We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B i have stayed in, EVER”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best B&B i have stayed in, EVER”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The title says it all, everything about this B&B was great. Bob and Sheila were very friendly, and the went out of their way to help us out with our car wing mirror. All the thank yous in the world are not enough for there hospitality.

The only dissappointing thing was, just as we were getting really comfortable, it was time to leave. We are going to compare every future B&B stay with Tutor House from now on. Thanks Bob and shiela for all your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you! We know there are lots of options out there for "B&Bers" so it is very gratifying to be ranked so highly in your review - it leaves us a lot to live up to - a challenge we are happy to accept!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
232
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived with our dog after a great afternoon wending our way up through Yorkshire, stopping at a few tourist attractions as we passed.

Sheila was a lovely and genuine hostess. She took the time and gave us some history of the house, showed us around and brought us coffee and home made cakes.

Both Bob and Sheila obviously don't stop working as the house is immaculate and the rooms perfect.

We stayed in the Wharfedale room which is pet friendly. You wouldn't have thought any dogs have ever set foot in there, let alone stayed overnight! There was none of that doggy smell you often find and obviously the hoover gets some use as there was not a pet hair anywhere.

The room itself was right next to the railway but the trains were few and far between and didn't disturb our peace whatsoever.

In the room were the little touches not often found in bed and breakfasts, but the type that make all the difference. There were bottles of water in the bathroom, chocolates by the bed as well as a good selection of teas and coffee in the dressing room.

The bathroom was like something you would find in an expensive hotel... The shower was top of the range and most importantly the water was hot!

We had a very good nights sleep in the very comfy bed. What more could you want than big fluffy pillows and super clean sheets?

Breakfast was served by Sheila and cooked by Bob, the portions were more than generous and delicious.

We will certainly visit again and recommend it highly to our friends and family as well as anyone reading this review.

Thank you again Bob and Sheila

Room Tip: Dog friendly Wharfdale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in posting a reflection on your time with us, it really makes a difference to know that guests appreciate our efforts. We look forward to seeing you again at TH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex U.K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arrived after long journey to be greeted by sheila who helped with parking, showed us all the rooms and told us some of this history of their lovely B&B, followed by tea & cakes in the lounge which was much appreciated. Bob cooked evening meal and came in to check it was all O.K. which it was, and so was the breakfasts served each morning. All home grown or locally sourced and very tasty! Both Sheila & Bob were more than helpful with their knowledge of the Dales and helped us plan our route each day which proved to be an excellent choice for us to experience all aspects of this wonderful region.
The bonus for us all was to see the magnificent steam train thundering past on the sunday morning. Would reccommend Tudor House to anyone visiting Yorkshire but especially any train enshusiasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we cannot promise a steam train for all guests, but they are a magnificent sight and you don't get a better view anywhere along the Settle-Carlisle line, that's for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for two days just recently. The whole experience was just "fantastic". This is a dog friendly B and B and the hosts Bob and Sheila were quality service personified. The breakfast is top quality from the cereal to the "full monty". The room we stayed in had just been upgraded and was spotless and had plenty of room. We went for a relaxing break and got that and the peace and quiet was wonderful. There are drinks available via an honesty box and great advice on places to visit or eat. In you're in the Gargrave area, this is definitely the place to stay. We've booked to go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "dog friendly room" which was on the ground floor and had plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Bit slow on responding to these last few reviews but thought I had better do it before you return!! Thanks for your comments and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stumbled across Tudor House while searching online for B&B in the Yorkshire Dales. It turned out to be much more than we expected. The accommodation is easily at 4 star level. The individually cooked breakfasts are positively heroic! The site alongside the railway line adds another layer of interest, even if you aren't a mad train buff, with a large guest sitting room looking out on the tracks. And there is an impressive collection of information to help you make the most of your visit - both written materials and the local knowledge of hosts Sheila & Bob, which they are more than happy to share.

We will definitey be back and would have no hesitation in recommending Tudor House to others.

Tony, Frances & Tomas

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Dales and look forward to seeing you again all the way up t'nurth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Tudor House within 3 months. Our first stay was for just 1 night - this time for two. Bob and Sheila are great, friendly hosts. The house is charming (it is a converted railway station alongside the Settle-Carlisle railway line). Full of railway and movie nostalgia and is a fun, relaxed and very different place to stay that is full of character.

Sheila was on the front doorstep as we pulled up ready to greet us which is a lovely, personal touch. Our bags were taken up to our room which has been recently been refurbished to a very high standard. We particularly liked the little touches such as soft monogrammed wool dressing gowns hanging on the bathroom doors. The bathroom is luxurious with a walk in drench shower. We ate one of Bob's fine evening meals which was excellent - all locally sourced food. Another lovely touch was a complimentary bottle of Presecco as it was my other half's birthday which was a surprise gift........ Al ittle note for first time guests - if you would like to eat at Tudor House, you do need to give Bob 24 hours notice so that he can buy in the food for your meal chosen from their set menu......There are however great pubs to eat nearby - particularly the Lister Arms in Malham which we have eaten at and can highly recommend......

For those who (like me) are not railway buffs, train noise at night is barely noticeable (freight trains are quite frequent Mon-Sat) but it is a converted railway station and is very much part of the charm of staying at Tudor House.

Our 2nd visit was every bit as enjoyable and comfortable as the first and it certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to the third (and fourth....) visit and will do all we can to make sure you enjoy them as much as the first two. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a very beautiful part of the country. Sheila and Bob go 'the extra mile' in order to assist you in any way which might make your stay more enjoyable. It is a very unusual house with interesting, theme-based memorabilia and a huge array of leaflets, books, videos etc. to enhance your knowledge of the area. Although our room was small, it was very comfortable and well appointed, so not a problem, and the bottles of water provided, along with mints and small chocolates were a nice touch! Great, eclectic decor all round. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidp1234p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. As forward bookings are now getting quite busy if you can plan far enough in advance the next time you come we will try to ensure one of the deluxe double rooms is available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
21.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,130 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing