We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Whale Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Wayne's Marine Excursions

Captain Wayne's Marine Excursions
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Bay Bulls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Bay Bulls,Newfoundland.We have on site parking adjacent to our outfitting chalet and docking facility.This site is located 2km from the main highway.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Whale Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing time in Newfoundland and our most memorable experiences were our trips with Captain Wayne and Deb. Their enthusiasm and love for whales is contagious and is the foundation for a great whale watching experience. The Blackfish is a fun and speedy ride, the boat ride is worth the trip in itself. Due to its speed, we are able to spend more time on the water than the larger boats and therefore spend more time around the whales. Captain Wayne has an incredible sense of whale behaviour and tremendous respect for these gentle giants. We could not have asked for a better guide. We planned on one whale watching trip and ended up signing up for a second trip with Wayne the next day.... and again the day after that. Each time we experienced and saw something new. There is no better whale watching experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great trip with Captain Wayne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We loved this. Instead of going out in a boat with 50-75 people we were the only ones this am and had a wonderful time. The smaller boat was very comfortable --rest room on board-- and the Captain -- Wayne was so knowledgeable. His first mate Cathy was great as well -- and they also gave us great tips about what to do the rest of the day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 23anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best tour in NL!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I brought a group of friends from out west to see Newfoundland. They wanted to go whale watching, and I've heard nothing but good things about captain Wayne's tours. The moment we first stepped out of our vehicles to the moment we drove away everything was perfect. One of the nicest and most knowledgeable men you'll ever meet. He knew exactly what to do and the whales basically came to us. If you're looking for a real treat and the REAL whale and sea bird experience look nowhere else but Captain Wayne. Have I also mentioned he's an artist!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I have met the whale whisperer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have done a dozen or so whale watches over the last 10 years and this is definitely top notch. The boat is small but built just for this purpose for small groups -- we had six plus the crew on the day I went. We saw about 8 whales up close and personal and thousands of puffins and murres and other birds I don't even know. If you can ony go on one whale watch this is the one to choose.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank salvannatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you are an avid photographer then this is the tour for you! The design of the boat allows access to coves that cannot be accessed by other bigger tour operators. Due to the Captain`s knowledge of the area, close access to wildlife and incredible photo ops. Ìt`s probably the closest I`ve ever been to the wild birds anywhere! Smaller, open boat that allows for better viewing and moving around for pictures. Boat is well built and so quiet you barely know you`re on a boat.

Now to the imporatant part, Captain Wayne is a very gracious host. Always making sure you`re comfortable and warm. He was constantly pointing out photo ops for the group and had a thorough knowledge of the birds and surrounding wildlife. He is very patient and does not move on to the next place until everyone has had a chance to have a look or grab a picture. As stated in a previous post, if you`re into photography, make sure you bring a couple of cards because you will most definitely need them!

Excellent tour, 5 stars all the way!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravels2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Wayne's Marine Excursions also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Captain Wayne's Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing