We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Re Visit”
Review of Shallowdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shallowdale House
Ranked #2 of 2 Ampleforth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Went back again in April for 3 days of glorious weather with 2 friends, we were very lucky to (a) have caught a nice break in the weather and (b) experienced not the slightest deterioratiion in the excellent and friendly service and the glorious food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shattonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights and wanted to stay forever. There is absolutely nothing that we would change at this perfect B&B. Our hosts were cultured, warm and clearly enjoy having guests in their house. The food was high quality and beautifully cooked and presented. The bedroom was spacious & had 'the view' and the beds were comfy. We can't wait for our next chance to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have stayed with Phillip and Anton here several times and their welcome and friendliness is always wonderful. It is a lovely house tastefully furnished with mature gardens and a great view over the fields and hills. The highlight (not including afternoon tea and freshly baked biscuits) is the evening 4 course meal prepared by Phillip and served with wit, aplomb and style by Anton. Innovative main courses and a great cheese board. We have travelled near and far but this B * B is simply the best.

Room Tip: We always stay in the left hand en suite as you face the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What you read on this site for this 5 Star B an B is spot on - excellent

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shattonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Shallowdale House is not only a stunning example of 1960s architecture and design set in attractive mature sloping gardens, it’s also one of the most relaxing and remarkable places that I have ever stayed in. When you come to Shallowdale House you enter a soothing and serene wonderland of peace, tranquillity and good taste. Proprietors Anton and Phillip have personally crafted a utopia that most five star establishments can only dream of let alone achieve or replicate. Once visited, it’s never to be forgotten and you’ll certainly be back time and time again.

There are three guest bedrooms each enjoying spectacular views. The décor throughout is charmingly chintzy and the interior styling is a tour de force of quirky yet highly chic eclecticism. My favourite space is the drawing room complete with the decidedly soothing and soporific ticking wall clock, original art, a copious supply of quality reading matter and extremely comfortable chairs. At around 4.00pm Anton serves afternoon tea (or coffee) here together with very moreish homemade cakes and biscuits… this is NOT to be missed!! Oh, if only every afternoon could be this civilised.

The bedrooms are very comfortable and most importantly the beds are too; there’s mercifully not a duvet or manmade fibre in sight. There are excellent tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, flat screen TVs, DAB radios and the complimentary Wi-Fi is fast and stable. The breakfast menu is comprehensive and executed to perfection; my personal favourite being the Whitby kippers with the full English as a close runner-up. The standard of cleanliness throughout is outstanding as is the attention to every detail to make your stay as pleasurable, comforting and memorable as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our cycling holiday. Shallowdale House is a large modern-build house with three guest bedrooms, guest sitting room and dinning room. The rooms are immaculately styled, clean and well maintained. However, what makes Shallowdale House special are the hosts: their attention to detail is simply sublime. They clearly enjoy people, and display sensitivity to the personalities of their guests that we have never experienced before. Many of the excellent qualities of Shallowdale House have been covered by other reviewers, but one thing has been missed: the hosts excellent cooking is complemented by a most eclectic wine collection – to stay just one night makes choosing the evening’s wine a (happy) problem.

We would most certainly stay here again, and would wholeheartedly recommend Shallowdale House!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Arrived at this beautifully situated mirror to be met by Philip Gill who greeted us by name which was a good indication of our visit to come. Checked in on a lovely antique table with gorgeous views out over the fields in the best part of North Yorkshire. On entering our room, there was a snug area with a writing bureau; a large bathroom with corner bath and separate shower with Elemis and Molton brown toiletries- a very nice touch - and lovely big soft good quality towels and plenty of them. Bedroom with large king size bed which was mega comfortable with crisp clean sheets and blankets. Gorgeous views across the fields from a large window and a little balcony with a seat in it. Thoughtful touches included a bowl of chocolates, binoculars and a torch (not sure what that was for) and a roomy sofa; satelite TV and a lovely Roberts radio. I think there are wonderful views from all the rooms although I did not see them. The room we had was up the stairs and left to the end of the house.

Beautifully presented house with antiques to die for and my favourite pot pourri in the world from Florence. Lovely comfortable lounge looking out into their fabulous garden. I am a keen gardner and saw lots of lovely things in the garden which Anton kindly named for me and which I am now going to purchase. The breakfast was superb (we did not stay for dinner but I am certain it would be just as good as breakfast) with freshly squeezed orange juice, I had full English breakfast with local sausage and bacon and all beautifully served by Anton and cooked by his other half. Husband had poached eggs and bacon, again very good.

This is an incredible find and lots of interesting books. if the weather was bad the room we stayed in had a lovely sofa so you could while away the day with a good book and look at the beautiful view. Cannot recommend this lovely B&B highly enough. what more can you ask for, wonderful hosts, great food, comfy and spacious bedroom and full of little touches. I am now enjoying the home made marmalade they sell.

All the accolades awarded to this upmarket B&B are well deserved. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shallowdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallowdale House

Address: Shallowdale House West End, Ampleforth YO62 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ampleforth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ampleforth
Price Range: $175 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shallowdale House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shallowdale House is an elegant modern country house where personal service, attention to detail and superb home cooking combine with wonderful views from every room and a tranquil relaxing atmosphere to ensure that guests have a memorable and restorative stay. Situated on the southern edge of the North York Moors National Park, 20 miles north of York. Good Hotel Guide 2005 Cesar Award: Yorkshire Guest House of the YearShortlisted for Yorkshire Life Small but Special Accommodation of the Year 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shallowdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallowdale Hotel Helmsley
Shallowdale House Ampleforth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing