We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All to my Liking”
Review of Casa Alvarada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Alvarada
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Comala
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All to my Liking”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Casa Alvarado is a perfect spot to stay in the charming pueblo of Comala.
A mere few hours from my home base in Mexico, I found the location to be convenient to the main square of town but not too noisy. The proprietor is helpful, pleasant and courteous. I enjoyed to common courtyard as it was secluded and took many pictures of the whimsical scenes therein. Breakfast which is included was delightfully fresh and tasty. The dining- living area is full of light, comfort and interesting folk art. Our room was just right-lovely sheets, pillows and mattresses; great prints on the walls; bathroom is clean and well supplied with lots of towels, soap, shampoo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annyfanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrasse Vaudreuil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

After the beaches it's perfect to go up to Comala, explore the area, see the twin volcanoes , and especially enjoy the warm hospitality at Casa Alvarada. This home gives you the privacy and the comfort you need to relax in this picturesque area plus all the options for taking advantage of the knowledge and experience of the owners in selecting touring options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fancy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2011

First of all, it is in Comala, just few blocks away from the downtown, nice place to visit. The house owner provided everything we needed, The garden is beautiful, it derserves to take some pictures there. The owner will make you feel like youre in home but in mexican art and warm place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jae_hoon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We loved our stay at the Casa Alvarada B&B. We had a private room with a lovely patio as well as off street parking. An excellent breakfast was served each morning with a different main dish every day. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComalaHostessMara, Owner at Casa Alvarada, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We truly enjoy having you home, will be waiitng to have you back next year. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Casa Alvarada B&B. We were well looked after by our very friendly hosts, Mara and Jupiter, who prepared delightful Mexican breakfasts each day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpmanning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforest, northern bc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were very fortunate to be put in touch with Jupiter and his wife of the Casa Alvarada recently. Jupiter runs a tour company (Admiremexico.com) that has many tours. He is a man with a solid knowledge of his region and a warm personality to add to the tours. He and his wife run the B & B and the two of them add so much to your stay. Breakfast in their private dining room is an experience to delight in. They have a wonderful collection of folk art from all around Mexico but the art of the artist Hildago holds a special place in their home. If you have the time to venture to this part of Mexico you would be missing something if you did not take a tour and stay in the family B & B of this family. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Mr. Jupiter Rivera was a wonderful host for my quick trip to Manzanillo and Colima. He met me at the Manzanillo airport and drove me to his B&B. Along the way he provided a lot of educational and colorful commentary of the local life. His B&B was comfortable, clean, and only 2 blocks from the town square of Comala, with its beautiful church, shops and restaurants.

Jupiter drove me to the Nevado de Colima (snow mountain) and guided me to the top with the utmost of care and concern for my safety. This is a wonderful hike with great views of the area. Again, I received great conversation and description of the economic and social history of the area. Very fascinating.

The breakfasts included fresh Colima coffee, fruit, bread and juice. The rooms were clean and confortable. The private courtyard in his B&B was a nice place to relax, while catching up on wireless internet email and news from home.

I would gladly stay here again. Dave from Alaska

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidalanhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comala
9.2 mi away
Hacienda de San Antonio
6.3 mi away
Mision Colima
Mision Colima
#2 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Danna
Hotel Casa Danna
#5 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ceballos
6.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Colima
Fiesta Inn Colima
#1 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Jorge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alvarada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alvarada

Property: Casa Alvarada
Address: Calle Alvaro Obregon # 105 | Colonia Centro, Comala, Comala 28450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Comala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Comala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Alvarada 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alvarada is a great sport to start a magical travel to the Culture and Gastronomy of Comala. All the rooms are decorated with influences of local artista. All of them features private bathroom and A.C plues other amenities. Our mexican style 3 course breakfasts include local ingredients such as the organic coffee grown in the region. Come and enjoy our facilities that include open space to relax and be in touch with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Alvarada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Alvarada Comala, Colima, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing