We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tixkokob
Certificate of Excellence
Grasse
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Wonderful luxury boutique oasis in the Yucatan.
Great grounds/garden.
Wonderful rooms.
Great swimming pool.
Excellent service.
Excellent food.
We spent two days there and we really enjoyed our break there. One of our favorite hotel in Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe-Chauffard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Greetings from Yucatán!!

Thank you Mr. Philippe-Chauffard for your recent visit and for taking time to give us your feed back in TripAdvisor about your experience in Hacienda San José, we are glad you enjoyed it and we hope you had also a great experience in Puerta Campeche as well as in Hacienda San José!!

We hope to host you again soon in Hacienda San Jose or any of our sisters' properties in Yucatan and Campeche.

Kind regards!

Daniel Flores
Guest Relations
Daniel.flores@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    34
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
139
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and loved it. The old hacienda and it's gardens are lovely, the staff was incredibly friendly, the food at the restaurant was delicious and the swimming pool is out of this world. We had one of the private cabins, which made it even more special. They are a bit removed from the main hotel building, but worth it for their size and for the suspended bed. The hotel makes it easy to go into Merida for a day trip and then be back for a dip in the pool (you'll need it after the sweltering Merida heat) and dinner. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alvosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Alvosc,

Thank you so much for your recent visit at Hacienda San José and for your time to tell us your experience in the Hacienda, we are pleased you enjoyed it!

We hope to have you back soon in San José or any of our sisters' properties in Yucatán and Campeche.

Regards!

Daniel Flores
Guest Relations
Daniel.flores@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night which was sufficient. It was a nice break from cities, the place was so quiet and serene. The buildings were beautiful. The junior suite we stayed in was really nice, great smells, very large room, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. It was dark but that's because it was in the middle of the jungle and surrounded by trees. The best thing about this place is the gardens, they are very expansive and spectacular and it's so nice with all the birds and waking up to birds in a very comfortable room which surprisingly did not have bugs which was a big plus for us. The cost for car transfer to merida was a bit pricy. We felt like we had the place to ourselves though I think there was anger person there. We had the pool to ourselves. It's not like five star properties on beaches where there is service everywhere bout we prefer being left on our own and just asking when we needed something. So for us it was great. The only down side is the food which was pretty average but it's fine when staying just one day, the breakfast was fine. I would definitely recommend staying here for a night for the experience and we found it much better than the other two haciendas from SPG that we stayed at.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your time to share your experience in Hacienda San Jose. We are glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you to give us your feedback about our Food and Beverage service, we are already setting a action plan to improve it in a short time.

It will be a pleasure to host your again in our Haciendas.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The surroundings are beautiful but I would not classify this as a luxury hotel. The property is out of the way, which is very nice and the buildings are gorgeous. We particularly loved the high ceilings. The rooms have been furnished well and the candles and flowers are a nice touch but they could do with a paint or maybe the walls need washing down. This is the same for the outside of some of the buildings. Our room had a 'plunge pool', in reality this was just an outside bathtub which while very lovely was not private/screened off. The main pool was lovely but did not look like it had been cleaned when we arrived (we did however see them cleaning it the following morning). We had to put our own umbrella up at the pool and felt that service was somewhat lacking for a property of this quality. We would have expected water to appear seamlessly etc but in fact it never once came. The staff would come occasionally in the afternoon and would either come back 5mins later to ask you if you wanted a drink or disappear for hours. Perhaps this is because there was no-one else but us at the pool, but given this is supposedly a luxury property we would expect that whether they only had one room booked or the whole hotel the service level would have been higher. We were given a welcome pack but most of it was in Spanish even though there was a welcome card in our room in English. Looking at the Spanish info looks like there may have been classes to make Margaritas/Guacamole but this was never mentioned to us and they charged a fee for these which surprises me given the hotels pricepoint and luxury description. There was no menu for the spa in our room. Breakfast was good and the staff in the restaurant were excellent. On our first night we were the only people there and it was a lovely atmosphere. The food was OK but nothing special and the menu was somewhat limited, not sure we would have wanted to eat there more than 2 nights. We were really looking forward to staying here and getting away from it all but we just felt that something was missing and we never felt entirely comfortable here. I feel that it was overpriced for what it actually delivered. If I had my time again I would not stay here and would have used these days elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A completely restored 19th Century Hacienda with modern conveniences and amenities. Beautiful grounds flush with incredible landscaping provides for peaceful romantic walks. If you like birds, you'll love this place. My wife and I stayed in Jr. Suite #11, a spacious room with king bed, arches, shuttered windows and doors that open up to a private outdoor "bath." The restaurant provides excellent Yucatecan cuisine. There is a beautiful swimming pool with hammocks and a wonderful spa for those who love to be pampered. The service is impeccable and the hospitality unmatched. If you're looking for something different, one of the suites has a large live tree in the center of the suite growing up through the roof. A Hacienda experience is truly unlike any other. If it's a secluded romantic setting you're looking for, check out Hacienda San Jose.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites provide a little more privacy. We loved #11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This Hacienda is not easy to find-but asking several times will get you there. They have only 15 rooms in this Starwood property. The place is charming, no doubt.. We had a Junior Suite, very nice decoration in a typical farmhouse style. Staff is very friendly. The reception is just one open room. The place is very calm out in the bushes. A Highlight is the long pool with hammocks. Beds are very good and once you get used to the Special Feeling out in the greenery it is actually very nice and enjoyable.
Breakfast is good , lunch and dinner has the same menu, a bit limited. But what you get is amazingly good in taste.
On the negative side: the City of Merida is nearly one hour drive away. Not enough loungers around the pool. Internet is practically not existin or extremely slow, the data line working only on rare occasions, so had to sign the credit Card bill the old way manually.
.
.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Gracious dining and sumptuous surroundings. Our Room was vibrant in color and cozy comfortable. The head of the massage services went out of his way to help us on our way to our next destination. Without his help we would have remained lost on unmarked roads. We ran out of pesos and were granted a loan from the Hacienda to pay for the toll road back to Cancun. Everyone there was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordegbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tixkokob
6.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#24 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
22.7 mi away
Hotel Reef Yucatan - All Inclusive & Convention Center
18.5 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Km 30 Carretera Tixkokob-Tekanto, Tixkokob 97470, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Tixkokob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tixkokob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Jose is an emblematic building erected in the 18th century that, even after undergoing restoration, preserves the pastel blues of its facade, its decoration, and the murals in the chapel. Located just a 45 minute drive from Mérida’s International Airport, this place is perfect as a starting off point to visit other sceneries such as the Balancanche caves, Izamal or the mythical Pyramids of Chichén Itzá. Lavender blue colors are all around the corners of Hacienda San Jose. Its 15 rooms and suites, spread around a colonial patio with captivating ambience, will take you back in time to the past but with the amenities of this century. The former vegetables garden of the old residence is currently a site for a fantastic pool and Jacuzzi that, along with the surrounding Mayan palapas, present guests with a unique life experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel Yucatan, Mexico - Tixkokob

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing