We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
N Wales
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The view is probably among the best in Skiathos but it comes at a price as the Hotel is quite remote. It's a 25 min hike up from bus stop 9 (and we are reasonably fit) and you can walk down into Skiathos town (need good shoes) in about 40 mins. The hotel runs a limited mini bus service which could be improved if it were more frequent (possibly it is in summer not sure) and a taxi will cost about €10. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast adequate and the place immaculate throughout. We were only B&b but we heard some guests on half board complaining about the evening meal. The one evening we ate there was certainly uninspiring. So would highly recommend as a B&B base, consider car hire if you need to be up and down to the Hotel a lot.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    123
    68
    49
    66
See reviews for
57
429
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Kivo when our holiday was extended due to my husband having to have his appendix removed.
Our insurance company could not get us booked into our original hotel but booked us into the Kivo. It was the perfect place to recover from an operation!
The staff were very welcoming, a huge thank you to Alex for looking after us so well.
The views from our room and from the poolside were amazing and even if you don't stay here make a visit to the Seaview restaurant to experience the food and the views.
The room was lovely and comfortable and very clean and transport is available to the beach and the town which was invaluable as the hotel is situated on top of a hill!
It was an unexpected stay for us but one we won't forget and would recommend the Kivo to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked Kivo hotel as a last minute deal,we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in an elevated position approximately a mile from the main road into Skiathos and in total is roughly a ten minute (max) drive into the town.This small inconvenience is little to pay for the stunning views from Kivo, there will not be many more properties on the island with views to surpass this hotel.We had a car as part of the holiday deal and really we would recommend car hire as there is no public transport until reaching the main road, although the hotel does have a courtesy vehicle which runs into the town three or four times a day. Taxis from town cost around 10.euros from the taxi rank by the port, beware if you ring for a taxi they will charge four or five euros extra.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly and always happy to engage in conversation with one exception 'the guy with the glasses' although very polite was a man of very few words.
Alex on reception is a gem, she will help with information on anything that is Skiathos.
The rooms were clean but basic (typical Greece), the bar,restaurant and pool area were well appointed and kept meticulously clean and tidy.
I endorse the views of other reviewers in that the main product of this hotel is the stunning views from most rooms, bar, pool and restaurant.
We didn't have an evening meal as we like to go into the town where there are many good tavernas and the atmosphere is complimentary to a typical Greek town.We thought the breakfast was adequate but not as highly rated as everything else about Kivo.
We enjoyed our stay here and would return or recommend to other travellers. Having visited Skiathos on six occasions it does in our opinion tick all the boxes and Kivo is high on our list of accomodation.
Paul & Sue East Yorkshire.

Room Tip: High Floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rowantree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at Kivo hotel in September . Everything was really nice . What a view!!!!!! I believe this must be the main product of the hotel . The staff , perfect , friendly and professionals . The decoration unique and the room clean with perfect views ( ask for room 223 which i had , it is an art room ) .We also tried the restaurant which was something different from the common greek restaurant . i would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody that search relaxation and chilling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john_12892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiathos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent a week at Kivo Hotel in August 2012, a tip from a friend who had experienced it. I must confess it was a memorable experience. From meticulous room design and comfort, friendly and quite helpful staff, amazing food at the breathtaking SEAVIEW Restaurant to live entertainment, this establishment must be acknowledged as a pearl of an experience on Skiatos island. Will recommend it without hesitation to any and all 4 star holiday makers.

Room Tip: It is worth the upgrade to the Aegean View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from Skiathos on 21st September after one week. The weather for the first 5 days was terrible, heavy rain and thunderstorms so a lot of people were stuck in the hotel because of the location and not wanting to explore the Island in the very heavy rain. My Husband asked the Hotel reception if they had any board games, cards etc to relieve some of the boredom and there was nothing available. After the second day, my Husband printed out some trivia questions and organised a quiz for some of the guests which created a better atmosphere. The hotel was clean and the rooms were nice and spacious. We stayed half board and because we were stuck in most of the day for the first 5 days, we swapped our Evening Meal to have at lunch and we used the Courtesy Taxi to go into Skiathos Town for food and drink which incidentally was much cheaper and nicer food. When you are half board, you only have 2 choices on the menu and after a few days, we really struggled to enjoy what was on offer. The breakfasts were nice with plenty of choice but the eating experience was spoiled by a member of staff I think was called Costas. He looked really miserable and never said "Good Morning". He was really quite rude and while you were eating, he would lean right across you to retrieve an empty plate without saying "excuse me". One morning while my Husband was eating his breakfast, he came over and took his plate with toast on which he had only just buttered. During the course of the week, we heard several other people complaining about his behaviour. The rest of the staff were very pleasant so i don't know why they employed this miserable man. He could do with attending a "Customer Service" course. The last 2 days were glorious Sunshine and we hired a car to explore the lovely beaches on the Island. We were planning a boat trip to see "Mama Mia" location but during the week, we heard from several people how packed out the boats were so we didn't fancy it. We met some lovely people in the hotel but if we went back to Skiathos, we would stay a bit nearer to Skiathos Town.

Room Tip: When you first arrive, if they tell you your room has been upgraded, check your view first. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lundon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at the Kivo hotel & suites and had the most amazing, relaxing time.
We arrived at Skiathos airport after being delayed by 2 hours and a very kind holiday rep contacted Kivo to inform them our flight had only just landed and within ten minutes their courtesy shuttle bus/car collected us and took us to the hotel. The hotel is just stunning and set on a mountain side with amazing sea views from everywhere that you look. We were welcomed with a nice cocktail and given a quick tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The room was a nice size, clean and tidy with fabulous sea views and skiathos town in the distance. The pool and bar area were gorgeous and although the hotel was full the pool area never lost the relaxed feel and it was never crowded. Breakfast is served upstairs with a balcony area allowing you to eat your breakfast looking out over the sea! :) nice breakfast, good range and all very fresh.
Although the hotel is approx 5-10 minutes into skiathos by car it's not a problem at all. The hotel run a complimentary shuttle bus/car that do regular trips into town. Mike the driver is very friendly and helpful. They drop you into town and have certain times in the day and evening when they pick you up again and take you back to the hotel. Even if its busy they will keep running trips until everyone is back. We also booked a trip one morning and mike dropped us into town earlier so they are very flexible! We did hire a beach buggy for 2 days to allow us to explore the north of the island which was great fun.
Overall a fab holiday in a great hotel with lovely staff.
We will definitely return! Want to go back now!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilias
3.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
892 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.9 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#45 of 88 in Skiathos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel

Property: Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Address: Vasilias Beach, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon a small hill with a panoramic view of the Aegean sea, a hotel in Skiathos with an exceptional personality is waiting for you combining the comfort of a grand resort with the personal services of a boutique hotel. A series of all-white cottages with red-tiled roofs lies in the 15 acres of a green garden just a few minutes from our private beach dusted with white sand and lapped by turquoise sea. Kivo, one of the top hotels in Skiathos, is characterized by its elegant decoration, artistic mood and idyllic meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kivo Hotel Vasilias
Kivo Hotel And Suites
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel Skiathos/Vasilias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing