We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake Up To A Beautiful View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ampleforth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Ampleforth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wake Up To A Beautiful View”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Prior to our visit to Carr House, Anna was extremely helpful in helping organise two reservations at two must eat local restaurants.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Anna who showed us to our room. I had planned this weekend away for a surprise for my girlfriend; I knew I'd made the right choice in the location and room by her smile as soon as we arrived. The room had a lovely (and comfy) 4-poster bed; modern shower with separate WC/basin. The view was simply beautiful. Anna had kindly baked us some cakes which we had with a fresh brew in our room.
For breakfast, a hearty Yorkshire start to the day, with all the trimmings. We had a chance to chat with other guests along with Anna in their country cottage, right by the fire. This was a nice, leisurely way to take a morning in it's full Yorkshire glory.

We would recommend Carr House to any and all - well worth a visit or two. Thank you both Anna and Jack.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan_Pidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
97
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

On arrival, Anna greeted us with a wonderfully warm welcome, and hot snacks brought to our room. Anna has plenty of local knowledge, and gave us advice on where to get a superb massage, and also recommended and booked us in at a local restaurant for dinner.
The view from the room was stunning, and a walk in the surrounding area allowed us to take in the scenery and also see some of the local wildlife (deers).
Breakfast was good quality food, fresh from the aga.
There are plenty of local attractions, we chose to see the abbey, castle and sample some of the local shopping.
I would highly recommend staying here, my Mum and I had a wonderful time. We definitely want to return as soon as we can, and hopefully stay a little longer.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Carr House is not only situated in beautiful countryside but the b and b itself oozes charm. We had a lovely comfortable room with great views. The owners had thought of everything, even putting a first aid kit in the room should we need it. Anna was very hospitable and did some great baking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed at Carr House Farm the weekend before Christmas, to grab some Christmas Shopping from York, and do a bit of walking in North Yorkshire. With the snowy weather it really felt very special and Christmassy.

Tucked away in the folds of the Hambleton Hills, Carr House Farm is a really lovely 16th century farmhouse that oozes rustic charm. Anna was most welcoming and really friendly and helpful. I couldn't have wished for a more pleasant stay, and all at a really reasonable price.

There are some fantastic walking areas to be had, and some great local attractions to see. I only wish I'd had more time to explore them all! The breakfast was superb and there is plenty of great places to eat locally.

Needless to say, with so much to do, and all in such a beautiful area of the country I won't be able to resist coming back here!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Carr House is a beautiful old farmhouse in a great location for exploring the North Yorks Moors, plenty to see and do in the area. Anna is a terrific host, giving lots of information on places to visit and to eat and she cooks a lovely breakfast. Great value, i just loved the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeshireJaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2009

after visiting carr house on many occasions over the last 10 years it has always been exellent .the breakfast is great and anna make you feel very welcomb it has great surroundings and we enjoy every minute of it
sue and dave cornwall

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

we have just had a long weekend at this charming place.view from the room was just perfect and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampleforth
4.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,530 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
681 reviews
4.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ampleforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ampleforth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic 4 poster bedrooms ensuite. Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in North Yorkshire. Twixt the Abbeys of Ampleforth, Byland and Stanford. Eat delicious Yorkshire food.Award winning Yorkshire breakfast and finalist in Deliciously Yorkshire. Best use of Local produce on a Plate. Recent finalists in the White Rose Awards, Visit York Awards and also the York Press Business Awards. Named by the Guardian in the top 12 for Uk for wild flower gardens,meadows and orchards On the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Half an hour to ancient city of York. 45 minutes to the coast. Lots of local knowledge to help you our family have lived around here for generations. . Complimentary use of cycles,telescope. We now have the first bed of Ampleforth roses. Anyone interested in bees we have an apiary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr House Farm Bed And Breakfast Ampleforth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing