We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prekas Studios
Nearby Hotels
Skiathos Princess Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
$307
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Magic Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
$125
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atrium Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acropol Hotel(Chalandri)
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Lodge(Filothei-Psychiko)
$125
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
94
23
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
23
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalma restaurantthe main roadfantastic relaxing holidayyear after yearself catering facilitiesthe busnight lifeskiathos townlittle bit of heavennext yearminute walkrooms are basictwo week holidayrelaxing pool areasmall resortour favouritebeach is lovely
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 123 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Prekas in June/July 2012 in a studio room no. 7 on the first floor. This room overlooks the back of the property and is very private. It is on the end so has views to both sides which is nice and allows a breeze across the balcony.
The room was simply furnished but very clean and suited us fine. It was cleaned every day however towels and sheets were changed twice weekly,
We ate in the Calma several times, which is the on site restaurant and the food quality was very good. Maria is a great and passionate cook. The only criticism we would have is that there is a very limited choice for vegetarians. There are plenty of starters but only a pasta dish and roast peppers for main course. Not a massive issue though.
We enjoyed the fact that the property was a short walk from the main part of the village up a quiet lane and it was lovely and peaceful. A number of nice restaurants can be found nearby and Skiathos town is very easily accessible by bus from stop 16.
Let us put this one to bed once and for all, Nicos is Greek and consequently that is his first language. Never the less he does speak reasonably good English. How many of us tourists can say more than hello and thank you in Greek?.....we found him to be a lovely bloke probably because we took the time to engage him in conversation.
He was instrumental in getting us off our backsides and seeing the island. We have just read a review stating that the author believes Nicos was annoyed that they didn't eat there. That was not our experience at all. He mapped out routes and places for us to see and recommended restaurants elsewhere. At his suggestion we rented a motorbike for 4 days and that was an amazing way to get to off the road beaches and restaurants which he told us about.
We can certainly see why people return to a prekas year after year.
Thanks Nicos, Maria and the boys we had a great time. Hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank markbeattie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had wanted to go to Skiathos for a number of years, but always found the actual holiday costs prohibitive and ended up trying other Greek Islands for much better deals. However this year we found a Thomson deal and decided to book - 12 nights for £360pp, and that took us to the Prekas Studios.

We were suitably impressed reading the reviews which were very positive, and booked.

Skiathos Airport is tiny, only 3 planes on the ground at once. But it works like clockwork as long as the weather isn't bad. Don't be put off by stories about scary landings or flying via Thassalonikia. Ok its a short runway but you'd never notice, and the flights now carry enough fuel to fly directly back to the UK. It only took 2 hours 50 from LGW, and 3 hours 30 coming back.

The Island is small. About 9 miles top to bottom, all of which on the south side hosts the main resorts and is covered by the public bus service. 1 euros 60 each way anywhere, and buses every 20 minutes up to midnight. You do not need a car or moped unless you are either lazy or want to explore the northern side, which we didn't feel the need to as what was available was lovely.

Ag Paraskevi is 15 mins from the Airport by coach, 20 odd minutes from Skiathos Town by bus, and 20 mins the other way from the furthest beach at Koukounaires. There is not much in Ag Paraskevi but its got a nice chilled out feel to it, and there is definitely good money in Skiathos generally, far higher standard of property in the main compared to many Greek Islands we have been to. It gives it an upmarket feel definitely. The village is spread along the main road which is not busy, and has a few little roads spurring off it down the back, one of which you walk down to reach the Prekas. Its a 5 minute walk to the main road, no hills, so easy for anyone to handle. Its another couple of minutes across the road to the beach there, which is as good as any in the island. Theres a Taverna (Kochyli) right on the road where you can walk to you if you are into lunches, but the beach itself has a couple of small beach bars where you can get drinks and snacks. Sunbeds are 8 euros wherever you go for 2 and a parasol. On Ag P beach you get 2 free drinks thrown in, but not down in Koukounaires or other resorts we tried like Troulos.

The beaches are all gorgeous. Small coves with white sand, a number of sunbeds, and facilities. However Ag P does not have any toilets or showers on the beach if you like to have those available. Theres always the sea and put up with salt on your skin......

Prekas Studios are up a back lane adjacent to the main supermarket and the Platanias Bar. Along this lane there are some nice places to eat, including Avra which was very good and friendly service, and Calma which belongs to the apartments at Prekas where the menu is more limited but the food really is better quality than anywhere. Prices are roughly the same all over, expect to pay 7-10 euros for a main dish, 4 euros for 1/2 litre of decent house wine (we always had rose) and 2.50-3.50 for a large beer. It really is not worth shopping around to see where has the cheapest food and drink.

Along past Avra but not as far as Prekas, just before the horses in the field, is the Kantina. We walked past it first couple of days thinking it was just an old caravan for late night kebabs, but actually they did superb souvlaki in pita bread (just like Gyros) for 2 euros. Yes, 2. The people there are particularly friendly as well, so it became a regular lunch spot and late night drink on the way home. Try it without judging what it looks like.

Platanias has an excellent restaurant but actually is one of the pricey ones, not by much. Food there was particularly good. The bar is also on the main road so a good point to sit and see what time to calculate the next bus will be. It is also the only place we found we could get a Magners.

The Italian next door does superb Pizza. As good as I have had. Although I am not so sure about the people who run it who seemed a bit odd and disinterested. But good food at good prices again.

Along the road towards Skiathos are a few other small tavernas, we tried most of them and all were equally perfect. Relaxed, good food, reasonable prices. Nowhere did we feel we were being ripped off or paying over the odds. A particularly good place to eat is Green Park, along the main road and up another little lane, it is signed from the main road. Very ambient setting, chilled out, and again very good food. No complaints at all regarding eating or drinking out.

There is a small supermarket directly opposite the Prekas, open 8-12 and 3-6, fine for milk, water and oddments. But he doesnt stock much and his fruit and veg was poor. Best place for bottles of water is from the Kantina down the road: 2.50 for 6 which is 1 euro cheaper than anywhere else and you'll need a lot of water........

Prekas Studios are well laid out in nice grounds and appear to be well maintained. Cleaners were in every 2 days with a change of sheets and towels, but you will need to buy your own loo roll. Rooms were typically Greek - basic with 2 single beds put together, tiled floor to keep it cool, small kitchenette and an ensuite with a hold your own shower. This is normal for Greece and I find the only people who complain about rooms are either complete snobs or first timers to Greece. Get used to it, its just a bed for the night. We managed most of the holiday without air con, 5 euros a day, apart from the last 2 nights when we were packing and getting ready to go out as it had hit over 40c. Having said that it was reasonably cool at night if you kept the shutters partially closed, patio doors open and mozzy curtains shut.

Nikos was not the friendly sociable chap we had read about. He was not unpleasant at all, but he was quiet, softly spoken and a bit dreary to be honest. People seem to go back year after year and make out they're personal friends of him and his family, forgetting that all he is interested in is your money and custom. I genuinely think he gets annoyed at people not eating at his own restaurant, although it is very good. His wife is an excellent cook and you will be bored to death by regulars telling you about her book she wrote.
The sons are friendly enough and attentive, but I don't go on holiday to become bosom buddies with the owner and his family to be perfectly frank.

The pool here is rubbish however. Its tiny and half of the sunbeds are in the shade all day, which moves round with the sun. Its also very sheltered by trees so if there is a welcome breeze, you dont get it by the pool. Sunbeds are old metal frames and stretched canvas style so dont expect any comfort. We found the atmosphere around the pool a little too reserved for our liking. You felt as if no one was allowed to speak, but that might have been the other guests I suppose! It was certainly full of couples in their 50's and 60's so clearly a place to come and relax. We prefer to use the beach during the day anyway so it was not a problem. The water in the pool is clean, but the problem is the chemicals Nikos uses. It made my eyes sore, my armpits itch, and turned the white parts on my shorts yellow. Clearly he uses too much and its not pleasant. We had a morning at the pool and that was enough. You can use the pools at any other hotel or bar though.

You can walk into Troulos, its about a mile up and over the hill the opposite way to Skiathos. No point wasting a bus fare for such a short walk. Its nice for a change of scene, but nothing any different really. Up the other way, about the same distance, is a particularly lovely beach at Kanapitsa by bus strop 12 called Nostos Beach, and further on at bus stop 10 the beach at Achladias is also lovely.

Skiathos town is a cracking vibrant little place as well. Its a port so its busy when the boats are in, although its fairly quiet in the day. But at night the place is alive. Lots of shops on the main street, loads of tavernas and restaurants all over, and we didnt find any that were any more expensive really. So much choice. Cocktail bars and clubs are down past the new harbour towards the airport if you want all that. You have to see the town both in the day, when its usually stiflingly hot, and at night when its lit up. Its got quite a late night scene but if like me you like to eat out, have a couple of drinks and then get to bed around midnight or so, you can get the bus back from town. However dont get on a stop number 4 as you'll find the buses already packed so walk down to the terminal by the new harbour and get on there or else you'll be walking or paying the inflated late night taxi fares!

In summary:
Skiathos as a holiday island - perfect.
Agia Paraskevi as a resort - chilled, quiet, good choice of places to eat, just what we wanted
Prekas Studios - clean, tidy, well looked after, quiet and relaxing, again perfect for our needs.

We'd definitely go back to Skiathos, and I really dont think it matters where on the island you are, with the exception of Koukounaires which we felt was too remote and also very little to do apart from the sports on the beach. If the same hotel came up, we'd go again but I prefer to try somewhere different each holiday if at all possible.

Definitely recommend it to anyone though. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the front of the main building if you like the evening sun on your balcony. But get air conditioning if you travel in the summer months as the rooms get really hot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poshtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot close to bus stop 16. Agia Paraskevi itself is a small resort but there is enough to do if you are after a really quiet time, alternatively for just 4 euro's you can share with another couple and get the taxi into town (certainly beats the bus and is only 80 cents more).

Rooms are basic, peaceful and quiet, as is the pool - which is bigger than the brochures would indicate. Setting is tranquil and peaceful, food at the restaurant is great and the hosts are approachable and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzielowert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although we've been to Skiathos before this is the first time at Prekas Studios. These are comfortable studios in a lovely garden setting with small pool. Surrounded by huge trees the area is very quiet (apart from the cicadas and the odd crow). There is a small supermarket across the road. The best part is the onsite taverna run by the owners. Maria's cooking is the best we've tasted in Greece yet at the same prices as any other taverna. The whole ambience of the restaurant is lovely with linen table cloths.The studios are approached by a 10 minute FLAT walk from the main road and bus stop 16. The beach of Agia Paraskevi is opposite the bus stop so it is all very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I can add nothing to the previous reviews of how nice and peaceful the Prekas is. This is our second stay here and third time in Skiathos and certainly hope to return to the Prekas next year or even in Septenber again funds permitting!!! Maria, Nikos and thier son's are pleasant, sociable and cannot do enough to be helpful and make your stay pleasant. The apartments are spotless with daily cleaning and regular linen change. Everything you need is provided and the shower is always hot and one of the most powerful I have had while holidaying in Greece. There are safety deposit boxes free of charge in the rooms and air conditioning is an extra 35 euro a week.This truely is a lovely location very rural but everything just down the lane a little, a lovely beach and more tavaernas. Walking the opposite direction along the lane are some lovely walks along tracks and through wooded areas giving magnificent views of the island and platanias valley. A very slow walk of about 10 minutes from the Prekas and you are at bus stop number 16 where you can catch one of the regular buses into Skiathos Town, an experience in the evening when everyone is heading into town!!!! Skiathos Town has something for everyone, busy bars and a few night clubs if you like that sort of thing but my preference lots of lovely little tavernas where you can sit and watch the world go by in a great atmosphere and with terrific views. A must is to get off the main tourist strip, Popadiamonti Street, and wander the many little back streets of the old parts of the town they are charming. Two bad points about this holiday would be the recent change of flight times to the island for us at 5.40am makes a very very early start or added expense of overnight stay in airport hotel and the other would be that the island and the Prekas are a little slice of heaven on earth and as everybody I have spoken to fall in love with it and return year after year I dread that it becomes even more popular and spoilt with over tourism or impossible to book. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews