We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, highly recommend. Awesome views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waikava Harbour View
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected, highly recommend. Awesome views.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This house was huge, modern, clean and very warm. The views were amazing, and it's at the end of a side road, so nice and private. Big park beside it for boys to kick a ball around, and of course the estuary right in front with lots of places to explore. Fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tania j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed just the one night in the Toi-Tois apartment in December and were wishing we could have stayed longer! The location is superb, giving you the opportunity to escape the rat race, enjoy nature and be tranquil. The apartment itself is well-appointed and large -- almost like a mini-house! It has great cooking facilities with hotplates and an electric frying pan and enabled us to do a great job self-catering for the night. The free wi-fi on site also worked a treat and the bedroom and bathroom were thoroughly clean and comfortable.

Some tips for staying here:
* If you are coming from Dunedin, stock up for food and supplies in Balclutha (more choice than Owaka), because you are some distance from the nearest shop.
* There is no mobile phone reception here or until you get much closer to Invercargill, so plan ahead.
* If you don't want to self-cater, the Niagara Falls Cafe, about 6 km away, can offer breakfast and lunch (and dinner during some seasons).
* If you are going to visit Curio Bay (a 10-minute drive), check the tides before you go so you can get a good view of the Petrified Forest.
* If you are getting in later to Waikawa than 4 pm, remember to phone ahead to the Museum so they can leave the keys in the door. This is perfectly safe, as Waikawa is a very small community.

Room Tip: We loved the Toi-Tois apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family of 5 adults had a very comfortable stay here in the 4 bedroom house. The location has lovely views of the harbour and is close to walks and surf beaches.
Our house was well equipped for self catering. Heating kept us warm in cold conditions over Easter.. We found this area of the Catlins had no cell phone connections and the wifi connection at our house was slow to the point of almost non existent but there may have been a local problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night and wished it had been longer. w my wife was a bit concerned that we had to collect the key from the village museum, just across the road from the unit - but everything was fine as we got our key & complimentary milk. Our unit (Harakeke) was one of two overlooking the grasslands with the bay to our left. Modern units, with separate bedroom, nicely furnished, very clean and a large verandah to sit out on looking over the countryside. This was our first time in the Catlins area and we hope to get back again. there are no shops close by so it's best to bring everything with you but there was a little take-away van that parked outside the museum on most days - and the food looked good.there was also a decent looking café./restaurant 2kms away at Niagara.one minor problem is that sometimes TV reception is a bit dodgy but who cares when you can sit on the verandah with a glass of savvie & listen to the birds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The house is in a great location for visiting Curio Bay and the other beaches and walks in this area of the Catlins. The house is very clean and well equipped, with minor exceptions (a couple of burned out light bulbs). There is a nice bush walk right out the door along the bay to the north of the house that is perfect for a pre-breakfast walk at sunrise. The house decor is a bit basic and not particularly cozy, but fine for a brief stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice view, quite area (very quiet). We stayed in unit Toi Toi, spacious room with fully equipped kitchen. It is quite desserted though, no grocery store nor eatery nearby. You have to come prepared with food. Room has smell of previous cooking done by previous tenant, thats the only dislike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were on a trip from Christchurch to Mt Cook, Dunedin, Waikawa, Queenstown, Milford Sound, and ending up trekking the Routeburn Track. So glad we discovered Waikava Harbour View with its great facilities, wonderful views, lots of wildlife and a lovely area to relax in, but if you wanted exercise, great walks in the Catlins. We visited the spectacular McLean Falls, Slope Point (the most southerly point on the South Island) and Curio Bay with its yellow-eyed penguins and ancient fossil forest. A truly magical experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
10.8 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
15.9 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
21.8 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikava Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikava Harbour View

Property: Waikava Harbour View
Address: 14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waikava Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing