We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tudor House Christmas Special”
Review of Tudor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tudor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bell Busk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tudor House Christmas Special”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

And WOW was it special. Only booked on the spur of the moment and travelled up with my 'sis' and our 4 siamese cats. What a fabulous weekend it turned out to be. Met the lovely Kath, George,Lesley and Malcolm who were the other paying guests for this 3day special. Bob and Sheila (the owners of TH) were the best hosts you could possibly want to look after you and we were welcomed into their home by the entire family for probably the best Christmas ever. Dining table positively 'groaned' with food for the entire 3 days - breakfasts to die for every morning, beautiful 'herb fed' turkey with all the trimmings for Christmas day, stunning cold spread in the evening. This is a place where you will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. TH is full of character and a definite must for a return visit. Thanks to everyone who made this a special break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you ladies. Christmas was very special this year, the main reason being the people we were able to share it with, and you were a real bonus to have stay and join in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
228
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

having just returned from spending 3 wonderful days over the christmas period, with Bob & Sheila,(mine hosts.)we cannot thank them enough, for one of the best christmas periods we have spent.We cannot thank them enough,nothing was too much trouble, the meals we had were beyond excellent, We also made some great new friends, in Malcolm, Leslie, Viv and Nicky.we all had a wonderfull Christmas. The Marchant children were there too and were a great assett to the festivities. We have already booked for next year, in May. We wish them a Happy and busy New Year, and thanks again for a memorable time.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thanks guys. We really had a great time with all of you and would like to thank you all for coming to share Xmas with us. See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Worst B&B I have stayed in. Small room (family) with no hot water for first 2 hours. Owners completely insincere. Note that lots of folks left nice reviews so I must be harder to satisfy than others (despite being a simple soul) ...I like my sleep and trust me freight trains coming through your bedroom every 15 mins do NOT enduce quality rest

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
We have made repreentations to TA to have this review removed as it contains unfair and inaccurate commets and statements.
FACT: We offered these guests our family room (double bed, bunk beds, space for a 5th bed, 2 x TV, en suite shower room and separate handbasin, double aspect through 3 seperate windows) as they said they had a "Small" dog and our only pet friendly room was booked. The dog turned out to be a full sized "Collie"!
FACT: There is never more than 4 or 5 freight trains though the night and usually only 2 or 3. After all we are the old railway station for Malham - read our web site!
FACT: After the first nights stay these guests cleaned out their room entirely, inc wash bags etc and left without paying - forgetting they had origianlly booked via an internet booking site where they had to leave all contact and credit card details.
3 calls to the mobile number provided, getting no answer, finally prompted a call from them after 5 p.m. with a story of having been stuck in a hospital all day and saying they may or may not return that night, but if they did not return they would call in the following morning to drop off the key.
FACT: They did not return that night and claimed to have stayed at relatives in the northern Dales, but were seen in the local pub having dinner by other guests.
FACT: They did return the following morning to return the key and were charged for 2 nights stay.
FACT: Our brand new boiler fills a 250 litre capacity hot water tank in 20 minutes. No one goes without hot water at Tudor House!!
FACT: They were not happy at having to pay for a room they had booked and used for one night & we had kept open for them for a second and left threatening to harm our reputaion by posting damaging remarks on the internet.
MANY MANY THANKS TO JASON (OUR NEXT REVIEWER) WHO DEFENDED US SOONER THAN WE WERE ABLE OURSELVES DUE TO HOLIDAYS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2011

One of the 6 of us staying at TH/BB achieved 60 on the second night. The birthday was fun and friendly. Your generous hospitality ensured that the celebration was 'home from home' and we had no work to do! Sheila and Bob you did us proud. So pleased I found you - the 3 days just as I had dreamed and planned. Thank you. Sue and friends from Surrey and Sussex.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side quieter..... but this is an old railway station. It is the whole point of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you. It is happy guests like yourselves that make this way of life so rewarding. Hope to see all of you again in the New Year. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

One word somes it up,LOVELEY.......A LOVELEY warm reception with coffee and LOVELEY home made cakes.Shown to a LOVELY room with a LOVELY bathroom.After an evening out came back in from the cold to a LOVELEY fire in the log burner in the LOVELEY cosy residents lounge,,,a rare treat in B.and B....A LOVELEY touch with honesty bar...the brandies went down a treat. A good nights sleep in a LOVELEY comfy bed.The biggest LOVELEY reserved for the LOVELEY breakfast......Faultless and obviously cooked with love and care....Would recommend Tudor House without any doubt whatsoever.....Bob and Sheila your hard work is much appreciated and we will definitely be back sometime......LOVELY STUFF !!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
LOVELEY - Thank you! Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lovely B&B where you can really feel at home.

We stayed in Airedale for the first night and then moved into the bigger family room for the next couple of nights when it became available.

Both rooms were very nice, especially the more spacious family room.

We particularly liked the cosy lounge areas which were packed with interesting items, pictures and books. There was enough space for all the guests to sit in seperate areas without imposing on each other.

The well-stacked honesty bar was another little bonus.

The house is adjacent to the Settle - Carlisle railway line. This was not a problem - we were not woken by the trains (which are pretty infrequent anyway) and if you like steam trains you will probably see one if you stay here on a weekend!

We used it as a base for the nearby Consiton Hall Hotel where we were attending a wedding, and also to do a little cycling round the dales.

The breakfasts used local quality ingredients. Really fantastic food.

We would both be happy to return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope you have a great Christmas and a peaceful & prosperous New Year, which hopefully includes plans for a return visit to TH!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Found our first visit to Tudor House every thing we could have wished for - from a warm welcome, delicious food at breakfast and dinner to a perfect bedroom with the opportunity to watch an array of wildlife in the garden. Bob and Sheila couldn't be better hosts, and the location of their home is just perfect for vistiting town or countryside
Had a great stay and hope to return soon.
Sheila and Barry F

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaH177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TudorHouseBB, Owner at Tudor House, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
I seem to remember it was Mao who said something like "Every long journey begins with the first step" (?).
In reference to the previous reviewer, we are gettting more and more return customers, but we still need lots of people taking the "first step" to keep our little place busy, and we are delighted you found us.
We really do hope you can find time to visit again and hopefully become another one of our treasured 'regulars'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bell Busk
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: Near Skipton, Bell Busk, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bell Busk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bell Busk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tudor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 19th-century converted railway station on the Skipton-Settle-Carlisle line with bags of character and a warm welcome guaranteed. 2 deluxe doubles, 2 doubles and our wonderful "Orient Express" Sleeper Compartment twin room means we have something for everybody. Bob & Sheila look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tudor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Bell Busk
Tudor House Bell Busk, UK - Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing