We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Short walk, stunning views, why not?

Field of sheep, kilometres of rough southern seas breaking against rock and beach? What's not to... read more

Reviewed April 22, 2019
HyperboreanTom
,
Edmonton, Canada
Visit the beaches

Do take the time to visit the beaches dotted along the coast. Each one has its own beauty and a... read more

Reviewed April 12, 2019
wendy1811027
,
Taupo, New Zealand
Read all 103 reviews
  
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
45
34
23
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
34
23
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southernmost point southern point south island gravel road great photo opportunity new zealand lambing season minute return cape reinga few minutes walk scenic route worth the detour curio bay bragging rights sheep pasture cliff edge private property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2017

Worth the walk despite the bumpy gravel road that takes you there. The most southern tip of nz, you should go, you'll get blown away! by its remoteness.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank dedicatedtraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

We had a beautiful sunny visit here in the morning. Stunning views of Stewart and Forveux islands. Went back that night, also awesome! Stunning stars, shooting stars and light from the lighthouse! Wear closed shoes as there are thistles in the tussocks!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Rainbowclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017

The Slope Point is the southernmost point of mainland New Zealand ( South Island.
It is nice to see, especially the waves that are crashing in on the rocks. Interesting to visit but not necessary.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the weather was extremely windy by the time we went there but i believe this is quite common there. You will walk for 20 mins to get there from car park and all you see is a sign and cliffs. I did not find it very special.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank 716ad_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017

The Catlins is an amazing location but this was not one of my favourite locations. We went there so that we could see the most southern point of the South Island and I think the weather affected the atmosphere of the location. It was cold wet and windy and difficult to gain a focus on the significance of the area but I would agree with others if you are stretched for time it is the least interesting location in the Catlins. The walk through the paddocks ends at a sign post indicating your location and provides a photo opportunity, glad we did it but would not need to return to this location again.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews