We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'No-Brainer'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'No-Brainer'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We always perform thorough Trip Advisor research before booking anywhere [because we are fussy] to ensure that:
a. There is a good sample size of ratings/reviews
b. The majority of ratings are good or excellent

Sample Size for Tudor House
211 ratings is a more than good enough sample size to make the average rating meaningful
Average rating, to one decimal place [where Poor = 1 and Excellent = 5] is 4.9 out of 5

Ratings for Tudor House
94% Excellent Ratings – 199 ratings out of 211 are excellent
97.5% of ratings Excellent or good – 206 ratings out of 211 good or excellent

In fact, the ratings would be even higher if it was not for the fact that the odd idiot has booked without doing any very basic research and then unfairly rated Tudor House for things they should have known about before booking. For example to moan that a B&B that is a converted railway station, is near a train line is a bit like buying a car and then moaning that it doesn't have wings!

So the decision to book Tudor House was easy, a 'No-Brainer', we considered the risk that 206 out of 211 people who had stayed there previously were wrong was negligible and were satisfied that we could book with confidence.

In summary
- Tudor House is a great location for the Yorkshire Dales
- Plenty of parking space
- Wi Fi
- Excellent Breakfast [fresh fruit, cereal, full English, kippers etc..] I had not had kippers for
breakfast in years these kippers were done to perfection with a poached egg
- Bob and Sheila are excellent hosts and went out of their way to accommodate our nearly two
year old
- Bob and Sheila have great local knowledge and happy to spend time with guests advising
and recommending days out etc….in addition to this there are plenty of books/information
available
- Spacious bedroom
- Plenty of space downstairs to sit and read, drink, watch television/DVDs or relax etc…
- Occasional trains passing not a problem for us, in fact our toddler was fascinated by them
- Very good shower with plenty of power [where so many B&Bs disappoint Tudor House
excels]

It is difficult to find fault with Tudor House, Bob and Sheila have obviously worked hard and deserve to get such high ratings and are obviously continuing to work hard to maintain such high ratings.

I will be recommending Tudor House to family and friends.

Thanks Bob and Sheila, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of the time you spent with us, and your very kind conclusions! Inspired by your effort I have spent some time on the TA site and discovered we are the highest ranked B&B in Yorkshire with a "Terrible" or 1/5 amongst our reviews. Wonder where we might be had this fabrication not been allowed?
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at TH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
227
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would really recommend this B&B. Its in a lovely location right by the railway. Don't be put off by this, trains are very infrequent and caused no disturbance at all. We stayed in a small room with orient express style bunks, with en-suite shower. Very happy with this, so cosy and well presented. The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough to assist. Sheila & Bob even offered us a lift to a local hotel for a wedding party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for this lovely recommendation. The wonderful "Orient Express" room is proving very popular, especially amongst those who do their research and know what to expect on arrival. We hope to see you back ah TH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Tudor House and we were not disappointed. Sheila and Bob make you welcome from the minute you step through the door. Our room was immaculate and the food is locally sourced and delicious. The hearty breakfast sets you up for the day. Bob is an excellent cook and their evening meals are fabulous. On Sheila's advice we visited Fountains Abbey and gardens. We were glad we did. The abbey and restored mill were well worth the visit alone. The gardens were also extensive and beautifully kept. We will definitely be back, we could not stay anywhere else but the Tudor House.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlyBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you once again, and for the lovely card sent by the old fashioned 'snail mail' !! It got back from the framers just after you left but will be on the dining room wall for you to see the next time you head south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Tudor House for one night on our return from a break in Scotland. What a wonderful surprise.
Sheila made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived until we left the following morning. The property is immaculate,soaked in history (which Sheila related with enthusiasm) and furnished to a very high standard.
Breakfast was wonderful - lots of healthy choices as well as a substantial fry which my husband enjoyed.
We will definately return, hopefully when the steam train chuffs past this lovely abode.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irene004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you. Hopefully next time you are passing through you can take a little more time to enjoy our wonderful part of the world. We are delighted you enjoyed your short time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. We had a warm welcome from Sheila and we stayed in Wensleydale which was a spacious room, decorated beautifully and with a large bed and luxurious bathroom. Bob was really helpful too with which walk we should do the next day, which turned out to be one of the best walks we have ever done. Breakfasts were scrumptious and we would really recommend anyone to stay this great place. We would love to return some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you. Our location in the Yorkshire Dales really makes our life easy - it really is "God's Own County" and I am sure we can find some equally enjoyable walks on your next visit. Hope it is not too far away!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay. We and our small dog were warmly welcomed by sheila. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very generous and offer fresh fruits and various juices, cereals yogurts. The spacious en suite shower room is very luxurious with lovely white fluffy towelsWe hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The ground floor room we were in was pet friendly. The ensuite shower room was very spacious and lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you. The upgrade of the ground floor room, especially the bathroom has been very well received. We are delighted you enjoyed it. We look forward to holding you to the promise of a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this special property.On arrival we were very impressed by the beautiful views and the warm welcome we recieved from Sheila.
Our room was very spacious and newly decorated to a very high standard, immaculately clean, as is the whole of the property.You feel at home immiediately.
The service and breakfast were excellent, with a good selection of fresh fruit, juices and a very generous cooked breakfast, cooked by Bob.
Nothing is too much trouble for either of them, the finishing touches are everywhere along with help amd info on everything you need to make the most of your stay.
We could have stayed longer than our 3 nights and will definetly be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you. Our increasing number of 'regulars' has one drawback, there is less room for us to have new guests stay, but when they do, we are delighted they want to join the group of regulars.
We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing