We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ostler's Cottage

Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax. The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax.
The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
The very comfortable lounge area looks out through the French doors onto the patio.
Fresh flowers and plants are always provided.
There's a selection of interesting and varied books to browse.
Looking out through the French doors to your private patio basking in the afternoon sun.
The elegant bedroom with king-sized bed has east-facing windows to catch the morning sun.
Your smart en-suite has underfloor heating, a bidet and a large modern shower.
This is your private parking space just beyond the patio and surrounded by flower beds.
The summer house by the lake. Described by a guest as 'a magical place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house for a meal by the lake, or to relax and read a book.
The seat by the lake. A wonderfully peaceful place to read a book or newspaper.
A woodland path wends its way around the lake, here seen in the winter sun.
In one corner of the lake there's a hide. If you're lucky, you might see a kingfisher.
A network of woodland paths twist and turn through of trees around the 18 acres.
The woodland path winds along the stream. Keep quiet and you might see deer in the shady glades.
You're welcome to walk round the huge gardens with far-reaching vistas and drifts of plants.
In the meadow, wild orchids appear every year; but you'll need to hunt them out.
Wildlife abounds. A peacock butterfly alights on a flower to drink the nectar.
In autumn, a majestic white stag stands in a field which forms part of the 18 acres.
Ostler's Cottage is very warm, modern and efficient—with 'Band A' energy performance.
Kerry and John, 2 of our guests, were married locally and used our garden for their photos.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where you'll find Ostler's Cottage. Parking is straight ahead.
The frontage of Ostler's cottage looks out onto a delightful courtyard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicki L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ostler's Cottage is a lovely place to stay with everything you could need. The setting is perfect for peace and quiet. The location is a good base from which to explore Devon and Cornwall. Lyford Gorge, Bocastle, Bude and Clovelly were our favourites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thanks for an excellent review, Vicki. Do come again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ostler's Cottage was a perfect end to our holiday”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to have a few weeks away, staying in a few different locations and Ostler's Cottage was a perfect end to our holiday. John and Anne have created a wonderful retreat which is perfectly placed to explore Dartmoor, North Devon and further afield into North Cornwall. Alternatively, if you are simply looking for peace and tranquility then there is no need to travel far from the cottage.

We arrived later than expected but that was no trouble for our hosts who were happily met us and showed us around the cottage on our arrival. The cottage is clearly well maintained and in excellent condition throughout. Downstairs is a sitting/ dining room and kitchen with views of over the cottage's private garden at the front and a shared courtyard at the rear. Upstairs there is a spacious bedroom with a very large and comfortable double bed and en-suite bathroom.

Our visit was in early August and the gardens were splendid, planted in an English cottage style and clearly well cared for. John and Anne have about 11 acres of land and the gardens transition into grassland leading down to a splendid lake which is flanked on either side by mature deciduous woods. Wildlife abounds and each night at dusk we were treated to close views of the nesting Barn Owls while during the day House Martins and Swallows darted past the windows, also busy with late summer nesting.

Beside the lake is a small summerhouse and there is a rowing boat which guest can use, we went out on the lake on most evenings and and fed the Carp and (we think) Roach that flock around the landing stage.

The best testimony is that we already plan to visit again. We highly recommend Ostler's Cottage or any of John and Anne's other cottages.

Martin and Jo

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thanks so much for an excellent review. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thanks, Rory. Really pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Thanks, Janai. We must be doing something right! Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raymond H
1 review
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was lovely bright and very clean and had all the kit for a great stay from home. The bed was soft and cosy. The lake was very quite and great to walk around for some me time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thanks for the nice review, Ray. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PnPV
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Idylic rural retreat.”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A week in this delightful hideaway just wasn't long enough! Its very well equipped, has an enormous and comfortable bed, a secluded courtyard garden and a lake for sailing my model boats with a skiff to recover them from the reeds! The friendly and helpful owners live next door but do not intrude on your privacy.
The location, midway between the north coast and Dartmoor, is convenient (20-25 mins to reach either) and Halwill Junction has a useful general store. There is a long and bumpy drive to reach the property but that only serves to create the seclusion, The silence is golden. There are several local walks within short drives of the cottage.
The only duty you will have during your stay is to close the garden gate in the evenings to stop the Deer eating the flowers! So we shall certainly be back, but for 2 weeks next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thanks, Peter. Sounds like we did everything right for you. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz e
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A naturally beautiful holiday base”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was a perfect location from which to visit several coastal spots & other inland places of interest, including some spectacular walks. It was the loveliest place to come back to and relax in, walk round the lake, have a stroll in the woods or just sit and read in the lovely courtyard garden. The quality of everything in the cottage was exceptional. The super kingsize bed was sooooooo comfortable. The owners are accessible, friendly and clearly committed to providing a memorable stay for the guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location & quality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous comments. We do our best to ensure your stay is everything you would wish it to be. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing