We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Pub.”
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ampleforth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The White Horse Inn is situated in the beautiful village of Ampleforth, North Yorkshire which is the gateway to many fabulous walks and Ampleforth College.Pete and Nikki offer you a warm welcome to their 18th century traditional country inn which dates back to 1768. Its charming cosy rooms with log fires, oak beamed ceilings, flagstone floors, candlelit tables and a warm friendly atmosphere make it the perfect place to relax and unwind.We offer traditional hand pulled beers and fine wines by the glass. Our great local characters, not only give the inn that 'traditional proper pub' feel, but also have a wealth of knowledge about the history of the pub and the area, which they regularly share with our visitors.Our food is locally sourced, freshly prepared and cooked to order
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Country Pub.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I went for lunch here today and had a wonderful meal in a clean friendly pub with excellent service. This felt like the first day of autumn ,pouring with rain...what a treat to find a glowing fire and friendly locals making a single woman feel welcome in their village.Give this place a try if in this part of Yorkshire

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo70yqork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteH0rseInn, Nikki - Landlady at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, I love having the fire on it gives such a warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    39
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Indifferent service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beware if you want a drink after 2pm ! Staff just not interested even though doors open and dining customers still eating and drinking .
This is just a restaurant and not a village pub .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteH0rseInn, Nikki - Landlady at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are really sorry for your recent experience. During the week at lunchtimeswe take last orders by 1345 for food and 1400 for drinks and close at 1430. You arrived at 1425 and hence I advised that we were closing.. Although we did have 2 tables finishing meals they both left by 1435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A genuinely delightful place to stay combining luxury with a warm welcom”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A cosy pub with delicious food on offer. Staff are really friendly and the wine was of good quality and well priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteH0rseInn, Nikki - ~Landlady at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quaint village pub with delicious home cooked food where the staff could not do any more to help you”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at Golden Square campsite which is minutes away from this cosy pub. After calling in before opening time,catching the owner mid prep for the lunchtime service, I was still greeted with a smile. She was so helpful and asked if I wanted to view the restaurant area before booking and check if I was happy with the menu choice. We opted for a private side room that was for 8 people even though we were a party of 6 (this was not a problem). The menu was varied and all home cooked including the deserts. Also children were well catered for . On arrival we were again greeted with a smile from the owner and from all the staff serving that night. The kids were given board games to play with while waiting for the food. My parents were trying to decide between starter or to wait and have desert when the owner mentioned homemade creme brulee. That was enough to persuade them to go for desert and the owner kindly asked if they would like them saved to avoid disappointment. As I will say again the staff could not have done any more to help make our evening special. Give this place a try you will not be disappointed. Thanks also for having our fav New Zealand wine

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpbate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteH0rseInn, Nikki - Landlady at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your great review, the private dining room you chose is very popular. look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good place, good locals!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Compared to the mucky-duck further up the village, the Horse has everything that you could wish for in a proper village pub.
Excellent home cooked food, from a moderate but varied menu, the steak pie was the best that I’ve had for a long time.
The atmosphere in the bar is very friendly, no matter that you’re a visitor from afar or live locally, the regulars all talk to you!
Decent cask ales and a selection of wines makes a dining experience well worth the effort of finding the White Horse.
We’ll certainly be going back next time we’re close!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crane-Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteH0rseInn, Nikki landlady at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your great review, my husbands, the chef, Steak Pies are one of our most popular dishes, we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Inn also viewed

Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
 
Gilling East, North Yorkshire
 
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing