We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Aard Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aard Oakleigh
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

In September I took ny daughter, Missy (for her B-Day) and her daughter (my granddaughter for graduation gift) to Ireland. We couldn't find a B&b in Kilkenny and Missy called Joan and ask if she took vouchers, she did and had a room for us. It had been a long day and we were tired, when we drove up and saw this beautiful home and gardens and met June we were revived. This sweet lady is warm and friendly and makes you feel like family. The room was beautiful and the home very clean. And the piece de r'e-sis-tance the big bathroom with deep soaker tub, perfect place to relax in bubbles and read or sleep for a while. Beautiful breakfaxt room with lovely flowers to out the sun filled windows that put a smile on your face. If that doesn't make you smile the homemade bread, muffins and jams will, oh yeas you will eat to much. June is the perfect host and adds a real touch of class to all she does in her home. We will return here every time she has room for us, we feel we have met a lifetime friend. I can't leave out this important thing, Missy is a smoker and June has a nice covered porch so smokers have a place out of the weather to enjoy their smokes. Missy loved this!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We should have stayed at another Bed&Breakfast but it was closed and June opened her house for us. There was no advance agreement but we were welcome at the house. It was cozy and friendly. You could feel as you are a guest there.
Home made muffins and home made bread were profided in the evening and in the morning. It was the only place you can choose some fish for breakfast.
The room was small but nicely furnished and decorated. All intereior is done with a lot of love.
Due to weather conditions it was rather cold in the house but there was fn electric blanket with an integrated electrical heating device.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeyaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were warmly greeted by June on arrival, with a pot of tea and some apple cake. Having been on the road for a couple of hours at night, this was such a kind gesture. The rooms are spotless and bedrooms beautifully decorated.
Then there was breakfast. Well what can I say, other than this was the best breakfast I have ever had at any guest house/b+b! Home made bread and scones, refreshing fruit salad with scrummy raspberries, a huge choice of cereal, and then the full Irish breakfast. Needless to say, we were set up for the day, and didn't eat until the evening, when we reached our next destination.
If ever there was a born hostess, then June is that lady. Warm, kind, and so welcoming.
I wish we could have stayed longer. Next year, if I'm lucky enough to visit Ireland, I shall most certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights. This is a lovely B&B - comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. June, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights in early June 2010 but would have loved to have stayed for longer. It is a beautiful house in large gardens and in a lovely peaceful location, but only a few miles from Kilkenny.
June is one of the nicest ladies anyone could wish to meet and made us feel very welcome.
The bedroom was light and spacious as were the dining and sitting rooms. Excellent breakfast with a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

My husband and I toured Ireland in August 2004 for our honeymoon.
We had a difficult time finding a place in Kilkenny, and came across Aard Oakleigh B&B, about 7km from "downtown" Kilkenny.
Mrs. Greer seems to take personal pride in the appearance of her home, the grounds and her guests-I felt as if I was staying with family.
The room was very clean, bright, modern and oh so cozy!
We had an en-suite on the second floor that also had a small tv, and a beautiful view of the yard.
The yard was beautifully manicured and inviting...there was even a picnic table and lawn chairs for enjoying.
The breakfast was delicious, Mrs. Greer even gave us a selection to choose from!
I know this isn't in the city, but the hospitality, the clean, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing accommodations make it more than worth the extra drive to the attractions.
I would recommend this place to anyone headed to Kilkenny and I would stay there again myself.

Helpful?
3 Thank AUalum1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennettsbridge
6.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,921 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,024 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aard Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aard Oakleigh

Property: Aard Oakleigh
Address: Ballyreddin West, Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Bennettsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bennettsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aard Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aard Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aard Oakleigh Bennettsbridge, Ireland - County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing