We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Alvarada
Nearby Hotels
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Casa Blanca(Comala)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Posada Comala(Comala)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$697
$676
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel BRIUM(Colima)
$31
Orbitz.com
View Deal
$136
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
109
37
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
37
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfasta lovely staythe main housetour companywonderful hostslonger staywould definitely stay here againspent nightsfresh fruiteach morningcustomer satisfactionair conditioningcoffee makerhanging bedadmire mexico tourssecure parkingrelaxing courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 153 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Alvarada in September of 2009 (I'm a bit behind on reviews, sorry). We decided to stay in Comala to see the smaller village side of Mexico and we weren't disappointed. Jupiter and Mara were very gracious hosts. There were a few guests staying when we were there and it was great interacting with everyone during breakfast.

I did a tour with Jupiter that included a hike and a tour of a local coffee farm. We also did some driving around as well. Jupiter is exceptionally knowledgeable about the area and rightfully proud of the area as well. His English was outstanding (thank goodness, my Spanish stinks!).

Their recommendations for what to see and where to eat were spot on. I would highly recommend this place, great value and a truly wonderful little pueblo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComalaHostessMara, Manager at Casa Alvarada, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thanks so much for your review, when our guest write about us like this, we have an smile in our face for a long time.
We share this with all the staff an allow us to keep the effort, we will wait for a comeback.
Saludos desde Comala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Jupiter Rivera is a gentleman, outdoor enthusiast and now I consider him a friend.
He and his wife have a stunning bed and breakfast and he runs amazing bicycle / kayak / educational hacienda tours

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excellent place. Stating anything would be just repeating what other people say. We will come back, highly recomended.

Room Tip: Book tours with Jupiter during your stay, you will be glad you did.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have learned that good service and quality rooms take hard work and a lot of care. After a 3 night stay at Casa Alvarada, I can say that the owners/mangers must be very hard workers indeed! The attention to detail is amazing and they have turned hospitality into a science. We left feeling satisfied and very happy!
Beyond that, I would give the highest marks in every area. The rooms felt homey and clean. Jupiter (the owner) was a local expert about everything in the area. The meals were tasty and a delight. We left this place feeling richer for learning about Comala and fortunate for staying choosing Casa Alvarda!

Room Tip: Get the suite!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cush_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had read numerous reviews that were very complimentary and that set our expectations. When we booked a room and paid a deposit we were told that there would be a kitchenette however when we got there that room was no longer available!
The room we got was quite large but with a really small TV on the far side of the room. While we didn't go there to watch TV it was nice to have for later in the day since the town was really quiet after ~ 8.00pm.
One thing we were looking forward to at this B&B was the 3 course breakfast since this was featured on their website. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs and this breakfast was disappointing when compared to others. The 1st course of fresh fruit was nice but the juice was from a can of highly sweetened something but certainly not from fresh fruit. 2nd course was some sweet breads and 3rd course was a small serving of egg (single?) scrambled with minced chorizo and a tortilla, the same for each of 3 days.
Aside from the B&B it was fun to walk to the local plaza and sample the tapas bars - they keep serving until you say no mas - all for the price of a drink. They do close up at 6.00pm though. The ex-Hacienda Nogueras Cultural Center is well worth visiting as is the volcano if the weather is clear. We couldn't see it due to the heavy cloud cover.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComalaHostessMara, Owner at Casa Alvarada, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We defenitly will take care of your comments making sure the situations about the breakfast will not happen again. Theanks so much for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews