We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit and it won't be our last.”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our first visit and it won't be our last.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Malham staying at Tudor House, Bell Busk, what an amazing place to stay. We spent two nights there and was made truly welcome by Bob and Sheila, it really is home from home. Homemade cakes and refreshments upon arrival got the weekend off to a great start. We stayed in the Swaledale room which is spacious and decorated to a very high standard, I particulary liked the fresh flowers in the room and the luxurious bath products, not to mention the huge walk-in shower. The breakfast had something for everyone, cereals, fruit juices, just about every fresh fruit you can imagine, yogurts, and then a cooked breakfast, cooked to order, nothing was too much trouble and as much tea, coffee and toast as you could manage. We were blessed with wonderful sunshine which made our autumn break a truly wonderful one, we are very fortunate we get the chance to stay in lots B&B's but not always as fortunate to say in one as nice as this one, don't hesitate to book you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you! The sunshine always helps and we have had precious little of it this summer! We will hold you to your promise of a return visit, so long as you promise to bring the sunshine with you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
228
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Tudor House (Wensleydale room) for 3 nights. The room was excellent: very spacious, lovely decor, fantastic wide bed, superb bathroom and lovely views from the window (including woodpeckers on the birdfeeders!). There were lots of delightful extra touches such as bottles of water, ‘proper’ coffee with a perculator and very tasty biscuits and chocolates. The breakfasts offer a really good choice of quality food and cater for all appetites. We were made to feel very welcome and the whole atmosphere was warm and relaxed. The location is great – ideal not only for exploring the Yorkshire Dales but also for venturing up into the Lake District. Sheila and Bob make excellent hosts and we would happily visit again. I would like to add (having read one of the earlier reviews that mentioned the noise of the trains) that, as I am a very light sleeper when on holiday and our room was right next to the track, I was a bit worried when we first arrived and Sheila told me some trains do run at night. However, they are few and far between and, although I was aware of them (husband wasn’t), they pass so quickly that even if you do momentarily wake up it’s certainly not enough to stop you going straight back to sleep in the very comfortable bed! The proof is that we would go back again (and also that we have rated sleep quality as excellent)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_P_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much, and especially for your honest comments on the trains. We are what we are, the old station masters house & station that served Malham/Airton/Eshton etc and although the station is closed, the line is still operational, if lightly used. Of course it is easy for us to say that the trains are not an intrusion, but I think your comments are spot on and if you look & listen for them, they are there, if you don't think about them they soon become part of the background, along with rolling grreen hills, babbling streams, woodpeckers.................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the very warm welcome,to the luxurious bedroom,to the fantastic evening meals everything was perfection.Sheila greeted us warmly and after an interesting history of the building served us with tea and homemade cakes in the cosy lounge.Our room was very comfortable with many special little touches.The ensuite bathroom was finished to a very high standard.We really did feel that Bob and Sheila cared about their guests.The breakfasts were fantastic.The choice was superb and the quality and quantity were excellent.Delicious fresh fruits,cereals,yoghurts and Bob's amazing 'Full Monty' using top quality local produce.Rather than trail to the local pub try the evening meals that Bob and Sheila are happy to provide.Their menu is varied and suits all tastes.Again quality local produce is used and cooked to a very high standard.Excellent quality wine is also available by the glass or bottle.The meals served by Sheila made the evening feel very special.The meal was finished with a cafetiere of great coffee and mints served in front of the log burner in the lounge.What a perfect evening.Nothing was too much trouble for Bob and Sheila.We really did feel that we were in a home from home.We can't wait to return to such a fantastic place.Tudor House is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you. We can't say often enough how lucky we feel to be in this gorgeous part of the world and having smashing people come to stay with us - as the professional footballers with half an ounce of common sense say " We are priviledged to be paid for doing something we love" - people like yourselves make it that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having been twice before to Tudor House we have raved on about how great Bob & Sheila are as hosts, the fantastic food and the lovely location and rooms. This time we visited for two nights and brought along our best friends, two other couples who had listened to us bang on about our great this B & B is.
I have to admit it's got even better, they have upgraded the two rooms our friends stayed in and they were just blown away, not just by the standard of the rooms, and the attention to detail but also as I'd promised, by the great food and the warm and friendly welcome .
We had a great weekend, the weather was also warm, the only downside is that now I Really do have to go on a diet to get rid of some the pounds I've put on. The breakfasts were just superb and on the Saturday night we stayed in to eat Bob's lovely evening food which was just as good.
My friends were just as impressed, will definitely be coming again

Room Tip: they are all great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
There is perhaps only one greater compliment we can be paid than a guest returning, and that is a guest returning with friends. Thanks for bringing the gang along Pete and we are delighted we didn't let you down! We look forward to you all coming again and bringing the sunshine with you again - it has been in short supply this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recieved a lovely welcome from Sheila and Bob.. greeted with fresh tea coffee and home made cakes. this bed and breakfast is all about customer service, a quality that is lost in most bed and breakfasts nowadays. we were made to feel comfortable and welcome, it was nice at the bed and breakfast to have a large lounge that had a log fire burning and the television was not the centerpiece, this helped us to feel away from it all. Bob gave us some good guidance on where the local gems could be found from malham cove , janets foss and gordale scar . although it rained , the experienced was not tainted. Due to Bobs hearty breakfast we had enough energy for the full days walk . On the first morning we had the full monty, then realising just how big it i had to order less because i just couldnt eat it all . fantasic owners , fantastic welcome, fantastic food, fantstic location, very happy guests . Peter and Laura

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks guys, it was a pleasure to have you come & stay, and a lovely surprise when the thank you bouquet arrived. Fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a lovely welcome we received from Sheila our hostess with tea & cakes in the lounge The breakfast was superb with a good choice of fresh fruit , cereals and a full breakfast using local produce.
The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and we both had a really good nights sleep.
Sheila recommended several local places where we could get an evening meal and rang through to the local pub to reserve a table. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure we had an enjoyable visit to the Dales
We shall be making a return visit

Roger and Carole

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments here. It makes it all worthwhile!Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a wonderful welcome from Sheila with a pot of tea & home baked cakes. She told us about the history of Tudor House & there was plenty of literature on trains in their comfortable lounge. We were lucky to see the steam train pass by a few hours after arriving - absolutely brilliant! Great choice at breakfast, Sheila had even prepared fresh fruit with my favourites & Bob's breakfast was one of the best we've had using local produce. If you like something a bit different give it a go you won't be dissapointed - only wish we'd stayed a little longer but I'm sure we'll be visiting again. Oh! & the Yorkshire Dales were just stunning.

Jan & Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you guys. Unfortunately we can't promise a steam train everytime, but if you plan ahead it can be arranged! We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing