We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Garden House

The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
The Garden House is a modern barn conversion finished to the highest luxury and eco standards. The kitchen area is exceptionally light and airy, well equipped and a dream to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
The Garden House is a modern barn conversion finished to the highest luxury and eco standards.
The kitchen area is exceptionally light and airy, well equipped and a dream to use.
With underfloor heating, the lounge area is a great place for up to four people to chill out.
The woodburning stove provides the focal point for cosy winter evenings.
Your private, sun-drenched patio is straight outside the French doors; with parking spaces beyond.
Bedroom 1 has a comfortable super king size double bed which can convert into twin beds if required.
Bedroom 2 also has a very comfortable modern kingsize bed.
Each bedroom has a luxury en-suite shower room with underfloor heating.
Here's the glorious view west over the vegetable garden, as seen from an upstairs window.
The Garden House has private parking for two cars alongside the private patio.
The summer house by the lake. Described by a guest as 'a magical place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house for a meal by the lake, or to relax and read a book.
The planting, landscaping and views are inspirational. Don't forget your camera!
This is the view from the hide, where—if you're lucky—you might observe a busy kingfisher.
A peacock butterfly alights on a flower to sip the nectar.
Under a hot sun, carp bask in the warm water of the lake in the height of summer.
A woodland path wends its way around the lake, here seen in the winter sun.
In autumn, a majestic white stag stands in a field which forms part of the 18 acres.
With 18 acres to explore, every turn holds new vistas and delights.
The woodland path winds along the stream. Keep quiet and you might see deer in the shady glades.
Kerry and John, 2 of our guests, were married locally and used our garden for their wedding photos.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where The Garden House is to be found. Parking is on the left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janeeda
Bexhill on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely holiday cottage, with nicely decorated rooms and everything you need for a lovely break away. We had a lovely time, was met by the lovely John who showed us everything that the cottage had to offer, including where we could walk round the property and how to get to lake. It was suggested that we needed wellingtons as it was muddy, but thankfully due to the gorgeous weather we managed to get down to the lake as the ground had dried out. One side of the cottage looked out over a small garden and the other over a vegetable garden, it was lovely to look out and see how the veg were growing each day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy W
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked The Garden House at short notice and we're SO glad we did! What a fantastic place - lovely accommodation in gorgeous surroundings!
The Garden House is finished to the highest standards - nothing has been overlooked. The underfloor heating was a treat, and my other half channelled his inner Bear Grylls every night to get the log burner going. It wasn't needed for warmth, but just watching it was really relaxing.
The bedrooms were lovely and the 6 foot bed in the room we chose was really comfortable. The shower rooms were also superb, and very necessary after a couple of hard days sorting out my mother's house and garden!
The cottage also has a communal vacuuming system - you just plug the hose into the wall and off you go! I don't like vacuuming, but even I was persuaded to do some just for the novelty!

We managed to walk around the lake - it was lovely, but very chilly and muddy. It would be nice to be able to come back in the summer and take the boat out...

Thanks for the warm welcome and the lemon drizzle cake- the little extras make holiday rentals even more memorable.

Hopefully we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Thanks for the review, Cathy. We'd love to see you both again sometime when the weather's warmer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Lovelyli...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy barn conversion”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at John and Annes property for 2 weeks over Christmas. It was placed in a lovely quite surrounding and we only saw the odd chicken wander by
John and Anne provided 2 high chairs for our then 8 month old twins and layed down extra rugs for them to crawl on plus a fire guard for the log burner.
There was a beautiful decorated Christmas tree and basket full of logs , not to mention a yummy fresh homemade cake waiting for us.
The property iwas very spacious inside with two lovely shower rooms and a open plan kitchen cosy lounge..
There was parking space directly outside the property and supermarkets including Waitrose only 15 minutes away.
A day trip to Bude in Cornwall was only just over a hour away or lovely Brixton a hour and a half.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly warm welcome from John and Anne
Liked least: Unpredictable weather in Devon
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2016
Thanks for a wonderful review, Liz. We're always happy to supply suitable extras to make a stay more enjoyable and comfortable. Do come again in summer when the twins are running around. They'll love the lake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c j
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely house and setting”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A great, spacious and well equipped house with a lovely summer house and lake. The bumpy road down to the cottage didn't worry us as you expect this kind of thing in the countryside! We found that when we arrived the welcome wasn't as warm as it has been when we've stayed at other places however, and were given strict instructions on how to run the house. I understand this is important but perhaps giving us a leaflet or something to read with this info in and taking the time to ask us how our journey was/if we had any questions about the surrounding area would have been a nicer welcome. Especially after a long journey with an 18 month old! When we left the property we were given a bit of a telling off for not having anything in the recycling box outside, but we didn't even realise it was there. If it had been in the kitchen next to the bin with a label on it for example we would have of course used it during our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
We're so glad enjoyed your stay. We apologise if you felt our introduction was not right—it's always difficult to gauge the welcome, as some guests like to be left alone while others want to chat! Generally we trust we get it right, as the other reviews will testify.

We mentioned the recycling arrangements when you arrived—and it was covered in the cottage's leaflet—so after you'd left we were dismayed to find that your recycling was all mixed in with your baby's soiled nappies and discarded food, which made clearing out the large amount of accumulated rubbish an unpleasant task.

We're sorry your departure was not as you felt it should have been. Remember, you left two hours after the departure time, putting us under great pressure to clean and prepare for the next guests in a very short time.

Once again, sorry; but so glad you liked the cottage and surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding holiday accommodation, in a lovely part of Devon”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Anne & John. We had a wonderful holiday in lovely surroundings, it was so peaceful and relaxing, we can't wait to come back. The accommodation was superb. It made quite a change to arrive with accommodation that fits its description . It was so well equipped with everything , most definitely home from home . I would also like to add that the king size bed was extremely comfortable in the past we have stayed in places that look lovely but falls short when they put in a bed with a very uncomfortable mattress. Thank you Anne for the. Delicious well coming home made cake, much appreciated .
The only negative of our holiday was viisiting the Bickford Arms in Brandis corner (10mins drive). All though the staff were friendly the meal was very bad, so we would recommend trying somewhere else. Hope to see you again. Bryce & Wendy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean accommodation
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thanks for the excellent review, Bryce; we'll be very pleased to see you again at The Garden House or one of our other cottages.

And thanks for the info about The Bickford Arms. Guests' experiences are always useful for when other guests ask for recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah r
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
“All we hoped for, and more. The Grounds are as stunning as the house!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It is not unusual to arrive at a place, having seen the photos online, and be totally befuddled as to how they managed to make it look so good!! None of that here, it is exactly what it says on the tin. The property has everything, and is so easy to use. The air circulating system ensures that it feels fresh at all times, and the showers are a treat. The delightful homemade blueberry loaf waiting for us on our arrival was a touch!
The grounds are stunning, the garden well loved and it shows. We loved the lake, especially the children. Have already recommended to my sister. John and Anne were very helpful, John especially, when our campervan broke down! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds.
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer..
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2015
We hope to see you all again soon. Thanks for a wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ticks every box and more.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Garden House was as described and more. We were warmly greeted to the cottage from Anne and John, including fresh flowers and the most divine home made Easter cake.
The house retained it's old traditional charm with lots of modern technology being utilised, Eco friendly living at it's best.
The gardens were beautifully maintained and trips in wellys around the lake were thoroughly enjoyed.
It was an excellent mid location to visit both Devon and Cornwall....the north and south coast of Devon being just over an hours travel each way...our National Trust cards being used at least once a day.
We would highly recommend trips to Lydford Gorge,Finch Foundary,Killerton House and Plymouth where we ate one of our most favourite holiday meals ever at the GlassBlowers Restaurant.
We have already recommended our parents staying at this property.
Must admit the drive way is as described by many others...very bumpy....see it as a proficiency test in the avoidance of potholes....it certainly entertained us every day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En suite shower rooms were the best we've ever used,teenage daughter was distraught to be leaving hers
Liked least: There is nothing we can't say we disliked
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thanks for a very nice review, Karen. We're glad you enjoyed it so much and look forward to seeing you all again.

The drive always gets a little bumpy during the winter weather. We'll be filling in the holes again soon in time for the Summer season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing