We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only an average because of facilities.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Camping Ground
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great location. It must always be windy here going by other reviews, which was what it was when we were there. The site situated between 2 beaches, is great. Very private, between the hedges. Hectors Dolphins on one beach, playing in the surf along a lovely sandy stretch and rocks, seals and penguins on the other. The penguin beach was barred off, tho', so could only view (a lone penguin) from the distance. Apparently the seals come up to the campsite, which I was willing them to do, but we didn't see any. As said by one and all, the showers were pretty basic, we were willing to "have a go" but paying for them put us off, we used our own in the end. Didn't even look at the loos, but glad I didn't from the reviews. What a shame this site isn't better looked after. The hosts are friendly enough, the location is amazing and with just a few updates this could be a really amazing place to be.. All in all a good place to stay for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Catlins is a fantastic area but this campsite was the worst we stayed at during one month in New Zealand. Stayed for just one night on a powered site with a campervan. The actual plots are very private with tall flax on three sides. The fees were very cheap but we would have gladly paid more for useable facilities. The showers and toilet blocks were built at the time of Noah's Ark, were very small, dirty and cold, being open to the elements and the showers were at extra cost too. Some investment in new facilities is badly needed. When we were there, the weather was very wet, cold and extremely windy so we did not even set foot outside the van. Service was also very poor as the office/shop did not open until 9.00 am. and it was quite a distance to any shop. A shame we could not even go see the penguins. Visited the petrified forest next morning when at least it had stopped raining. Hope to visit the Catlins at some time in the future in perhaps better weather but definitely not at this campsite. There must be alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This holiday park is in a absolute fantastic location. Beautiful!!! The sites are nice and private, but muddy (we had rain on the day we arrived). The toilets are okay. The showers are old, small and not very clean. The kitchen is very small. However the camp ground doesn't cost much so you get what you pay for. And we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

...but facilities are indeed quite basic. Nonetheless, for the pleasure of staying in this incredible place it may be worth forgetting about the high standards of the city life and just enjoy the nature and the beauty of this little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent five weeks touring the South Island of NZ in a camper and stayed at Curio Bay for one night on a powered site.

The sites themselves were fantastic - we had one set amongst the flax and it was completely private, we felt like we were the only people there! The site is also within easy walking distance to the beach for penguin viewing and the spectacular petrified forest.

The let down for us was that, whilst the site was fairly cheap at $27, showers were an additional cost and facilities were VERY basic. Basically showers were in a tin shed and toilets were typical bush style. We stayed in some pretty basic places on our travels but the showers here were probably the worst we came across, given the lovely surroundings it really would be worth putting some money towards an upgrade of the showers at least. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay but if it wasn't for the surrounding wildlife we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location is amazing and you can choose between up on the cliff or in the bushes, which is very nice. The beach is a a great place to see dolphins, and you can easily walk to the pertified forest. However the facilities are very basic and it is overpriced for what you get. There is no door by the kitchen, and you have to pay for the shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pissenlit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Come here if you want great views and get close to nature. didn;t use the toilet and showers though cos they looked quite horrible. Anyways, why didn't i complaint? The reason lies in the spectacular scenery from an elevated ground within the park and also a choice of 2 sides of the beach for views. From the cliff, the scenery is a panaromic 360 degrees of pure geological wonder and witness the might of waves in the area. The host was very nice and helpful as well. Office has a small store as well. Pretty unfortunate that the campervan sites weren't appointed with a view or else it would be almost perfect by virtue of scenery alone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curio Bay Camping Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Camping Ground

Address: 601 Waikawa-Curio Bay Rd, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAMPGROUND UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - 1st OCT 2017. Curio Bay Camping Ground is a unique coastal park with private sites surrounded by flax. Fall out of bed onto a magnificent safe swimming beach, which is often frequented by the Hector dolphins. Enjoy the splendour of a 180 million year old fossil forest accompanied by a yellow eyed penguin colony in their natural habitat. A unique coastal camping area with natural alleys of flaxes providing sheltered sites. Tent & powered sites; camp shop for hot food, snacks & supplies. Great swimming & surfing beach. 80km east of Invercargill on the Southern Scenic Route at the very south of the South Island. Fb# Curio Bay Camping Ground ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing