We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th year at this wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prekas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prekas Studios
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“5th year at this wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks at Prekas and we will be back again next year. The family are the most kind, generous lovely people who can't do enough for you. Maria runs an excellent restaurant (Calma) on site and her food is superb, best on the Island as far as we are concerned. They have upgraded a lot of the studios with new bathrooms and will complete the remainder next year. If you are looking for 5 star hotel accommodation then this is not the place for you but if you want simple Greek self-catering in a clean friendly studio, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are simply furnished with a balcony. We always stay at the front facing on to the road bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geraldocheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
74
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for two weeks and thought this was an excellent choice for a simple self-catering holiday. It's located a little way from the main road so you must be prepared to walk a reasonable distance to the beach.

Facilities are good - self-catering, fridge, payable air conditioning, etc. Everything is maintained fastidiously by the owners. The pool area is very pleaseant and you do not feel there are too many guests. The restaurant area is also very good and serves excellent evening meals. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Balconies do not have a high divider so you will have to get on with your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just had a great 11 days at Prekas. Our 5th year in Skiathos and by far the best accomodation for this class.
All the family were very pleasant and helpful. Our plane home was delayed for 3 hours. 10/10 to Thomsons for giving us early notice whilst we where still at the Hotel.
Nikos and Maria gave us a room to use and fresh towels at no charge. Nikos even phoned the car hire and got the return time extended so we could stay by the pool.
Excellent Breakfast for 8 euros and loads of toast !
We also had the local Donkey braying and the local dogs sometimes made a noise, but it was never a problem at night and didnt bother us !
Definitely hoping we can book for 2014

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

we arrived here on September 3rd for a 10 day stay. we knew where the studios were as we had seen them on a previous visit to skiathos. they are situated about a 10 minute walk along a lane from the main road and about 15 minutes from agia paraskevi beach. we were greeted by nikos the owner who showed us to our room, which was clean and fresh with a well equipped little kitchen area. the balcony was quite large for a studio room, beds were comfortable and a team of local ladies kept the studios and surrounding areas beautifully clean. nikos and his 2 sons were friendly, attentive and made sure our stay was memorable, whilst maria, Nikos's wife cooked some of the loveliest meals we had. we were also given a room to use on our last day as we had a late flight, at no extra charge. would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Skiathos and the first to the Prekas. We selected it based on a good price and the excellent reviews on here.
It is located about 400M down a lane running from the main road. There is other accommodation along the same stretch, most with a taverna/restaurant so a few places to eat and drink.
I think Jacquiline S’s post just about sums the place up with the comment ‘The accommodation was fine for what we needed’.
The room was spacious with 2 single beds pushed together, bedside table either side, dressing table and mirror with a hairdryer mounted next to it. The kitchen area has been described by Jacquiline S and was fine. We were told that some of the kitchens don’t have draining boards, just a sink and worktop. Aircon was €5 per night and was very good and the safety deposit box was free. French doors opened out onto a good sized balcony looking out onto the lane.
The wardrobe space was small (see pic) and there was a cupboard at the top that you would have had to stand on a chair to get to. Drawers in the kitchen were used to store ‘the smalls’, socks, swimwear, etc.
Many have said how peaceful it is and when you sit on the balcony with a glass of wine with the wind blowing through the trees it is - until the dogs over the way start to bark. We had a donkey right next door who brayed now and again, cockerels crowing and goats with bells clanking - not a problem but when the dogs start to bark, they go on for a while, several times a day.
One gripe, the bathroom. When you sat on the toilet, your feet were in the shower (see pic), very tight. Shower was hand held as loads of Greek accom. is but with the aid of a suction mounted shower head holder (£8 from Amazon) it turned into a fixed shower. Water temp and pressure varied but we managed ok.
Suzielowert mentions the relationship between the accom. and the restaurant. The only person I ever saw at the accommodation was the cleaner, who did a good job but I would have expected the odd check up from the owners. Marias passion is obviously cooking and is very good at it. Thomson even run a trip to the Dog Rescue Centre and bring all the customers back here to watch Maria do a cooking presentation on a Sunday afternoon. If you need any of the family, the restaurant is where you will find them. I’m sure if they could get someone to purchase and run the accommodation, they would be happy to run the restaurant.
Theo and Apostolis are great kids who help to run place. Theo even checks in the guests as his English is excellent.
The pool and pool area are good and at this time of the year sunbeds were always available. Wi-fi is free for those of us that like to have it is available, even in the room. I like to keep in touch with what’s going on in the world, even when on holiday. Just ask for the password (or message me).
The big question I suppose is would I come back? The answer would be yes if the deal was as good as this one was but having visited Skiathos Town a few times, my preference would be to stay there if it was a 14 day holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satriani100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 27th August. The walk up the lane isn't very far at all.
We were met at the gate and shown to our studio on the first floor. We immediately noticed how clean and fresh the room was. The bathroom has a shower curtain! The kitchen area is very good. It has an actual work top rather than one of the stainless steel fittings which incorporate the sink and hob.The kitchen is well equipped. It had wine glasses mugs, and cups and saucers. The toaster and kettle were great.
There is also a hair dryer.
The pool area is beautiful. It's so peaceful. We found the sunbeds to be very comfortable. Much better than the wooden ones we used at different places.
The Calma restaurant is excellent. I challenge anyone to find a better restaurant in AP. There is a supermarket outside the hotel. The owner was closing it at end of September so he had started to run it down. I might add he was the most miserable man I have ever encountered.
Maria's 2 sons are an absolute credit to her family. They work tirelessly throughout the day and evening. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they are always appear to be so happy.
I have a video of our quad ride up the lane. Should anyone wish to view just how far it is.
We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I still love this place however there were, on second visit some obvious improvements that now need to be made.

The hotel effectively about delivering regular guests to the on site (and very good) restaurant - Calma Taverna. You cannot help but notice that the owners are a little unclear if its a hotel with restaurant attached, restaurant with hotel or two seperate entities. What is sacraficed is a good 'bar' area and it was very dissapointing to return at a not unreasonable 10.30 to find the place shut - the focus moves from the hotel customers in the day to diners at night. They're missing a trick here and no-doubt considerable revenue.

Wifi, yes wifi, needs to be rolled out more readily - it is there they are just not keen on sharing it. Even the most basic of hotels offer this. Also, for a 4 or 5 sunbeds really should be better quality then they actually are.

Room Tip: Ask for one of those facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suzielowert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Paraskevi
132.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
132.3 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
132.2 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
133.3 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
132.9 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prekas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prekas Studios

Property: Prekas Studios
Address: Glikofiloysas 3, Agia Paraskevi 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Agia Paraskevi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Prekas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prekas Studios Hotel Agia Paraskevi
Prekas Apartments Skiathos
Apartments Skiathos
Prekas Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Prekas Studios Skiathos/Agia Paraskevi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing