We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely little gem”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a lovely little gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Durham Ox for one night during an England excursion and what a lovely experience it was! Crakye is a sweet village with very pretty walks in the surrounding areas which are detailed in a little information booklet in your room. Our room was very large with a sitting area and tv and the bed was divine! We went for a lovely walk with our two small dogs (yes - they allow dogs!) and then had a delicious meal in the restaurant. We just can't fault the place - it does Yorkshire proud!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    61
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
182
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Visited the Durham Ox for my wifes birthday. First time we have visited, and will definately be going again. Lovely setting with great views and a great village. Had booked an overnight stay, and the room we stayed in (Lavender cottage) was superb. Lovely furnishings, huge comfortable bed and excellent, modern bathroom - all at a great price.We booked dinner in the restaurant, and what a superb experience. The menu all looked appetising, but we ended up plumping for the 'Gourmet Experience' - and WOW, what an experience it was.Each course was mouth-watering, and the highlights were the seafood platter, and the Chateaubriand was cooked to perfection. We were given as much time as we needed at our table - which was appreciated to give us time to savour the platters that kept on coming! The staff were excellent all round, and can't wait to dine here again. One final point - we came down for a late breakfast the following morning, and this was also superb - excellent choice of the highest quality, with some great touches such as a glass of Bucks Fizz or Bloody Mary if you felt that way inclined!! Already looking forward to our next visit, and well done and thank you to all at the Ox for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The cottages all seem excellent, and have the benefit of being away from the pub & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSeniors2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Durham Ox for 4 nights so far this year - 2 in January and 2 in April. Our first stay was booked because our Christmas & New Year hadn't gone according to plan and we wanted a treat. We paid a bit more than we have at other places but we did not regret our choice for a minute and booked our April stay as we were leaving in January. Similarly, when we left last week we booked a further visit in July.

The things that will keep us coming back are - comfortable and spacious bedrooms with lovely ensuite bathrooms and enough seating for both of us (in too many places there is only 1 chair) - high quality tea & coffee in the rooms rather than standard sachets - friendly and helpful staff - a delicious breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold dishes and for the ultimate treat you can mix your own bucks fizz or bloody mary! We ate in the excellent restaurant each evening but I have reviewed this in the appropriate section.

Crayke is in a good location for exploring other parts of Yorkshire. Our main interest is walking and there is plenty of scope for this within easy reach of Crayke but if this is not your thing, there are plenty of places to visit and it is easy to get to York by car or public transport.

We are looking forward to our next visit and it will probably not be our last!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmystockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from a great stay in one of the junior suite cottages at The Durham Ox called ‘Field Cottage’. We had our own front door and little entrance hall which is great for leaving muddy boots and coats. The bedroom is upstairs and although it had a real country feel it also had great modern touches like a flat screen tv, DVD library, proper ground coffee. The bathroom is gorgeous with a waterfall shower and huge bath. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on!
We booked dinner in the pub and had a fab meal of mussels to start followed by a chateaubriand steak platter to share. Unfortunately we were too full to try any of the puddings but they looked amazing. We did book our table before we arrived which I would recommend as it was pretty busy and the food is too fabulous to miss out on.
Breakfast is served in the dining area of the pub and it was a real treat to have a full English and tasty bacon butties from local suppliers and a huge pot of fresh coffee.
We loved this place and will definitely be returning. I think ‘Field’ cottage is probably one of the best of the small cottages to stay in as ‘Blue’ was beside the car park entrance so it might have traffic noise and also the first two cottages back onto the outside terrace so again you might get disturbed by late night drinkers.
This place is a fabulous cosy pub with lovely friendly staff, amazing food and set in beautiful countryside, you can’t go wrong!

Room Tip: Of the smaller cottages, 'FIELD' is furthest away from the car park and the outside seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMonster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had decided to come here for the Easter weekend meals as my elderly mother and her sister live local and thought it was worthy of a visit....we used to come here years ago when it was good and then couldnt get a table as it became so popular that it was impossible..(shouldve known something was amis when it was too easy)....what a shame....we came for a saturday night dinner and were deeply disappointed... rushed service and nonsense stuff like over chilled fridge flavoured butter, stale bread and over bearing service (not the very nice young girls fault but coming from somewhere else?) anyway...both having main courses (£110) we were surprised....green tomatoes...wierd chips...lame sauces...good beef but blimey shouldnt it be? Utterley disgraceful desserts and a bill for 4 at £240.00 we were not happy...sadly mother had decided to book the Easter Sunday for lunch which was rubbish...a cold plate of 'roast lunch'....2 slices of meat...cold (duck fat..) roast potatoes, raw veg and a spoonful of unknown (bisto..) gravy....what a bore...much wine needed...other customers complaining and not a good atmosphere (unless you were one of the many excited small children who shrieked throughout the entire lunch..) again...nice staff but an obvious problem of a 'gastropub' entity that had become too self important and was now missing the whole point of quality...if these guys were down south they wouldnt stand a chance...really complacent and chef (?) not caring about what hit the pass...been an expensive Yorkshire weekend and am wishing I was in London or Surrey to find a caring place to feed me properly and with respect....we wont be coming back until we hear that all has become better...its a shame..sorry to even have to write this review...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Ox with my girlfriend for the easter weekend. We stayed in Rose Cottage which is one of the large cottage suites. Cottage was very nice, very comfortable, the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The only downside to the accommodation was the lack of a jacuzzi bath that was advertised on the website.
That aside, we had a dinner reservation ready for our arrival and it was excellent quality. I highly recommend the chocolate fondant with black forest ice cream! All in all a fantastic night away, excellent service and great value for money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

For our son's 21st birthday we booked Sunday lunch for 9 people. We took the upstairs dining room and private lounge and thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon. The classic Sunday lunch iconic roast beef was the order of the day for the majority and was a tasty treat in ample portions.
Our allocated waiter was first class's and worth of a generous gratuity. This visit to one of our favourite restaurants in North Yorkshire was one to remember.
Thank you & see you again soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonyjordanthirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#3 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Property: The Durham Ox
Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing