We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A naturally beautiful holiday base”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ostler's Cottage

Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax. The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax.
The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
The very comfortable lounge area looks out through the French doors onto the patio.
Fresh flowers and plants are always provided.
There's a selection of interesting and varied books to browse.
Looking out through the French doors to your private patio basking in the afternoon sun.
The elegant bedroom with king-sized bed has east-facing windows to catch the morning sun.
Your smart en-suite has underfloor heating, a bidet and a large modern shower.
This is your private parking space just beyond the patio and surrounded by flower beds.
The summer house by the lake. Described by a guest as 'a magical place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house for a meal by the lake, or to relax and read a book.
The seat by the lake. A wonderfully peaceful place to read a book or newspaper.
A woodland path wends its way around the lake, here seen in the winter sun.
In one corner of the lake there's a hide. If you're lucky, you might see a kingfisher.
A network of woodland paths twist and turn through of trees around the 18 acres.
The woodland path winds along the stream. Keep quiet and you might see deer in the shady glades.
You're welcome to walk round the huge gardens with far-reaching vistas and drifts of plants.
In the meadow, wild orchids appear every year; but you'll need to hunt them out.
Wildlife abounds. A peacock butterfly alights on a flower to drink the nectar.
In autumn, a majestic white stag stands in a field which forms part of the 18 acres.
Ostler's Cottage is very warm, modern and efficient—with 'Band A' energy performance.
Kerry and John, 2 of our guests, were married locally and used our garden for their photos.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where you'll find Ostler's Cottage. Parking is straight ahead.
The frontage of Ostler's cottage looks out onto a delightful courtyard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
liz e
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A naturally beautiful holiday base”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was a perfect location from which to visit several coastal spots & other inland places of interest, including some spectacular walks. It was the loveliest place to come back to and relax in, walk round the lake, have a stroll in the woods or just sit and read in the lovely courtyard garden. The quality of everything in the cottage was exceptional. The super kingsize bed was sooooooo comfortable. The owners are accessible, friendly and clearly committed to providing a memorable stay for the guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location & quality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous comments. We do our best to ensure your stay is everything you would wish it to be. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Accommodation everything we wanted for a quiet peaceful holiday in an idyllic location gardens and grounds were excellent.

Good welcome with everything explained accommodation was spotless with all equipment one could wish for

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Thanks, Ian. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmy13
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect country hideaway”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself, husband and 14 month old son have just arrived home from our first family holiday and thanks to Ann and John it was perfect. The cottage is situated off the beaten track and provides the perfect get away from the busier parts of Devon, but was a perfect base to explore the area.
The cottage itself was beautiful and it had every amenity we needed, even toys and cutlery for our son. Fresh flowers and lovely cake was an added bonus!
The lake was perfect and my husband enjoyed the rowing boat available.
John and Ann have created a perfect cottage and one we would love to come back to.
Thank you for a lovely week.
Jemma and Garry

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
Thanks very much, Jemma and Garry. We hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serenity”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Had a wonderful Christmas break. John and Anne made us very welcome with home made mince pies, flowers, chocolates and even a decorated Christmas tree. The cottage is extremely clean and well laid out. The kitchen has most things you need. We were able to easily cook a full Christmas dinner with no problems, particularly as there's a double oven.
T he cottage is perfect if your looking to escape the rat race for a week. We were so comfortable in the cottage we seldom went out. John and Anne are the perfect hosts, not intrusive but very attentive if needed. If peace and quite is what your after but still have easy access to the surrounding countryside this is for you. Had hoped to return in the summer, but my wife is getting homesick for Jamaica so unfortunately it won't be until 2015.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2014
Really chuffed you enjoyed yourselves, Jim. We aim to please.
Have a good time in Jamaica; I hear it's hotter there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbbolz
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - if quiet and off the beaten track is your thing you can't go wrong”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Met by the owners who showed us around the cottage and made us feel very welcome. Cake was a very nice touch. The accomodation was absolutely pristine - couldn't fault it. The cottage itself is off the beaten track and very quiet and peaceful but is in a great location to explore the North Devon and Cornwall coasts. We both loved it and would thoroughly recommend for a couple looking for peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings. Many thanks Ann and John for a great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect accomodation and facilities, location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2013
Thanks very much for such a positive review. It's reassuring to know our effort is so appreciated. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSa...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beutifull little retreat for a fantastic getaway”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We arrived at the cottage to be welcomed by John & Anne who explained all we needed to know. As we had taken our bikes John recommended a route nearby and gave us a map to use. The cottage was everything we was hoping for being a nice size for two people. It even had a super king size bed which was a bonus. We was able to self-cater quite easily here although we did eat out too. The gardens and lake area was also a real bonus which is beautiful.
We was able to visit the north and south coast quite easily from this location with lots of things to see and do. We would defiantly like to return even for a longer break next time. Thank you John & Anne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Thanks for an excellent review and we hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Access road a little bumpy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2013
Thanks for your review, Mike and Pam. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you back again soon. We saw the barn owl last night -- sorry you missed it. Then again, you saw a nightjar, which is more than we did!

Best wishes, Anne and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing