We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Ampleforth Abbey

Ampleforth Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abbey Church - Visitor Centre - Tea Room - Gift Shop - St Alban's Sports Centre with Fitness Suite & 25m Swimming Pool - Woodland Walks & Lakes - Orchard Tours on selected dates Whether you are looking for a tour of the Abbey, beautiful walks or simply time to reflect, you are assured of a warm welcome. Visitors are invited to spend the day at Ampleforth and enjoy the facilities that we offer including a tea room with a fantastic selection of food and beverages, the Abbey gift shop which stocks everything from keyrings to our own cider and our state-of-the-art Visitor centre, providing a comprehensive insight into the history of Ampleforth. Admission to the Abbey and Grounds is free but we do welcome donations to support the work of the Abbey and the Benedictine Community.
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came upon Ampleforth by pure chance one Sunday afternoon - we thought we would just take a peek when we came upon the signposts, but stayed for the rest of the day. The grounds are lovely and we spent some time just relaxing there, before visiting the abbey itself which is a beautiful, simple building - very calm and peaceful.
Home to an active school, there were young musicians playing outside for a spell which was delightful. A good game of cricket was also in full flow.

The visitor centre is very informative, telling the story of Ampleforth and the daily life of the monastic community in a very accessible way.

And finally the tea room furnished with famous Mousey Thompson tables provided a good cup of tea and homemade cakes to round off the afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaramaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    8
    0
    0
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It was a great privilege”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very interesting visit obviously not geared solely for tourists, but nevertheless it was a privilege to be able to visit the Abbey, walk in the grounds, visit the Visitors Centre, and have lunch in the tea room, where the food was excellent, and to see the students at their various sports activities - how lucky they are to have such an iconic place to learn with these excellent facilities..

The buildings were interesting, especially the Abbey, and the Visitors Centre most informative as to the purpose and with examples of chosen lives of some of the monks currently in office there.. There was such a feeling of peace and tranquillity which began with a "Silence" notice on entering the corridor of the first building,

The grounds were extensive and the setting stunning. We only walked for a short while down into the grounds passed the sports fields, but it would be great to return to further explore the grounds on another occasion. Thank you so much for allowing us to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucilou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited Ampleforth Abbey not knowing what to expect well what a huge surprise.The outside of the Abbey is an outstanding building. Started with a visit to the visitors center greeted by a lovely lady who gave us a brief detail of what we would find then left to take as much time as you liked to look round lots of very interesting fact's.Tearoom for lunch a very clean and well layed out tables not on top of each other and beautiful furniture from Thompson's the mouse man.Food very very good all freshly made and cooked. Staff very friendly and table service. A walk in the grounds all very well maintained and go on and on so so peaceful. Finished with a visited to the shop to purchase there own made Cider and Apple Juice. We will be back as more walks to explore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank boydy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was worth stopping off for a quick little visit.... a longer visit would be nice though”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent an hour here on the way home from a trip to Helmsley. I had never been before but the others in the group had and really liked it. The abbey itself is a beautiful building set within beautiful grounds and scenery. I imagine I saw little of it but what I did see, I found to be lovely, pristine and peaceful, with near-perfect greenery. It is bright and modern looking, even in the main chapel, with its surprisingly interesting and eclectic collection of stained glass windows in there. Nice cafe and a very varied selection of items and books in the shop - look out for a particularly fab range of really funny and clever word-play greetings cards!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HitTheNorth73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level Contributor
406 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a day at the abbey, we started with teacake and coffee in the tea shop, then visited the cider orchard followed by lunch. After lunch a quick visit to the visitor centre and a guided tour of the Abbey Church led by one of the monks.We finished the day with cake and coffee in the tearoom.The staff throughout the day were all very friendly and knowledgable ,all the food excellent and the location unbeatable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ampleforth Abbey also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Nunnington, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ampleforth Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing