We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Hole Station”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaworthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hole Station Adults only Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return to Hole Station”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We returned to hole station for the 2nd year running, it was everything it was last year....perfect. The weather didnt matter as we prepared ourselves. Although you are out in the middle of the woods you still have all the luxuries you need, a hot shower! and a fire. This year we stayed on The Blair Witch Pitch 23!! which was spooky in the night I admit but if you want to be totally cut off its the ideal plot, heres to 2014 :))

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arrival to hole station campsite we were greeted by Lucy, the very cute scruffy jack russell cross pup, shortly followed by Greg one of the campsite owners. We went for the "rent a tent" option all we needed to bring for our stay was bedding and food. Everything that we could have needed was catered for. We stayed in plot 16 which has an excellent wooden kitchen/shelter next to the campfire spot, complete with cutlery, crockery, water and a gas stove.
We had a really wonderful stay, and felt a bit like big kids on an adventure as we sat around the campfire at night. The toilet facilities were also clean and well maintained, although it was my first experience of an Eco-loo and was slightly unnerving. Also there are 2 big shower cubicle with hot electric showers (very welcome after a night in a tent)
All in all a great weekend.
Big thank you to Liz and Greg :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geektanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Brilliant site and we had a great time there. Wonderful natural woodland - 3 robins used to regularly visit us at breakfast. Awesome to be camping somewhere where you are out amongst nature and able to have a cosy fire in the evenings under the stars. The fact that all waste is recycled (unless it really can't be) and that the site is very eco friendly with compost loo, was also a deciding factor for us when chosing to go here. I am not surprised the reviews speak so highly of this campsite. Thank you Greg for the opportunity to experience camping like this. Lucy (the dog) was also a champion for showing us around when we arrived to choose our pitch. We can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a head torch :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyChickSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at Hole Station on Monday afternoon, to be greeted by Greg and Lucy the 9 month old puppy. Both were very friendly and welcoming. Greg showed us the lay out of the site and Lucy took us on a tour while we decided where we wanted to set up camp.
Based in the wooded area, it is well shaded and secluded, some pitches more than others. We chose peg 23, which was right in the middle of the woodland and away from the track that led to the other pitches. Each camp site has a kitchen area, with a bench and campfire ready and waiting to be used. You can buy the logs from Greg as foraging for logs is not allowed.
There is the eco loos and showers in a block not too far away from the pitches, but take a torch if you need to go in the middle of the night. Hot showers at no extra charge which is always good. However anyone wanting to dry and straighten their hair, there is no electric hook ups, this is proper camping. So like me you will have to naturally dry your hair by the campfire. :)
There is also a freezer to house all your ice blocks and a recycling area which is great, everything is recycled as much as it can be.
Greg has a good knowledge of the area and some lovely walks you can go on. He also has the 3 pub walk, we didn't manage this due to the weather but did take a drive to The Torridge Inn for tea and that was fab. And finally Greg does hire out bikes as well if you so wish.
Whilst here you can meet the horses, goats and chickens Greg has at Hole Station as well as little Lucy. You can sit back and relax and enjoy the sound of nature throughout, you don't really need to leave the site.
Although we had a lot of rain whilst there, we enjoyed every minute of it and were sad to leave. We will definitely be back next year we love it! Very much recommend giving it a go!!!
Ps watch out for the Squirrel stealing food! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steff1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at Hole Station. Such a perfectly peaceful place. We stayed in the rent a tent and it was amazing...everything we could have wanted was there for us. Thank you so much to Greg and Liz for creating such a wonderful campsite and being so welcoming. Greg's advice on walking and bike riding was much appreciated. Loved being able to have a camp fire every night. A places I would recommend to everyone but want to keep it a secret all to myself!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This campsite is simply wonderful! There are about two dozen pitches all spread through woodland, we had pitch 17. All pitches have a shelter and a fire wheel for camp fires :-)

It is adult only so no noise from kiddies, the only noises we heard were others talking and laughing, owls hooting and the odd camper snoring! We loved it. You can get fresh eggs, bacon, sausages, milk and butter on site, (ice cream too!) and they have a lovely little puppy who is very welcoming along with her human family.

Hot showers and compost loos are the main facilities, you can also rent bikes and there are plenty of trails nearby for walks. Bude is about half an hour away and not far from there is Sandymouth Bay which was just beautiful!

We slept really well and will return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've just returned from a week long stay here & am thoroughly impressed. The weekends are busier & the weekdays much quieter. It's a lovely relaxed atmosphere in a stunning setting, which is perfect to chill out. We spent almost every day at our pitch rather than going out & about.
Despite the no radios rule & quiet after 11pm, there was a large party that broke both these on the first night but we spoke to Greg (owner) who said he won't be taking bookings larger than 6 again & that if he knew they had a radio he'd have chucked them out! Luckily that party left the next day so life returned to peaceful solitude.
The showers are ace & always spotless, as are the sinks & toilet areas. Eco-friendly loos take some getting used to but really aren't an issue. We went for some little walks around the campsite as well as feeding & grooming the goats. Lucy the dog is adorable & sat at our pitch with us quite a lot. We really loved the style of writing on all the signs- very funny!
We were at pitch 19 which is the furthest away from the toilet block (we think) so were absolutely exhausted after our 6.5 hour drive then having to put up the tent etc. Also a pain when needing a wee in the middle of the night! Greg offers Rent-A-Tent camping which may tempt us on our next trip, where the tent, air bed & other bits are provided. Check out the website for full details.
We will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerberaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hole Station Adults only Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hole Station Adults only Campsite

Property: Hole Station Adults only Campsite
Address: Highampton, Beaworthy EX21 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beaworthy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Beaworthy
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hole Station Adults only Campsite is a tent campsite situated in very rural West Devon, midway between Dartmoor and the beaches of North Cornwall and North Devon. The campsite is completely secluded and not overlooked, set in an idyllic 45 acres of wild flower meadow and woodlands and approached via a private lane - take a look in the Photo Gallery, a picture paints a thousand words. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing