We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œA very warm welcome by Sarah”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome by Sarah”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at Apple Tree cottage on Woodhouse farm, cottage was delightful and the welcome home made bread, plum crumble, eggs etc left by Sarah were fabulous! This cottage is ideal for visiting York and the surrounding area and there are some very nice pubs locally with excellent dining facilities. We certainly will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saffie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wonderful location (near York, near the moors; very near several great pubs for dining); classic farmyard and woodland attached; sheep, ducks, hens, cows; great old farmhouse with all the requisite modernizing; charming (but unobstrusive) hostess. If you want a home-away-from-home for a few days, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is a lovely area and Sarah is wonderful ... we stayed in a double upstairs and really the only problems with the accommodation was that the bathroom was sooooooooooooooooo small that you could barely turn around in it, the WiFi was barely unavailable and the breakfast (that Trip Advisor had so many glowing reviews of) was only 'fair' for my tastes ... but we would go again .. but perhaps in another room (a bit bigger).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englandswings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodie23, Owner at Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Here at Woodhouse Farm we pride ourselves on offering the best possible experience for our guests, which is why we are very concerned that you have had a less than excellent stay with us.

In response to the points you have raised, yes, the shower room in that bedroom is small. I don't advertise as having bathrooms, and make it clear to guests that the en-suites are shower rooms rather than bathrooms. I have checked the suitability of that particular en-suite with the AA who grade us as 4 star, and while they say it is "compact", they consider it adequate, and the size would only be an issue if I was trying to raise my grade to 5 star. It is also an improvement on the bathroom that was provided with that room a few years back, which was private to that room, but meant guests had to walk along the landing to reach it - which was not ideal.

With regards to the wi-fi offered, if asked, we would have explained that unfortunately, the reception/signal strength is actually beyond our control, and we have done everything possible to improve it (including purchasing new routers and boosters). Apparently, according to BT, it is due to our location and the distance we are from the main exchange, and until they upgrade the cables, it will not get any better. In view of this we do not make a charge for guests to use the wi-fi, as it can be unpredictable, especially at peak times.

As to the breakfast offered, we cannot comment, as we are afraid we cannot recall individual orders. All we can say is that as far as possible, all ingredients and products purchased are as fresh as possible, sourced locally, of the best possible quality, and cooked freshly to order every morning, and again if it had been mentioned at the time, the problem could maybe have been resolved immediately.

Despite the above, we thank you for the review you posted, all reviews are gratefully received - we do need to know if improvements can be made, or if guests have any suggestions, but unfortunately, some are beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a lovely B and B situated on a working farm. We were warmly welcomed with a cup of tea in front of a roaring fire. The rooms were well heated (on a cold winter's day), comfortable and spacious. After a good night's sleep the breakfasts were outstanding - well cooked and beautifully presented locally sourced food.
Hightly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

have now been three times and cannot wait to go back again this year
breakfast excellant along with the accomodation
sarah and family wonderful who make you feel very welcome
very peaceful and relaxing helped to feed the lambs which was lovely
we only go for two nights but would love to stay for at least a week

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Only managed to stay for one night but what a lovely time we had. There are 100's of sheep in the fields surrounding this charming farm. The views out of the windows looked out into open countryside as far as the eye can see. Sarah the host was charming and her breakfasts were to die for. The rooms were spotless and charming. You get your own living room with Sky tv should you require and there were toys and family videos and DVDs too. The farm is in the AA best bed and breakfast guide 2012 so if you want a quiet break in a lovely setting this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffwed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
264 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Peaceful location down a track about a mile from the village. The most pleasant farmers wife could not do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Unspoilt views across the fields.
Excellent breakfast of home produced/local ingredients. The village pub produces interesting well cooked dishes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westow
5.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
2.7 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
4.6 mi away
Thompsons Arms B&B
Thompsons Arms B&B
#2 of 2 in Flaxton
44 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wentworth Arms
The Wentworth Arms
#4 of 14 in Malton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Woodhouse Farm, Westow YO60 7LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Westow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Westow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodhouse Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Yorkshire Wolds, the Vale of York and the Howardian Hills, and within easy driving distance of many local attractions, Woodhouse Farm has a beautiful, peaceful countryside location with stunning views of the surrounding area, making it an "absolutely superb" and "outstanding" place to stay. When staying with us at Woodhouse Farm, experience our high quality Yorkshire farmhouse Bed and Breakfast and sample the many options on our 5* breakfast menu (as rated by the AA), or if you prefer the choice and freedom of self-catering, try our beautifully converted 'Apple Tree Cottage.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing