We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent unit and beautiful part of NZ. Very clean and tidy unit. Peaceful and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waikava Harbour View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On our trip around the Catlins Wakawa was a lovely place to stop off. Very peaceful. Easy access to Curio Bay. We were lucky enough to see the penguins. We had travelled from Owaka and it was a good place to stop off for the night visiting different places along the way. The museum was delightful full of interesing items and I enjoyed talking to the person who was looking after it, about living in this part of beautiful New Zealand and how her family had arrived from Wales all those many years ago. How hard it must have been to this isolated but beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the three different units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Waikava Harbor View from 21-23 July, 2013, for my southern lights chase. I picked this accommodation because its closeness to Curio Bay where I camped for Aurora to how up during two days. I could easily drive to and from Curio Bay back to my cabin in minutes. Unfortunately, the Auora was not strong enough those 2 days but I still had a great time there photographing wild lives and other outdoorsy things in The Catlins. Waikava Harbor View is not a full serviced facility, you should know that beforehand. You need to cook your own meal or you can make a reservation r your inner at Niagara Cafe, the only place to eat within 25km; beware, though, that if you don't call for reservation they will be closed o o table or ou. All in all, the unit I stayed in, Toi Toi, was spacious and clean and the view from the font deck was very serene. You will feel relaxed and calm in no time.

Room Tip: Between the 2 one bedroom units, Toi Toi has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tungsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have a great stay at the Waikava lodge with extended family. The lodge had plenty of space which was great as the Autumn weather was changeable. Had all the facilities that you could hope for but the best bit has to be the location. We had a great few days exploring the Catlins.

Our favourite was the penguins at Curio Bay, a short drive from the lodge. We went their a few nights on dusk to watch the penguins come in.

We also enjoyed the Fish n Chip van near the lodge, luckily we were there the night before they shut up for the winter.

There is not a lot of facilities nearby so best to come prepared. Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A lovely well appointed unit.
Having the internet was a bonus. We were able to check on things to do and plan our next days outings. Was a good location for visiting the attractions. Handy to Curio Bay where we viewed penguins. It look several trips to view them but patience prevailed. We stayed 2 nights and were able to cover most of the attractions from our location.
This was our second trip to Waikava Harbour view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the main house which has a great view over the inlet, facing east so gets the full benefit of the sunrise. Another good example of the Kiwi holiday let: clean, well equipped and functional. Strongly recommended and thanks to the owners for sharing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in the biggest house. We were just 2 but the other smaller ones were taken and had to settle for this 3+ rooms house, but we do not regret it. The place is spacious and the living had a wonderful view of the. Nothing between us and the sea. In the evening it started raining and it was so beautiful to be sitting down in the comfort of the living and see the changing colours from beginning of storm to end.
The house is well equipped. Kitchen had everything you would need to cook. Dishwasher powder was provided. Washing machine and dryer also worked fine (we could never find washing powder, but we had our own). Wifi was available. No mobile coverage, but there is a telephone at the entrance. For check in we had to go to museum to find key. The lady there was not very sure about things but we finally were told that the keys were in the house door, which they were. I would recommend that the staff at the museum are better informed because it does not look good to arrive and feel confused.
The houses do not have a service but the owners have prepared a good package of information, instructions for use etc which are very helpful.
And please remember that this is an isolated place. Bring all your food and necessities because there are no places nearby to shop or eat. We had read about it in advance and had bought all our provisions before so no problem, but take it into account before reaching town.
The place is really beautiful, peaceful and well located to explore surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nicely appointed cottages with a lovely vista out over the estuary (ToiTois had better views than Harakeke). There were excellent instructions provided for operating the TV/DVD player, stove, internet etc. as well as great information on the area. We only stayed for a night but this is the sort of place where you would like to stay for a week.

The cottages are well set up for self-catering and there is also a very convenient mobile food wagon just a hundred meters away which serves fish and chips, burgers etc. They are open for lunch, close in the afternoon, and again at about 1630 hrs in the evening.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikava Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikava Harbour View

Address: 14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range: $86 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waikava Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing