We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sight for "tired" eyes!!”
Review of Canalta Oyen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canalta Oyen
Ranked #1 of 2 Oyen B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2012

After flying through the night and trying to drive home from our holiday, seeing this hotel was wonderful. Very clean and great staff. Breakfast the next morning had a great selection.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for the excellent review, we hope to see you again!
Lana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Oyen, located almost on the Alberta Saskatchewan border, isn't a "destination spot," but it is a welcome stopping place, while travelling through.
There now is a High School Boy's/Men's Baseball Academy situated there, & we cover MANY baseball locations with our baseball-playing grandson.
The hotel is quite new, & recently renamed Canalta, instead of being Super 8. Now, Super 8 Hotels always have been noted for their basic, no-frills, but clean & reasonably priced accommodations. Since this seemed to be the main hotel ... at least the largest ... the baseball team & their families booked into it. Although a bit pricey, this hotel was a lovely surprise.
Rooms are spacious, & include a fridge & kitchen-type sink in the main area. The beds are supremely comfortable. There is breakfast served until 10:00, & it seems to be plentiful. The staff are amazing ... so helpful & nice (for the most part). This is "small town friendliness" at its best. A small fitness room is available, & there is a large hot tub on the main floor, to soak away the aches & pains.
Unfortunately, there isn't a restaurant in the hotel, & local establishments in downtown Oyen seem to close up by 8 pm, or slightly after. But we found a great little spot on Main Street called Oyen Family Restaurant. Superb food, cooked after you order it ... no bulk quantities. It's a "Mom & Pop" type restaurant, so don't expect to hurry.
If that's not to your liking, there is a Co op gas station, store, & restaurant very near the hotel, & on the same side of the highway. I can't speak for their hours or quality ... we didn't get there.
The baseball facility, in town, is very nice, and is very new, to accommodate the newly established Badlands Baseball Academy. Ask anyone if a game is scheduled. They'll know. The new facility s a major point of pride in Oyen.
Overall, we found Oyen to be a neat place.

Room Tip: If our room was typical, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Our small town is very lucky to have such a great addition with the baseball academy. We look forward to having all of the family and friends come stay with us and hope to provide everyone with excellent accomodations. Thank you again.
Lana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

When I called, I got such a professional request to wait as there was someone else was checking in, I literally checked to see if I had dialled Oyen or Calgary. The place feels so new that the door locks are stiff. I have not slept in a more comfortable bed, period. Good breakfast spread. Bad TVs. The room is large with two queens. Next up in Oyen overnight I will stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Lana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am one thankful traveler. Super 8 in Oyen operates with grand hospitality. We are sitting here in the internet office waiting out the storm. There are over 70 travelers in the lobby and up and down the halls with dogs, kids, etc. The rooms are full but the hospitality has been extended to all of us. they put on the coffee, broke out the snacks, popped popcorn, and have tried to make us all comfortable. I am not sure what will happen tonight or when the storm will let up but we sure feel like we are in the best place to wait out the blizzard. very thankful to these special people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popcornloverinoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review. We were more than happy to help out the stranded travellers and provide a safe place for them to stay. We are always here to help out those in need. Hopefully we will see you again under better circumstances! Thank you again, from all of us at the Canalta Oyen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Super 8 really is the place to stay in Oyen - the only place to stay. Luckily, it is also a great place to stay! Spacious, clean room. Comfortable bed. Fairly basic but a good little fitness room. A little pricey maybe but that's the power of monopoly.
If you happen to be overnighting near Oyen AB this is the place for you! Oh right, it's the only option.
Safe travels - thedonk

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank thedonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyenSuper8, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for the great review. It is excellent to receive feedback by our guests and we are delighted you enjoyed what we have to offer. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is the only one of quality in the area! It is always booked with oil field employees, pipeline employees etc.
I have no complaints about the hotel itself but as a guest it is INCREDIBLY frustrating to have to switch rooms all the time! You never really feel settled!!
The hotel staff has got to figure out how to manage this. I know my company doesn't care what kind of room we are in, as long as we have one!!!
PLEASE figure this out Super 8... I work in the oilfield and every person I have talked to has the same complaint!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatSchiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyenSuper8, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review of the Oyen Super 8. I completely understand your frustration with changing rooms. Unfortunately we are in a location that is extremely busy where companies and individuals book their rooms months in advance. Our front desk staff do their best everyday to ensure guest satisfaction and this is something we can work with your supervisor to try and avoid while booking rooms. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

If you're travelling through Rural Alberta and need a clean place to stay, I recommend the Super 8 in Oyen, Alberta. A new hotel, with clean rooms, clean beds, clean bathrooms (I like clean). The kitchette in the room comes with a fidge and microwave, also clean inside.
In the morning they have a big breakfast bar included with your stay. A variety of fruits, french toast, coffees, and teas. The kids loved the create your own waffles. You won't leave hungry here. There is a small fitness centre and a hot tub, they were clean as well, I went to inspect them. The only thing missing is a pool for the kids.
We've stayed here several times on our way to Grandma and Grandpa and we will come back. I had never stayed at a Super 8 before and was pleasantly surprised to find tiled floors, bright hallways a deep soaker tub and thick soft towels. The hotel is usually fully
booked with many oilers works who are employed in the area. So if you think you will need a room then book early.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyenSuper8, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thank you for the great comments on our hotel. We strive to be the best we can be and want all our guests to have a great experience at our hotel. I must agree that a pool would be an asset but unfortunately our location restricts us due to water issues. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you once again.
Lana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canalta Oyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Oyen

Address: Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J 2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Oyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oyen
Price Range: $133 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Oyen 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canalta Oyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Oyen Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing