We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trip with great host

Although it was late in the season, we were pleased we had taken this tour to the Witless Bay... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
Julie A
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Absolutely delightful!

I took this tour on September 25th, well past the puffin and whale time to see them. I had also... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Karina R
,
Laval, Canada
Read all 1,088 reviews
  
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
963
89
18
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
89
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour witless bay great tour humpback whales whale watching captain joe o brien early in the season great boat ecological reserve two hours ice berg highly recommend this tour great afternoon these guys amazing experience fish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Although it was late in the season, we were pleased we had taken this tour to the Witless Bay reserve. We saw several bald eagles and plenty of sea birds. The commentary from our host was excellent, and he also entertained us with two songs. Highly recommended!

Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

I took this tour on September 25th, well past the puffin and whale time to see them. I had also booked a shuttle pick up from downtown. I was warned that the puffins and whales would not be present and was fine with their alternative boat tour.

The staff were extremely friendly and the "narrator" of the boat ride, Matthew, made it a point to come and see each of the guests on board to make sure we were doing well and to talk to us a little. He gave us a bit of history about the places we went along as well as a few cool anecdotes. The crew even provided us with blankets when it got very windy on the top deck of the boat.

Despite it being off season for puffins, the captain made it a point to try and find some late stragglers and went out of his way to follow the probably 6 last remaining puffins, much to the joy of the 11 passengers on board. We never made it to the geyser, since we followed the 6 puffins, but it was well worth it - and I'm sure the geyser must be a great site to see!

We even got to see other birds such as the bald eagle and other aquatic birds.

The scenery and views along the way were absolutely stunning and spectacular and again, the entire crew were fantastic. I really enjoyed this boat ride and the overall experience and services.

I would absolutely return and recommend this tour, whether it is to see puffins or not.

Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

O’Brien staff are friendly and helpful. their tours are amazing and there is lots to see especially when the whales are there.

Thank Suzannemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We visited NL this July and lucked into O'Brien's for a tour. It was a bit wavy and the cap't made sure we were aware to hold on and walk carefully. No danger, but just be smart. It was fine. The tour director, a retired teacher, was wonderful. Funny, singing and full of info. And then the whales showed up. Everywhere. Close, Far, where we are. Goodness! Gracious! They are huge, graceful, beautiful, monstrous, scary...this was a treat beyond expectations and the tour director was as excited as we were. Apparently, it's not usual for such a show, but OMG, it was fantastic. Try it! My family was speechless and yelling at the same time.

Thank TinajoeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The staff and crew were all very good and very helpful and, although we did not see any puffins (too late in the season; only a handful left) or whales, we did see enough (bald eagle, close up seal, various seabirds) and stopped to watch one of the crew do some cod jigging. All-in-all, we did feel that we got good value for money, despite the disappointment of no puffins or whales.Con O'Brien was a fantastic guide and entertained us with his singing abilities. Will come back some other time, earlier in the season, to see what must be an amazing site when the puffins are there.

Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We had so much fun out on the tour with Con. Within the first 5 minutes we saw a whale come up for air and he came back at least 6 times. It was a beautiful day and we loved learning about the ecosystem and how all the birds out at the reserve live and interact with each other. We saw plenty of puffins, as well as an eagle and sang some lovely songs.

At the end of the tour we screeched in a couple and sang another sweet song for newlyweds onboard.

Would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Thank hjcook0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We did not do the cruise. Had a Farewell Dinner in their banquet room. They need to serve a nice hot biscuit or bun with the salad. Cod Fish was excellent. Plate was ICE cold. Need to heat plates ! Service was excellent. Cake for desert needs a dab of whipped cream ( a little dry )
Otherwise...nice spot 4 sure. Big portion of fish. I think the Whale Watch would b fun

1  Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Even though I got a bit seasick, this was a highlight of the trip! The guide and crew were excellent, and the guide was packed full of knowledge and answers to any questions he was asked. It was tons of fun, filled with songs, information about Newfoundland and its wildlife, and puffin sightings! No whales unfortunately, but since it's basically out of season it was pretty much expected.
Thanks O'Brien's!!

Thank kristicollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We had a beautiful afternoon on the water with their friendly, knowledgeable crew. Though late in the season for whales, we followed two fin backs for about 10-15 mins
As they made their way to wintering grounds. There were still thousands of puffins still in the air and around the cliffs, not all had left. Lots of info from crew about geography of the land, sea and land creatures.

Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Great tour ....... Captain Jo made the tour so interesting explaining the geography of the land and the species of fish, mammals and birds with a fantastic sense of humour. We saw a school of tuna feeding, a mola mola and plenty of puffins and other bird species. Also saw some whales spouting in the distance . Great day! We even got treated to a few Newfie songs!

Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews