We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tumu Toka Curioscape Campground
Nearby Hotels
Charlton Motel(Gore)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
$93
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn(Invercargill)
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hacienda Motel(Invercargill)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
$82
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
21
25
27
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
25
27
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamping groundgreat locationpetrified forestgreat siteporpoise bayyellow eyed penguinsholiday parkbeautiful bayminute walkbushescliffskitchenwavescampersnestscatlinsseals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 84 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This holiday park is in a absolute fantastic location. Beautiful!!! The sites are nice and private, but muddy (we had rain on the day we arrived). The toilets are okay. The showers are old, small and not very clean. The kitchen is very small. However the camp ground doesn't cost much so you get what you pay for. And we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

...but facilities are indeed quite basic. Nonetheless, for the pleasure of staying in this incredible place it may be worth forgetting about the high standards of the city life and just enjoy the nature and the beauty of this little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent five weeks touring the South Island of NZ in a camper and stayed at Curio Bay for one night on a powered site.

The sites themselves were fantastic - we had one set amongst the flax and it was completely private, we felt like we were the only people there! The site is also within easy walking distance to the beach for penguin viewing and the spectacular petrified forest.

The let down for us was that, whilst the site was fairly cheap at $27, showers were an additional cost and facilities were VERY basic. Basically showers were in a tin shed and toilets were typical bush style. We stayed in some pretty basic places on our travels but the showers here were probably the worst we came across, given the lovely surroundings it really would be worth putting some money towards an upgrade of the showers at least. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay but if it wasn't for the surrounding wildlife we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location is amazing and you can choose between up on the cliff or in the bushes, which is very nice. The beach is a a great place to see dolphins, and you can easily walk to the pertified forest. However the facilities are very basic and it is overpriced for what you get. There is no door by the kitchen, and you have to pay for the shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pissenlit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Come here if you want great views and get close to nature. didn;t use the toilet and showers though cos they looked quite horrible. Anyways, why didn't i complaint? The reason lies in the spectacular scenery from an elevated ground within the park and also a choice of 2 sides of the beach for views. From the cliff, the scenery is a panaromic 360 degrees of pure geological wonder and witness the might of waves in the area. The host was very nice and helpful as well. Office has a small store as well. Pretty unfortunate that the campervan sites weren't appointed with a view or else it would be almost perfect by virtue of scenery alone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews