We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, brilliant location”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our stay at Bell&Busk was one of the highlights of our year. All of the rooms where beautifully decorated and for lovers of light and space the upstairs bedroom will be just what your looking for. There are no weak electric showers here, so when returning from a day of rambling the beautiful hot power shower was just the tonic. It was a B&B, with the standards of a hotel and more importantly for me, with beautiful attention to detail.
Bob and Sheila are warm and open hosts, who welcomed us with delicious cake and tea and made sure that any needs we had were met. As many other reviews have said the breakfasts were marvellous.
There was a great assortments of OS maps and local walking guides on hand, to borrow. And it was a great location for walking, right on the Pennine way. The lack of a car was no problem when wanting to explore the country side.
A perfect trip. We would definitely recommend it and would come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you. We are so pleased you felt so positive about your trip to the Yorkshire Dales. We are indeed very lucky to live in such a lovely part of the world and it really is a lovely job to be helping other people enjoy it.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 360 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We returned here having had a great time in the summer. It was reassuring to find that the quality of service, the food and the atmosphere are still excellent. We like the Tudor house for its quiet, reflective charm, excellent food and fantastic hosts. I really can't understand why a few people would give this place a poor review, perhaps they like noisy, throbbing places with plastic food!! We've stayed in a great many B & B's over the year's and this is probably the best one. I recommend the Tudor house without reservation for a great place to chill out with lots of places to walk, eat and visit. It's also pet friendly and our two Jacks Russell's are made welcome and a fuss of. Finally it was our honeymoon too.

Room Tip: The Wharfedale (pet friendly room) faces the Settle to Carlisle rail line, but you really don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilsonsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Being part of such a special occasion always brings with it a little added pressure to deliver. I am glad we managed to make your special time special enough to leave this lovely review. Thank you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just got back from a home from home realy enjoyable stay, we met up with friends Kath & George,Viv & Nicky from the last xmas 3 night stay with newcomers sue & colin.Bob & Sheila were Excellent hosts food was great and meeting up with everyone again was great. its a lovely place and Bob & Sheila have done us proud, Thank You again for a Smashing time.


Malcolm & Lesley.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you Malcolm. Christmas was every bit as enjoyable from our point of view as we had hoped, almost entirely due to the fantastic bunch of people we had staying!
We are really pleased you enjoyed it and hope to see you all again soon. C&S are already booked in for Le Grand Depart in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Mirroring the other reviews, I'd just like to say this is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. I have no complaints whatsoever. Sheila & Bob are the perfect hosts, they are friendly without being too intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thanks Brian. We are usually delighted with one !, but get three is fantastic. Thank you !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just had a wonderful 2 night stay at Tudor House. We were met by Sheila on our arrival and were shown around the lovely cosy place. It was a railway station in its former life and Bob and Sheila have tastefully refurbished it to a high standard keeping the station character intact. We slept in the station masters bedroom and the other rooms also have quirky things about them. Trains still pass by but they are not intrusive.
Breakfast was delicious cooked by Bob also to a high standard.
It is a lovely area surrounded by beautiful countryside and Bob and Sheila were a mine of information about the surrounding area.
We will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank whitwillhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time & effort to leave a reflection on your time with us late last year. We are delighted you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Tudor House last month for a wedding nearby. I'm so glad we didn't stay in any of the local towns. This place is a small pocket of history and cosy comfort, set in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The House is actually an old converted railway station, and is fabulously unique in that way, you get a real sense of history, and there are plenty of information and books at hand for guests - in the lounge ( which just so happens to actually be the original platform!)
The best thing by far though, was the hospitality. The owners Sheila & Bob were absolutely lovely, and so so friendly. They were really helpful with local tips and just really nice people, we were made to feel incredibly welcome; and almost like part of the family!
We will definitely return and hopefully get to try out one of the other fabulous rooms. Can't recommend them highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in Malamdale, which was the smallest room, and it was still lovely. There is a ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Malhamdale has had a winter make over, and although we cannot find any more room to make it bigger, the new en suite shower room now makes the décor on a par with any of the other rooms and the new colour scheme Sheila has created in the bedroom is sure to be popular with our guests this year. Come back soon to try it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great accommodation, exceptionally clean, superbly furnished. Fabulous locally sourced and home cooked food. Everything you need is here and the hosts, Sheila and Bob make this the best B&B in North Yorkshire. A must for anyone who wishes to visit the area!

Room Tip: All rooms first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you, and many apologies for such a late response. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing