We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dutch House Parties”
Review of The Dutch House

The Dutch House
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Crayke
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dutch House Parties”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful birthday party at the Dutch House at the weekend and I cannot recommend it enough. It is a delightful setting and the craft activity and facilities are second to none. The staff were very helpful and more importantly a superbly calming influence on our exuberant five year olds. thank you all so much!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank justine_g400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great course and great food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked onto the weekend stonecarving course. Wonderful location, friendly welcome and delicious food to top things off. Excellent enthusiastic tuition from Jennifer and everyone seemed to thoroughly enjoy it. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 10G_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Most welcome refreshments etc.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

One morning after breakfast whilst staying at Hazelwood Farm B & B, we set off on the Crayke circular walk. After almost two hours of walking via the village and pleasant countryside, and taking photos en route, we were in need of refreshments etc. Fortuitously, we came across the Dutch House which fitted our needs admirably.

We were “well served” by the proprietors, Cecile and Sjaak, and we enjoyed chatting to them about their move from Holland to the UK, and the development since 2010 of their café, ecological sculpture garden, and art studio where workshops are organised with local artists.

After just over an hour at the Dutch House (during which we avoided a heavy shower), we continued our walk pleasantly refreshed and rejuvenated.

Many thanks to Cecile and Sjaak, and with best wishes for your continuing success with your interesting venture.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem In The Middle Of Some Great Scenery”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As a keen cyclist I like to find new cafe stops and this place is unique, set in lovely rolling countryside outside Crayke. Delicious food and very amenable hosts, especially nice when the weather is good to sit on the sheltered courtyard with nice views or go inside the cosy barn if not. Also a good base for walking.
Highly recoomended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SWYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A splash of creativity in the heart of Yorkshire”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Family Turner were out and about at the weekend in beautiful Yorkshire and managed to pop in and enjoy The Dutch House

A fantastic place to visit, amazing food, lovely art & crafts and incredible garden with some interesting sculptures. Brilliant for kids too! Great facilities! Lots to see and do. Even have holiday cottages too! Spread the good word and pay the lovely people a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dutch House also viewed

 
Coxwold, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing