot and cold food and all is excellent. The rooms are very neat, clean and cozy.
Note that this is about 5km out of Oyen BUT there is a Co-op gas station next door to it that has a fairly large stock of food. Healthy stuff along with the usual gas station goodies.
Was a great place to stop over on a long trip. Would recommend as on overnight stop and will stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 216 and it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyDanesRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
I just want to thank you for your excellent review. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again!
Lana Brost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

After flying through the night and trying to drive home from our holiday, seeing this hotel was wonderful. Very clean and great staff. Breakfast the next morning had a great selection.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review, we hope to see you again!
Lana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Oyen, located almost on the Alberta Saskatchewan border, isn't a "destination spot," but it is a welcome stopping place, while travelling through.
There now is a High School Boy's/Men's Baseball Academy situated there, & we cover MANY baseball locations with our baseball-playing grandson.
The hotel is quite new, & recently renamed Canalta, instead of being Super 8. Now, Super 8 Hotels always have been noted for their basic, no-frills, but clean & reasonably priced accommodations. Since this seemed to be the main hotel ... at least the largest ... the baseball team & their families booked into it. Although a bit pricey, this hotel was a lovely surprise.
Rooms are spacious, & include a fridge & kitchen-type sink in the main area. The beds are supremely comfortable. There is breakfast served until 10:00, & it seems to be plentiful. The staff are amazing ... so helpful & nice (for the most part). This is "small town friendliness" at its best. A small fitness room is available, & there is a large hot tub on the main floor, to soak away the aches & pains.
Unfortunately, there isn't a restaurant in the hotel, & local establishments in downtown Oyen seem to close up by 8 pm, or slightly after. But we found a great little spot on Main Street called Oyen Family Restaurant. Superb food, cooked after you order it ... no bulk quantities. It's a "Mom & Pop" type restaurant, so don't expect to hurry.
If that's not to your liking, there is a Co op gas station, store, & restaurant very near the hotel, & on the same side of the highway. I can't speak for their hours or quality ... we didn't get there.
The baseball facility, in town, is very nice, and is very new, to accommodate the newly established Badlands Baseball Academy. Ask anyone if a game is scheduled. They'll know. The new facility s a major point of pride in Oyen.
Overall, we found Oyen to be a neat place.

Room Tip: If our room was typical, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our small town is very lucky to have such a great addition with the baseball academy. We look forward to having all of the family and friends come stay with us and hope to provide everyone with excellent accomodations. Thank you again.
Lana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

When I called, I got such a professional request to wait as there was someone else was checking in, I literally checked to see if I had dialled Oyen or Calgary. The place feels so new that the door locks are stiff. I have not slept in a more comfortable bed, period. Good breakfast spread. Bad TVs. The room is large with two queens. Next up in Oyen overnight I will stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Lana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am one thankful traveler. Super 8 in Oyen operates with grand hospitality. We are sitting here in the internet office waiting out the storm. There are over 70 travelers in the lobby and up and down the halls with dogs, kids, etc. The rooms are full but the hospitality has been extended to all of us. they put on the coffee, broke out the snacks, popped popcorn, and have tried to make us all comfortable. I am not sure what will happen tonight or when the storm will let up but we sure feel like we are in the best place to wait out the blizzard. very thankful to these special people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popcornloverinoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review. We were more than happy to help out the stranded travellers and provide a safe place for them to stay. We are always here to help out those in need. Hopefully we will see you again under better circumstances! Thank you again, from all of us at the Canalta Oyen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canalta Oyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Oyen

Property: Canalta Oyen
Address: Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J 2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Oyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Oyen 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canalta Oyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Oyen Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing