We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex U.K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arrived after long journey to be greeted by sheila who helped with parking, showed us all the rooms and told us some of this history of their lovely B&B, followed by tea & cakes in the lounge which was much appreciated. Bob cooked evening meal and came in to check it was all O.K. which it was, and so was the breakfasts served each morning. All home grown or locally sourced and very tasty! Both Sheila & Bob were more than helpful with their knowledge of the Dales and helped us plan our route each day which proved to be an excellent choice for us to experience all aspects of this wonderful region.
The bonus for us all was to see the magnificent steam train thundering past on the sunday morning. Would reccommend Tudor House to anyone visiting Yorkshire but especially any train enshusiasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we cannot promise a steam train for all guests, but they are a magnificent sight and you don't get a better view anywhere along the Settle-Carlisle line, that's for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
228
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for two days just recently. The whole experience was just "fantastic". This is a dog friendly B and B and the hosts Bob and Sheila were quality service personified. The breakfast is top quality from the cereal to the "full monty". The room we stayed in had just been upgraded and was spotless and had plenty of room. We went for a relaxing break and got that and the peace and quiet was wonderful. There are drinks available via an honesty box and great advice on places to visit or eat. In you're in the Gargrave area, this is definitely the place to stay. We've booked to go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "dog friendly room" which was on the ground floor and had plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Bit slow on responding to these last few reviews but thought I had better do it before you return!! Thanks for your comments and see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stumbled across Tudor House while searching online for B&B in the Yorkshire Dales. It turned out to be much more than we expected. The accommodation is easily at 4 star level. The individually cooked breakfasts are positively heroic! The site alongside the railway line adds another layer of interest, even if you aren't a mad train buff, with a large guest sitting room looking out on the tracks. And there is an impressive collection of information to help you make the most of your visit - both written materials and the local knowledge of hosts Sheila & Bob, which they are more than happy to share.

We will definitey be back and would have no hesitation in recommending Tudor House to others.

Tony, Frances & Tomas

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Dales and look forward to seeing you again all the way up t'nurth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Tudor House within 3 months. Our first stay was for just 1 night - this time for two. Bob and Sheila are great, friendly hosts. The house is charming (it is a converted railway station alongside the Settle-Carlisle railway line). Full of railway and movie nostalgia and is a fun, relaxed and very different place to stay that is full of character.

Sheila was on the front doorstep as we pulled up ready to greet us which is a lovely, personal touch. Our bags were taken up to our room which has been recently been refurbished to a very high standard. We particularly liked the little touches such as soft monogrammed wool dressing gowns hanging on the bathroom doors. The bathroom is luxurious with a walk in drench shower. We ate one of Bob's fine evening meals which was excellent - all locally sourced food. Another lovely touch was a complimentary bottle of Presecco as it was my other half's birthday which was a surprise gift........ Al ittle note for first time guests - if you would like to eat at Tudor House, you do need to give Bob 24 hours notice so that he can buy in the food for your meal chosen from their set menu......There are however great pubs to eat nearby - particularly the Lister Arms in Malham which we have eaten at and can highly recommend......

For those who (like me) are not railway buffs, train noise at night is barely noticeable (freight trains are quite frequent Mon-Sat) but it is a converted railway station and is very much part of the charm of staying at Tudor House.

Our 2nd visit was every bit as enjoyable and comfortable as the first and it certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to the third (and fourth....) visit and will do all we can to make sure you enjoy them as much as the first two. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a very beautiful part of the country. Sheila and Bob go 'the extra mile' in order to assist you in any way which might make your stay more enjoyable. It is a very unusual house with interesting, theme-based memorabilia and a huge array of leaflets, books, videos etc. to enhance your knowledge of the area. Although our room was small, it was very comfortable and well appointed, so not a problem, and the bottles of water provided, along with mints and small chocolates were a nice touch! Great, eclectic decor all round. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidp1234p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. As forward bookings are now getting quite busy if you can plan far enough in advance the next time you come we will try to ensure one of the deluxe double rooms is available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We always perform thorough Trip Advisor research before booking anywhere [because we are fussy] to ensure that:
a. There is a good sample size of ratings/reviews
b. The majority of ratings are good or excellent

Sample Size for Tudor House
211 ratings is a more than good enough sample size to make the average rating meaningful
Average rating, to one decimal place [where Poor = 1 and Excellent = 5] is 4.9 out of 5

Ratings for Tudor House
94% Excellent Ratings – 199 ratings out of 211 are excellent
97.5% of ratings Excellent or good – 206 ratings out of 211 good or excellent

In fact, the ratings would be even higher if it was not for the fact that the odd idiot has booked without doing any very basic research and then unfairly rated Tudor House for things they should have known about before booking. For example to moan that a B&B that is a converted railway station, is near a train line is a bit like buying a car and then moaning that it doesn't have wings!

So the decision to book Tudor House was easy, a 'No-Brainer', we considered the risk that 206 out of 211 people who had stayed there previously were wrong was negligible and were satisfied that we could book with confidence.

In summary
- Tudor House is a great location for the Yorkshire Dales
- Plenty of parking space
- Wi Fi
- Excellent Breakfast [fresh fruit, cereal, full English, kippers etc..] I had not had kippers for
breakfast in years these kippers were done to perfection with a poached egg
- Bob and Sheila are excellent hosts and went out of their way to accommodate our nearly two
year old
- Bob and Sheila have great local knowledge and happy to spend time with guests advising
and recommending days out etc….in addition to this there are plenty of books/information
available
- Spacious bedroom
- Plenty of space downstairs to sit and read, drink, watch television/DVDs or relax etc…
- Occasional trains passing not a problem for us, in fact our toddler was fascinated by them
- Very good shower with plenty of power [where so many B&Bs disappoint Tudor House
excels]

It is difficult to find fault with Tudor House, Bob and Sheila have obviously worked hard and deserve to get such high ratings and are obviously continuing to work hard to maintain such high ratings.

I will be recommending Tudor House to family and friends.

Thanks Bob and Sheila, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of the time you spent with us, and your very kind conclusions! Inspired by your effort I have spent some time on the TA site and discovered we are the highest ranked B&B in Yorkshire with a "Terrible" or 1/5 amongst our reviews. Wonder where we might be had this fabrication not been allowed?
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at TH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would really recommend this B&B. Its in a lovely location right by the railway. Don't be put off by this, trains are very infrequent and caused no disturbance at all. We stayed in a small room with orient express style bunks, with en-suite shower. Very happy with this, so cosy and well presented. The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough to assist. Sheila & Bob even offered us a lift to a local hotel for a wedding party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for this lovely recommendation. The wonderful "Orient Express" room is proving very popular, especially amongst those who do their research and know what to expect on arrival. We hope to see you back ah TH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing