We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay at The Durham Ox”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from a great stay in one of the junior suite cottages at The Durham Ox called ‘Field Cottage’. We had our own front door and little entrance hall which is great for leaving muddy boots and coats. The bedroom is upstairs and although it had a real country feel it also had great modern touches like a flat screen tv, DVD library, proper ground coffee. The bathroom is gorgeous with a waterfall shower and huge bath. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on!
We booked dinner in the pub and had a fab meal of mussels to start followed by a chateaubriand steak platter to share. Unfortunately we were too full to try any of the puddings but they looked amazing. We did book our table before we arrived which I would recommend as it was pretty busy and the food is too fabulous to miss out on.
Breakfast is served in the dining area of the pub and it was a real treat to have a full English and tasty bacon butties from local suppliers and a huge pot of fresh coffee.
We loved this place and will definitely be returning. I think ‘Field’ cottage is probably one of the best of the small cottages to stay in as ‘Blue’ was beside the car park entrance so it might have traffic noise and also the first two cottages back onto the outside terrace so again you might get disturbed by late night drinkers.
This place is a fabulous cosy pub with lovely friendly staff, amazing food and set in beautiful countryside, you can’t go wrong!

Room Tip: Of the smaller cottages, 'FIELD' is furthest away from the car park and the outside seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMonster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had decided to come here for the Easter weekend meals as my elderly mother and her sister live local and thought it was worthy of a visit....we used to come here years ago when it was good and then couldnt get a table as it became so popular that it was impossible..(shouldve known something was amis when it was too easy)....what a shame....we came for a saturday night dinner and were deeply disappointed... rushed service and nonsense stuff like over chilled fridge flavoured butter, stale bread and over bearing service (not the very nice young girls fault but coming from somewhere else?) anyway...both having main courses (£110) we were surprised....green tomatoes...wierd chips...lame sauces...good beef but blimey shouldnt it be? Utterley disgraceful desserts and a bill for 4 at £240.00 we were not happy...sadly mother had decided to book the Easter Sunday for lunch which was rubbish...a cold plate of 'roast lunch'....2 slices of meat...cold (duck fat..) roast potatoes, raw veg and a spoonful of unknown (bisto..) gravy....what a bore...much wine needed...other customers complaining and not a good atmosphere (unless you were one of the many excited small children who shrieked throughout the entire lunch..) again...nice staff but an obvious problem of a 'gastropub' entity that had become too self important and was now missing the whole point of quality...if these guys were down south they wouldnt stand a chance...really complacent and chef (?) not caring about what hit the pass...been an expensive Yorkshire weekend and am wishing I was in London or Surrey to find a caring place to feed me properly and with respect....we wont be coming back until we hear that all has become better...its a shame..sorry to even have to write this review...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Ox with my girlfriend for the easter weekend. We stayed in Rose Cottage which is one of the large cottage suites. Cottage was very nice, very comfortable, the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The only downside to the accommodation was the lack of a jacuzzi bath that was advertised on the website.
That aside, we had a dinner reservation ready for our arrival and it was excellent quality. I highly recommend the chocolate fondant with black forest ice cream! All in all a fantastic night away, excellent service and great value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

For our son's 21st birthday we booked Sunday lunch for 9 people. We took the upstairs dining room and private lounge and thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon. The classic Sunday lunch iconic roast beef was the order of the day for the majority and was a tasty treat in ample portions.
Our allocated waiter was first class's and worth of a generous gratuity. This visit to one of our favourite restaurants in North Yorkshire was one to remember.
Thank you & see you again soon.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Tonyjordanthirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here last weekend in Rose Cottage. The cottage was really sweet, plenty of room for the four of us. Beautiful views over the countryside. We were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We eat in the restaurant in the evening. Food was really good, would definitely recommend it and breakfast was great the next morning.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jimmy'sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We have been regulars at the Ox for a long time but long gone are the days of outstanding service.

The food was good, save the waitress spilling the juice from the steak over me and on the floor. She then left and did not apologise or clean up - I did hence the very low cleanliness rating the floor was filthy.

Ordering drinks - be prepared to wait and to have to find the waiter or waitress to order.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank V17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

had a very nice meal today at Durham Ox , beautifully presented and very tasty with excellent wine. We had specifically travelled up to the Provenance Inns today as we had a £10 off voucher which expires on 28th February, travelling some 40+ miles. Although the meal was excellent and the staff were very friendly I was very disappointed when we were told we could not use the voucher as we had picked from the 3 course luncheon menu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

How lovely to hear that you made the journey to come up to dine with us yesterday.
We do have many forms of offers, discounts and set menus available at any one time, not all of which are compatible with each other, so i apologise if you were unable to use your £10 voucher with us on this occasion, however you must agree that £17.95 for 3 courses represents remarkably good value as it is.
I know that the voucher expires 28th February, but if you wish to use it i will gladly honor it for a further month (March 31st) for you. Please mention this when booking so as to avoid any confusion.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
3.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
407 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,360 reviews
2.2 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
51 reviews
6.4 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range: $133 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing