We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“close to the paradise”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I wanted to go to Skiathos for a long time and after consulting a lot of friends and travel agents i mostly got one response, Skiathos Princess.It was AMAZING. I don't know where to start from, the amazing sandy beach, the great food or the very cool and friendly staff... it was all perfect and for me a perfect vacation is to be on the beach, have great food and relax with nothing bothering you, away from everything... That is what I call paradise but I the same time so close to civilization... not like the Maldives or Caribbean that you cant get out of the hotel. At night we had options , if we felt like going out or ordering room service. As my friends and consultants told me to go, its my turn to let you know that its worth it...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellatsaousoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    275
    118
    47
    15
See reviews for
269
463
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Taking aside the usual comments about comparing 5 star Greek hotels with those in mainland Europe and jokes about Greek ‘chaos’, ‘plumbing’ and ‘time’ all of which we have become familiar with through numerous visits to Crete and Rhodes, the lack of service here was exceptionally bad. The expression 'Service with a smile' hasn't reached this hotel.

The mattress was extraordinarily hard. I like a firm mattress but this was just uncomfortable. Also there was no choice or variation of pillow. We just had a very firm synthetic pillow. I enquired the first morning with Reception if I could request a soft pillow and was flatly told ‘No’. Without a hint of an apology. Even to be told ‘so sorry we only have one type of pillow’ would have been better than the expressionless ‘No’. I asked if she could at least check and she just sighed and raised her eyebrows and said OK, as if it was a complete waste of time.

We were told the hotel served the best breakfast on the island! In my opinion it was something akin to prison food (I imagine). The scrambled egg was like a runny porridge, bacon undercooked. The fresh fruit was abysmal, under ripe and lack of choice. The hot water urn would run dry regularly and always a guest would have to point this out to a waiter and was usually told ‘yes I know’. Every day, something was missing, either lids for the teapots, egg cups and most usually cutlery. It wasn’t unusual to ask for a coffee 3 times before it arrived or to go and ask for it yourself. There were plenty of staff standing around, with the hands behind their backs, waiting to clear away empty plates. This is the only thing they did with any efficiency. When we arrived there was no explanation of what was available, or shown to a table, as you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The waiting staff with the exception of maybe 3 or 4 people (a young man called Dusa being one) were indifferent and slow. They were not cheerful or happy and totally lowered the guests spirits rather than lifted them. They rarely greeted you with a simple good morning. We watched 4 of them walk over a spill on the floor and a knife. Eventually a guest picked the knife up. Some guests were going to other guests tables and asking if they had a spare knife or fork. It was a farce.

Our first day we ordered food and the chips were not properly cooked. The next day they were cold. We decided to complain and was asked ‘what we wanted to do about it’. Again, the first word you would expect would be ‘sorry’. One evening our first 3 choices of wine were out of stock. Towards the end of the week they had run out of my husband’s favourite bottled beer. Firstly they didn’t attempt to get one from one of the other restaurants (which we had to suggest) but then to not replenish their stock for 2 further days. It became a running joke that guests would ask for things which they had run out of. We were drinking Champagne most evenings. We were never given any kind of complimentary, nuts, olives etc. All of which were common place in external bars and restaurants. We began to resent spending our money here.

The room itself (Junior suite room 272) was lovely but the electrical wiring to the TV and the bedside lamps were both faulty. Additionally, when we emptied the bath water, it literally came up again via another drain in another part of the bathroom. It totally flooded the bathroom and we had to call housekeeping. We didn’t take any more baths. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and towels and linen where reasonably good quality and supplied in good quantity.

We didn’t expect the gym to be state of the art but we did expect it to be safe. There were two treadmills. The first one, came up with a faulty message saying it needed oil. The second one the mat had obviously been torn and stitched together, badly and was a hazard to run on it. I’d gone to the Spa to book a massage. There was a message there saying we are busy please enquire at Reception. I went to Reception to say I’d like to book a massage and was told you have to check with the Spa. I explained about their sign saying I needed to go to Reception, so eventually they took my number and said they’d get back to me. But everything seemed like an effort.

The massage however was excellent and very good value.

The hotel location, pool and beach are all good. You would normally expect someone to show you to the sun beds and give you towels and offer to get you drinks but this hotel leaves it to guest to collect their own towels and find their own beds. Again not what you expect from 5 star.

None of the above are life threatening events but accumulated on one holiday, in one week, they erase the word ‘luxury’ from any hotel or holiday. We had recently stayed at an Orient Express hotel in Sicily and the difference in service, attitude and attention to detail was incomparable. I could not possibly recommend this hotel and my husband doesn't want to go to Greece again - which is a shame as we have previously had some wonderful holidays there.

Incidentally, we ate out several nights and the service and attitude in those restaurants were so different. This hotel just isn't being managed properly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This hotel was a great disappointment, the rooms were nice and the maids were great, but otherwise service was generally bad. The reception staff did not make reservations we had asked them to, nor had any record of the request, the waiting staff in the restaurants had to be asked 3 times generally before anything was ordered. They ran out of the wine and beer we were drinking after two days and did not restock for the whole week. The breakfast was poor although we were told by the rep it was the best on the island. The sunbeds on the beach which were meant to be for hotel guests only were being used by non hotel guest who were being charged so often when you tried to get a decent bed they had been taken. Staff were verging on rude at times certainly not friendly or helpful with the exception of one or two. I would not recommend this hotel and am shocked that it is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHAWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I have been to skiathos 6 times now and have stayed at this hotel 2 times, the rooms are lovely,nice products in bathroom, free safe deposit box, the food is excellent, plenty of choice, the staff can not do enough for you. There are free padded sunbeds on the beach,you get free clean beach towels every day, the food at the beach resturant is very good and good value compared to other tavernas, the grounds are spacious and clean, I feel very relaxed at this lovely hotel, shall go again next hopefuuly,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The setting of this hotel and the facilities are amazing. There is huge lush garden, followed by a proper pool and pool beds, pool bar, indoor reading areas, taverna and beach beds right in front of the hotel. The service was also good in general. The downsides were: disapointing breakfast (except from omelet/pancakes which were great) and standard bathroom which was not kept too clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giasintakart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Absolutely no value for money, impossible to understand how this hotel can be a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World! We have stayed in several, but this was our biggest dissapointment ever. Hotel desperately needs renovation, so does the pool. Main restaurant is just awful - tables without table clothes, ruined, burned, floors are dirty etc. Staff is kind but extremely slow and underqualified. The selection of dishes in main restaurant (breakfast & dinner) is very poor, not to mention how everything is prepared. Rooms are very average (3*), poor lighting, unconvenient bathroom, our AC was so loud, that we had to turn it off from time to time - we informed them, but nothing has happened.
The environment is quite OK, but far from the impressions one can get when checking their web page.
Usually we don't write such reviews but this time we feel almost oblidged to do it, to prevent others from dissapointment.
Strong recommendation: AVOID!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masha44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis2, General Manager at Skiathos Princess Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear masha44,
Warm greetings from sunny Skiathos Island to Ljubljana.
We are surprised and saddened about your full disappointment
and only negative experiences from our hotel.
Please allow me to inform you that Skiathos Princess Hotel Guests rooms, all public areas, including the pool, have been fully renovated in 2007.
Our F&B Department has introduced in 2009 two new a la carte restaurants,
“Churrasco”, a Live cooking Grill restaurant concept, with fine meats from
Argentina, fresh ingredients, authentic ambience and table set up of a Churrascaria.
“Yu de Ling”, our Asian a la carte restaurant with sushi and delicacies from
the wok.
The “Basilico” Buffet restaurant introduces also a wide variety of freshly prepared
dishes from South Europe and local Greek recipes.
We are reviewing our culinary feedback from our highly respected Guests and cooperating Travel agents, the scores have been very high from the beginning of the season. (Awful?)
Furthermore, we are proud being a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World,
guaranteeing individual exclusive hotel standards, with their own unique character,
charm and hospitality.
In closing, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations and being unable to give you another upgrade during your stay due to high occupancy in August.

Kind regards
Ioannis Iltsidis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The main criticism of this hotel was the dining experience. Definitely not 5*. Breakfast was disappointing. Cold bacon and cold fried eggs and tomatoes on cold plates. A bit like a cafeteria. The evening buffet was disappointing and food disappeared early. The A La Carte part of the restaurant was a ready plated meal not 5* standard. The Asian part was passable.
However the beach here was beautiful and the pool attractive.
The pool bar lacked atmosphere in the evening and no proper dress code in any of the three restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnn186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Paraskevi
1.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
730 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiathos Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiathos Princess Hotel

Property: Skiathos Princess Hotel
Address: Agia Paraskevi 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Agia Paraskevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Paraskevi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Skiathos Princess Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, a selection of 5 restaurants and its majestic gardens, but also the quality of a Santikos Hotels member, The Skiathos Princess Hotel is everything you would expect from a Family Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Skiathos Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Skiathos
Princess Skiathos
Hotel Princess Skiathos
Skiathos Princess Hotel Agia Paraskevi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing