We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Christmas break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dovecote Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dovecote Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked the Haybarn and Irishmans for Christmas for a festive family break. Both barns were decorated beautifully with real Christmas trees and festive decorations. We took the opportunity to visit York and the designer outlet, both a short drive away or there is a bus service a couple of minutes walk away. Brigita, the owner provided welcome baskets with fresh eggs, bacon, jams, marmalade and chutneys and freshly baked loaves of bread, all of which was greatly appreciated. The barns are excellent, with plenty of space and we all sat as a family around the big table in the Haybarn for Xmas lunch which was lovely. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished and all have their own en suite facilities and the beds are really comfortable. All the bedrooms in the Haybarn have patio doors which open directly onto the private garden with table and chairs outside which would be lovely in the summer. Although I have stayed at the barns previously most of our party hadn't, but they loved their stay and we're really impressed with both the barns and their location. Thanks to Brigita and Richard for looking after us during a lovely 4 night break. For those looking at these lovely barns, get booking, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in November and had a brilliant stay. The accommodation was to the highest standard in all aspects. The kitchen was fully equipped and had everything you could possibly want. We loved the welcome basket on arrival and the fact that our shopping had been out away already. We had 3 children in the party and they were catered for too;travel cots, high chairs and lots of toys.

The laundry room on site was also a great addition. Overall we couldn't have asked for me.

Would recommend to anyone.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodiesmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Last month I enjoyed a lovely long weekend with my (adult) family in The Hay Barn to celebrate my 50th birthday. The accommodation was perfect for our group of 5, with 3 comfortable bedrooms, all with ensuite bathrooms. The living-area upstairs was very spacious and the kitchen was extremely well-equipped. We especially enjoyed eating dinner out on the patio, and having a few games of table-tennis in the outbuilding across the lawn.
The location was ideal for our needs. We were in the middle of a quiet countryside area with nice walks, yet could easily travel into the city of York by bus (bus stop 5 minutes walk from the barn).
The owner was very nice and extremely helpful with local knowledge and ideas for sightseeing.
I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from 5 days spent at the dovecote barns. There are 3 barns there, the irishmans, the haybarn and the dovecote. We stayed in the dovecote and it was beautiful. It is incredibly well finished, with super comfy beds, powerful showers and a kitchen to die for!
Brigita the owner was very welcoming and very helpful during our stay. The other guests who were staying in the other 2 barns left the day before us and Brigita showed us what the other two were like. They are all amazing and are the perfect getaway.
I cannot recommend Dovecote highly enough, we will definitely be returning. We did enquire about a trip at Xmas but unsurprisingly they are fully booked. We will be back tho.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Dovecote Barns are a wonderful place to stay in a very tranquil setting in the Yorkshire countryside.

Attached to an arable farm, The Hay Barn, which we stayed in, is very well appointed and there was nothing more we could ask for.

The bedrooms are downstairs and all open out onto the patio/garden which was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the sun, or even do a bit of star-gazing. All bedrooms had en-suite bath/shower rooms.

Upstairs was the kitchen/dining/lounge area stretching the whole length of the upper floor. The kitchen had all the facilities we needed and the welcome basket including eggs, wine and home-made bread was very much appreciated.

Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy plus we were made very welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry_vii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very fine and luxury cottage. A lot of room and nice little private garden. A superb very good equipped kitchen. Helpful friendly owner and a nice hamper.
We stayed a week. Got good information for what to do.

Room Tip: The irishmans Cottage is complete wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KajeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at the Dovecote Barns from 19-22nd July - Honestly we could not fault anything.
The Barns are finished to a high spec & you feel so at home.
Just look at previous reviews, you just dont get reviews like it
We are back in August with somemore of the Family & to be honest we won`t book anywhere else
Fantastic just fantastic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelfield
8.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
8.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.2 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovecote Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovecote Barns

Property: The Dovecote Barns
Address: Manor Farm Main Street, Kelfield YO19 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kelfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kelfield
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dovecote Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury eco self-catering 18th-century barn conversions. Sleeps 2-12 in three barns (sleeping 6/4/2). Group dining for up to 12. 6 luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with either shower wet room or bath/shower. Renewable technologies used. Sumptuously furnished with every mod con. Public transport to York. Approx 20 minutes by car to city centre. Ideal for groups, whether couples, families, or friends getting together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing