We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ampleforth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Ampleforth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Repeat customers”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for a second visit back in October. Would recommend this B&B to anyone hoping to stay in the area. Stayed in two of the bedrooms now and both were lovely and individual with four poster beds. Breakfasts made on the stove are delicious and Anna has provided us with cakes and tea in our room on both occasions. Sent home with homemade scones too which was a lovely touch. The best aspect of the stay is the hosts who are very welcoming and go the extra mile to make your stay special. You should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamy244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
97
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed a couple of nights here in October for our anniversary. We stayed in a lovely room detached from the main house, breakfast was great and we we're kept on full supply of home made cakes! A couple of decent pubs are a short walk/drive away and several high quality restaurants a little further. Would definitely recommend! Thanks Anna for a lovely stay. Rob and Stu x

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Anna is a wonderful host, she made us so welcome. The room was lovely, with plenty of heating, we even had hotwater bottles in our beds!
Breakfast was really good, with very generous portions!
Will be recommending to our friends, look forward to a return visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a great stay in Carr House farm. The room is cozy and the breakfast is rich. The surrounding of the house is quiet and peaceful. The owner Anna is a very lovely lady who has given me a very warm welcome and always make sure everything is ok during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloT246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Holland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sleeping in a fourposter bed, riding a free brand new bicycle and enjoying a wonderful breakfast, what more can we wish at Carr House. We clearly had a wonderful time. We took the bikes to pay a visit to wonderful Rievaulx abbey and to hear the monks of Ampleforth abbey sing in their splendid church.
Anna is a wonderful host so this is certainly a place to come back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a lovely Yorkshire welcome spending 4 nights at Carr House Farm whilst attending a railway rally in Gilling East. Anna makes you feel so welcome and with such an historic and beautiful setting I couldn't have asked for more. The breakfasts are superb all local produce cooked in a real farm house kitchen on the Arga, the room was lovely with all the old world house features, low windows, sloping floors with a lovely modern on suite bathroom with a good shower. Anna would always bring up fresh milk and a biscuit or cake on my return from the day and when I left she gave me more cakes for the journey so that just topped it off, and something I didn't expect was wi-fi and a fast internet connection for us "city" dwellers as being North Yorkshire the mobile signal is near zero. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Carr House Farm is honestly the best B&B my wife and myself have stayed in . The hospitality and service made us feel special ! The setting on the edge of the north yorkshire moors is beautiful , just a short drive from York , Scarbourgh , Whitby , etc ...
Anna keeps you supplied with home made baking daily and fresh milk for tea and coffee in your room , as for the breakfast selection ( Wow ) The choice and quality of the local produce is outstanding . Homemade preserves and homebaked bread !! you dont get this quality at a Hilton or Best Western hotel . We will definately be back !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampleforth
4.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,561 reviews
4.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
49 reviews
3.3 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stapylton Arms
The Stapylton Arms
#1 of 1 in Wass
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carr House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ampleforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ampleforth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic 4 poster bedrooms ensuite. Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in North Yorkshire. Twixt the Abbeys of Ampleforth, Byland and Stanford. Eat delicious Yorkshire food.Award winning Yorkshire breakfast and finalist in Deliciously Yorkshire. Best use of Local produce on a Plate. Recent finalists in the White Rose Awards, Visit York Awards and also the York Press Business Awards. Named by the Guardian in the top 12 for Uk for wild flower gardens,meadows and orchards On the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Half an hour to ancient city of York. 45 minutes to the coast. Lots of local knowledge to help you our family have lived around here for generations. . Complimentary use of cycles,telescope. We now have the first bed of Ampleforth roses. Anyone interested in bees we have an apiary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr House Farm Bed And Breakfast Ampleforth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing