We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in a double room (room 502) at Kassandra Bay Hotel for our honeymoon having booked with Olympic.

We were very happy with the room - a little basic (no pictures on the walls and quite bare) but had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable, the air con worked fine and the bathroom was modern enough. We received a bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit on arrival as we let them know it was our honeymoon. There was a large choice for breakfast, catering for most tastes and nationalities.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. They booked us a hire car (Suzuki Jimny) which was delivered and collected from the hotel, so that we could drive around the island and take in Castro, Moni Evangelistrias and Mandraki beach. This cost €70 + petrol for the day and was well worth it - 1st and 2nd gears and 4WD will be your best friends for this!

The hotel was in a great location - a quiet beach with ample sun loungers and parasols and close enough to Skiathos Town to go in most nights. Most of the time we got the bus (every 15 mins) which cost £1.60 each each way and was very reliable, where we would get off at bus stop 4 for a nice wander through the residential streets. A taxi to and from Skiathos Town cost £5, the water taxi £2.50 each (though this was noisy and the journey back from Town is quicker than the journey to Town).

We didn't eat in the main restaurant on an evening as the menu was more European cuisine rather than Greek. However, we ate at the taverna next door twice which was lovely - great food, lovely waiters and better value for money.

Other restaurants we particularly enjoyed include 1901 (relaxed atmosphere and waiters and great food), Taverna Alexandros (eating under a tree with festoon lighting and local Greek music), Le Bistrot (excellent fresh fish) and Plakes Taverna (great for lunch after a dip off Plakes - lovely Sardela and salads) in Skiathos Town.

The local Vasilias beach was lovely with clear water but gritty sand. Our favourite beach was Koukounaries (golden sand, and crystal clear water). Banana beach was also lovely (probably the clearest water we experienced) but the beach bars constantly played music which got progressively louder throughout the day (we left at 3.15 as we were fed up of the bass). Mandraki beach on the north was also lovely (it's a long walk but we went after a day in the car) and it was much needed and very quiet.

All in all we had a great stay and would definitely recommend Skiathos and Kassandra Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieKingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    239
    73
    16
    5
See reviews for
305
447
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We returned to Kassandra Bay this year and were delighted as usual. Everything for us was perfect. Our welcome by the reception staff was fab. They genuinely remembered us from last year. The staff were all very helpful, especially Liana and other reception staff. We had a beautiful Family Room with Sea View. It was well cleaned every day. Breakfast was really good and plenty of choice. We book B & B as we like to eat out in various restaurants around Skiathos. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Kassandra Bay and it gave us everything we required for a relaxing week in the sun. The three sisters.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSIE_QStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just returned from a very nice weeks stay at Kassandra Bay. The hotel itself is very well situated with it's own beach and two very good pools. Unless you wanted to pay 10 euros for a salad, 2.50 euros for water at lunch time, you had to walk quite a way or get a taxi to the nearest supermarket. Everything was very clean but the rooms were pretty basic for this standard of hotel. The fact that we were expected to put used toilet paper in a bin at the side of the toilet seems primitive in this day and age! These signs were not in all the bathrooms according to other people staying on the first floor as we were. All in all a very good hotel with excellent staff but would have more people using the restaurants through the day and evening if the prices were more reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossendalelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Rossendalelass,
Thank you for taking time to post your comment to trip advisor. We would like to inform you that the island does not have a sewage system to cover all areas, only the main town has a sewage system and therefore all hotels need to adopt their own policy and procedures. Based on the hotel’s environmental policy we have developed a biological cleaning system where all waste from bathrooms is gathered in tanks, elaborated with specific procedures based on hygiene standards and then this elaborated water is used to water specific garden areas. Throwing paper in the toilet would damage the biological cleaning system. Now referring to what other guests said maybe one of this signs was misplaced or had dropped in one of the bathrooms but we reassure you that this policy is adapted to all rooms in the hotel.
So correctly set this is not primitive, this means caring for the environment, adjusting to the given situation as the island does not have a sewage system and taking action based on the above. Our hotel has been awarded with the Goldlife travel award and with the EMAS ecolabel both awarding us for our environmental sensitivity.
Regarding our pricing policy reply has been given in previous comments. Nevertheless, we would like to reassure you that all remarks made are taken into account by management.
We would be happy to welcome you again at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the first week of July. I booked with Olympic through my travel agent after reading excellent reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor.
When I booked a sea view room on a bed & breakfast basis, I was asked if I wanted low, medium or high room. I was not sure what to ask for, so sent an email to the hotel for their advice. I also asked for more information about half board, as I had the option of adding this to our booking.

I received a lovely and helpful reply from Efi, who offered me one of the rooms in the new wing which was due to open shortly before our arrival. She explained that half board dinner would be a 3 course meal with some choices of each course in the hotel's Almyra restaurant. We decided not to book HB as we wanted to try some restaurants in Skiathos as well.
After reading recommendations on the TA Skiathos forum I decided to book the balcony table at The Windmill restaurant, and also a front terrace table at Taverna Selini, well in advance. I had some difficulty in contacting The Windmill, so Efi very kindly booked this for me. Excellent customer service before we had even arrived!

Our outgoing flight was with First Choice, which did not include a meal, which surprised us. On arrival at Skiathos we picked up a town map in the airport, although they also have these at hotel reception. We were met by the Olympic rep, escorted to a waiting Mercedes taxi, and were at the Kassandra Bay in about 10 minutes.

Reception staff were very welcoming, and we were shown to our room in the new wing by Evangelia. We were in room 419 on the top floor, with lovely views of the pools, sea and small islands. The room was very modern, with white minimalist decor. Very large bed with white bedlinen and 4 pillows. Full length mirror, desk and chair with large flat screen TV on the wall above, bedside units. Under the desk was a small fridge/ minibar which was well stocked. Amazing pendulum lights hanging from the ceiling either side of the bed. The room was very spacious, with floor tiles and curtains in neutral colours, and air conditioning control.
Sliding door onto a large balcony with comfortable wooden chairs with seat cushions and a circular table. Also a clothes drier fixed to the wall which was handy.
The bathroom was on the right as you entered, and a good size. Again, very white and modern. Large mirror over a huge rectangular sink, with hand, bath and beach towels below. Hairdryer, toiletries, large bath with shower screen, and an amazing shower with optional jacuzzi jets. Small window. There was also a telephone on the wall beside the hairdryer.
Opposite the bathroom was a large wardrobe with drawers and sliding doors, and a safe. Plenty of clothes hangers for two people.
We were very impressed and happy with our room. There is a lift in the new wing. Rooms on the ground floor have small private pools and terraces, but will not have the lovely views that the higher floors have.
The new wing is built at a 90 deg angle to the main hotel building and the older rooms behind, which are built in three terraces going up the hillside. Lower terrace rooms will not have sea views.
-------------------------------------------------
The hotel has two lovely clean pools, with wooden decking surround. This can get very hot, and I needed to wear flip flops to walk on it at times. The smaller pool has a kids pool attached, and separated by clear screening.. The kids pool has a mushroom type fountain. The water in both pools is a little salty, but were a lovely temperature for swimming. Diving is not permitted. Plenty of sunbeds with comfortable cushions, and no rushing to reserve them in the mornings! The pools were not at all crowded when we were there. We used the larger pool, which has wide steps into the water at one end, as well as ladders.

Inbetween the two pools is the Pelagos Bar, with covered seating area for drinks and lunch, and has a lovely view of the beach and sea at the far end. We had lunch here on two days, with good food and friendly waiting staff. There is a varied selection on the menu - Club sandwiches € 10
Filled baguettes € 6 - € 7.50
Flled pitta bread € 6
Toasted sandwiches € 4
Hamburger/ cheeseburger/ fries/ salad € 12
Greek salad € 8.50
Chefs salad € 9
Caesar salad € 10
Cheeses and cold cuts € 14
Desserts € 6 - € 8.
----------------------------------------
Between the larger pool and the beach is the Almyra restaurant covered outdoor dining area for lunch, which also has lovely views. There is a large menu selection of hot and cold dishes, and also Chef's Specials and fresh fish. This restaurant is open from around 12pm to I think 5pm.
The main Almyra restaurant for dinner is also close to both pools, and seating is arranged in an L shape. We ate here on our first two evenings, and were both very surprised by the large portions. After a starter and main, we had no room for dessert. We both enjoyed our meals, although a little on the pricey side compared to some other restaurants in town.
The waiting staff were friendly and efficient, and the whole hotel was impeccably clean. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel would be to screen off the kitchens from diners. Our tables had nice views across the smaller pool towards the sea, but I would not like to sit close to the open view kitchen under the brighter electric light there.
---------------------------------------
Breakfast is taken inside the main hotel building, in a large airy restaurant with pale green decor and windows facing the larger pool. There are also extra tables up some steps by the hotel bar, nearer reception.
The breakfast buffet is amazing, with extensive food choices, including fried eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, hot quiche, bean dishes, fried potatoes, large selection of different croissants and cookies, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, melon, plain yoghurt or with fruit, cold fruit jelly, and a chef cooking crepes. Tea/ coffee/ juice/ hot chocolate etc is self service from machines.
I just wish I was hungry enough in the mornings to do justice to it all!
You can also order room service for breakfast.
----------------------------------------
The reception and lounge area is also cool and spacious, tastefully decorated with modern but comfortable furniture. There are computers for guest use. I was given a code for the internet to use in our room, but for some reason could not access it.
We met our Olympic rep, Helen, here on our first morning, and booked two boat trip day excursions. One was the Super Trouper Mamma Mia Cruise to Skopelos which was excellent and great fun, and the other was the Aegean Blue cruise to Skopelos and Alonissos. Both included time for relaxing and swimming. They cost € 46 and € 35, and included coach transport to the harbour in town. Highly recommend. Helen was very pleasant and helpful, even though we were late meeting her as we had only put our watches one hour ahead instead of two!
------------------------------------------
The hotel has two private beaches, accessed by slope or steps from the pool area. Free sunbeds and umbrellas, with a bell for bar service. The sand is quite dark and gritty, but the sea was lovely and clear, if a little chilly for me to swim for long. ( I am a bit of a wuss.) There are more sunbeds and umbrellas on a grassy area above the beach.
To the right is another taverna which I think is called Taverna Ta Nissia, which has outdoor and indoor seating. I also saw some people offering a massage on the beach.
A little further along the left hand beach is the watersports centre, with pedaloes, banana boats, tyres, windsurfing, and waterskiing lessons. You can also hire your own boat from here, a day in advance. We did this, and it was great fun. It cost € 70 for the day, plus petrol used, which was another € 30. They give you a map showing areas to avoid due to rocks etc, and give you a short lesson on driving the boat, which had a small sun canopy. We went as far as Koukonaries, stopping at Vromolimnos on the way for a swim and lunch - lovely beach with golden sand - then stopped at Tsougria island on the way back which is opposite the Kassandra Bay.
-------------------------------------------------
The hotel has a kids playroom and games room near the larger pool, underneath the hotel accessed by several steps. There are also toilets here. The room is open all day, sometimes supervised. It has a play area with ball pond, some Little Tikes type plastic play equipment, tabel tennis table, football table, and an easel and blackboard for drawing. There are no kids clubs at this hotel.

Our flight home was not until late afternoon, and reception offered me a shower room with towels and toiletries to use before leaving. You have to book this, but there is no charge.

The Kassandra Bay bus stop is number 8 along the bus route, which begins at Skiathos town, and ends at Koukonaries which is number 26. The bus to town from the hotel cost € 1.60 and takes about 10 mins.
You can also use the water taxi boat to and from town which stops at the hotel beach and costs € 2.50. We used this to return one night, but usually used a taxi which reception called for us. This cost around € 8 and drops you at the New Port in Skiathos town. To return, you just take a taxi from the rank there. They are usually new grey Mercedes.

The very friendly and helpful reception staff also booked some other restaurants for us, which were recommended by other guests. Many thanks to Efi, Evangelia, Magna, Liana, Ioanna, Konstantina and Giannis for all your help during our holiday. I was so sad to leave, and wished that we had two weeks there.
I really cannot fault this hotel, and highly recommend it. We certainly hope to return one day as we had such a wonderful and restful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Figgygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Figgygirl,
thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed comment on trip advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday overall and we sincerely hope to welcome you again at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a superior double room on the top floor (Room 418) and couldn't have been more pleased! It was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable with easy to control air conditioning, high quality fixtures and fittings and a superb sea view. High quality amenities were evident throughout the hotel and all staff, in our experience, matched this high quality, being very helpful and polite at all times.

There were sun beds in abundance which made for a very relaxing daily routine - it didn't matter what time we arrived for a snooze in the sun, we were able to find two adjacent sun beds and a parasol. The beach usually filled up first but there were still two pool areas to choose from. This was a significant positive for us - we hate the prospect of rising at the crack of dawn to book sun beds with towels!

The regular water taxi service between the hotel and Skiathos is a lovely way to see the sights - as a couple we used this service daily (5 Euros for the two of us each way). We took a taxi once and it cost us 7 Euros one way.

Food - breakfast was buffet style and very substantial. It catered for all tastes and was sufficient to set you up for the day! Bar meals were very tasty (particularly the burgers!) if a touch expensive, in the region of 10 Euros a burger! The restaurant food was disappointing - expensive and average. I was certainly glad that we had not paid full board - there are so many restaurants in Skiathos offering better quality food for less. We were able to take the water taxi and eat well in Skiathos town for less than the cost of a very average meal in the hotel restaurant.

This said, we'd certainly consider a return to the Kassandra Bay, for the overall experience was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 418, top floor, sea view, overlooking pools, extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saddwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Saddwd,
thank you very much for the review you have posted on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Kassandra Bay Hotel.
We certainly hope that you will have the chance to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice hotel but not a five star. It is like a four star hotel. There was a problem with drainage and they have to check it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Demec,
thank you for taking time to wirte your comment on trip advisor. We would like to inform you that the hotel does not have a drainage system. It has biological cleaning system that is 500m away from the hotel's facilities. Analysis of treated water is being made twice per month with excellent results.
Further to that, we would be very happy if you could send us any further comments about your holiday exeperience at the hotel directly to info@kassandrabay.com Guests' opinion are always valued and postively considered.
We would be happy to welcome again at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks, with three children - we had 2 interconnecting rooms in the new block. The rooms were ideal, clean, stunning balcony views, nice bathrooms (although the pressure in one shower was very poor - so we all used other room!). The pools were smaller than we had expected and filled with salt water, which stung the kids eyes and bleached white trunks yellow :(
As a previous reviewer wrote, 10euros for a very average cocktail was disappointing.
Nice to have beach access (although there are much nicer beaches on the other side of the island) and not always possible to get a hotel sunbed - so had to pay 8euros to hire 2 beds and a parasol.
We only ate here a couple of times, with disappointment. Some meals were great, others were cold, rissotto under cooked. One order 'got lost'. We felt the service was quite slow and not terribly friendly. Found lots of better places to eat in Skiathos town.

Kassandra Bay provided a great base from which to explore the island overall and we had a really nice 2 weeks. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Schofamily,
Thank you for taking time to post such a detailed review on trip advisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday in overall at the Kassandra Bay Hotel.
We regret you not having said anything about the pressure in one showers as our maintenance team could have fixed this minor default. Salt water is being used due to the fact that there is no network of water supply in the island, only in the town of Skiathos. The hotel has to find its own resources for water only by drillings. As the hotel is on the beach and very near to the sea, the water found from drillings still retains its salty texture. Our environmental policy is based upon water shortages and this is why we keep the towels’ change to the discretionary will of each client.
The pricing policy of the hotel in the food and beverage departments is reviewed yearly and is set in accordance to the overall environment of the hotel and cost of purchase for liquor and other raw material.
August is the busiest month of the season, subsequently the hotel is full and unfortunately the length and width of our beach does not allow us to put so many sun beds as the total number of rooms. But overall we do not normally face problems with the sun beds as we have put a few more on the grass just above the beach.
Regarding your comments about food and beverage if you felt that one or some dishes were not to your satisfaction you could have made your remarks on the spot so that our maitre and the staff could help resolve any issues. Nevertheless, we reassure you that the management is taking your comments into account and that the guests’ comments are the driving force for improvement.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you and your family again to the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilias
3.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,019 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 84 in Skiathos
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA

Property: Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Address: Vasilias, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in Skiathos, Sporades islands in Greece. Overlooking the beach of Vasilias, Kassandra Bay is situated among olive and pine trees that add to the scenery a relaxing aroma. Recently renovated, the hotel is lavishly decorated with bright colours, whilst the rooms offer amenities that help embody the feeling of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Skiathos
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA Skiathos/Vasilias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing