We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Camp Ground
gore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good experence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

being born and breed in new Zealand I only got to curio bay last year because my son goes diving there I don't no what I been missing excellent site and very friendly at camping ground some people just don't no how lucky we are will be back this year that's for sure

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russell d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a pretty basic holiday park but in a stunning location and it cost only $16 for 2 people to park a campervan on a non-powered site. There isnt any internet there but there are toilets and showers as well as laundry facilities.
The best thing about this site is how close it is to the Petrified forest where you can see fossilised trees and also the yellow eyed penguins (worlds rarest) which come ashore at dusk at the same location. Some people were getting a bit too close to the penguins as there isn’t anything stopping them but you can still get closer and better views than at Nugget Point, further up the coast in the Catlins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Completely self contained motorhome so had no need to check out the facilities. Helpful camp manager who gave us time to sort out our preferred camping spot. Enjoyed watching the Hectors dolphins playing in the surf, pity the penguins were less in evidence but did see three youngsters.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WoodyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Set in a stunning location with good private sites. Shop on site, which is helpful as there is little in town. Facilities terrible (not brave enough to face the showers), but great for a night with easy access to both Porpoise Bay and Curio Bay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We camped here for a night and absolutely loved the area. We had a campsite on a cliff, with the sea at our doorstep - stunning. You could see Hector's Dolphins in Porpoise Bay, we caught the Yellow Eyed Penguins at dusk, we went surfing with the local surf instructor - all fantastic experiences. However, be aware that the facilities are pretty poor. The toilets and showers are ancient, the "kitchen" is essentially a couple of hot plates and a kettle in a hut. We knew all of this from reading reviews before so just prepared accordingly - we heated water for tea, coffee and our dehydrated meal, we managed to shower, etc. Another downside is perhaps the reservation system for tent sites. We had set up our tent in what appeared to be one "site" according to the map provided, however another tent was set up behind us. It was a busy weekend (Easter) so I assume this isn't usually the norm.

All of the above said, however, the camping was the cheapest we had all trip, so perhaps the facilities are proportional to this? Mostly though, the location is so good I'm sure the campground can get away without maintaining facilities. It would be fantastic if they paid attention to these reviews, though, and renovated kitchen and shower facilities. They would be spectacular then!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great location. It must always be windy here going by other reviews, which was what it was when we were there. The site situated between 2 beaches, is great. Very private, between the hedges. Hectors Dolphins on one beach, playing in the surf along a lovely sandy stretch and rocks, seals and penguins on the other. The penguin beach was barred off, tho', so could only view (a lone penguin) from the distance. Apparently the seals come up to the campsite, which I was willing them to do, but we didn't see any. As said by one and all, the showers were pretty basic, we were willing to "have a go" but paying for them put us off, we used our own in the end. Didn't even look at the loos, but glad I didn't from the reviews. What a shame this site isn't better looked after. The hosts are friendly enough, the location is amazing and with just a few updates this could be a really amazing place to be.. All in all a good place to stay for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Catlins is a fantastic area but this campsite was the worst we stayed at during one month in New Zealand. Stayed for just one night on a powered site with a campervan. The actual plots are very private with tall flax on three sides. The fees were very cheap but we would have gladly paid more for useable facilities. The showers and toilet blocks were built at the time of Noah's Ark, were very small, dirty and cold, being open to the elements and the showers were at extra cost too. Some investment in new facilities is badly needed. When we were there, the weather was very wet, cold and extremely windy so we did not even set foot outside the van. Service was also very poor as the office/shop did not open until 9.00 am. and it was quite a distance to any shop. A shame we could not even go see the penguins. Visited the petrified forest next morning when at least it had stopped raining. Hope to visit the Catlins at some time in the future in perhaps better weather but definitely not at this campsite. There must be alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
3.0 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
13.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
24.5 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Camp Ground

Property: Curio Bay Camp Ground
Address: 601 Waikawa-Curio Bay Rd, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing