We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at the Durham Ox”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Durham Ox”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from spending Christmas at the Durham Ox and can't find enough superlatives to express our delight at the warm welcome and hospitality we encountered by all the staff. We stayed in The Studio and the photos on the website don't do it justice. The bedroom and lounge is very spacious, the bathroom clean with plenty of hot water for baths/showers, and the kitchen is bigger than ours back home. The pub and restaurant is lovely and the food is delicious! Everyone we encountered was delightful but a special mention to Andy and Paul. Thank you to everyone - we will be returning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RainyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so glad that your Christmas with us was enjoyable. It was a real pleasure to help you celebrate the festive time.
Dont forget though, "the Durham Ox is for life, not just for Christmas......"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    58
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
54
179
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the blue cottage and it was the most comfortable bed we encountered in our 21-day tour of the UK! The cottage was cozy, but very sweet in appearance and worth the rate that we paid. For those who have limited mobility, note that the bed in the blue cottage is located in a niche surrounded by a brick arch, and there is probably only a foot of clearance, you have to be very careful when shimmying around not to stub your toe. There were times when we found it easier just to crawl down to the end of the bed to get out. But that's one of the quirky things that make places with character so endearing. And what a treat to have a choice of breakfasts! After weeks of travel, you grow very tired of the the full English. Only wish they were always served in the older-style side of the pub, we only had one morning there, and it has a LOT more ambiance than the newer addition that overlooks our room windows.

Just a few things kept our stay from being perfect:

The cottages are located between the car park and the entrance everyone coming from the car park uses to enter the restaurant, which means we had people walking past our windows all evening long. Time to draw the shades! In good weather, there are outdoor tables right on the other side of the windows for blue and green cottages, just a word of warning.

It was FREEZING. The heat was on the first night, and it was great. The second night, no heat, so we mentioned it in the dining room and were told it would be looked at. Was on when we returned from dinner, but off by the following morning. Then ... third night, no heat, again. We could not figure out how to operate the heat at all, the controls must not be in the room, but there was another problem when the heat WAS on ...

The bathroom was poorly planned out, unfortunately. The toilet is situated much too close to the bathroom radiator, and you cannot sit straight on the toilet without coming in contact with it. I burned my thigh the first time I used it, warned my husband about it, and he was so cautious to turn so that he didn't burn his leg, that he burned his side instead.

Another unfortunate thing about planning, is that the majority of the room is covered by a typical hotel-style carpet, but the strip in front of the door is covered in scratchy high-traffic outdoor carpet, which is understandable considering the Yorkshire weather, however you have to walk on that super scratchy carpet on your way too and from the bathroom. Stone or tile would be preferable, as it is quite unpleasant to pad across after exiting the shower.

There were no facial tissues provided in the room, which seems like a strange oversight considering the high class toiletries, the tea/coffee tray that included a bottle of spring water and a bottle of sparkling water and a Yorkie candy bar that was replenished daily!

It would have been nice to have at least one luggage rack, we were stuck putting our suitcases in the windowsills instead.

Lastly ... and this is just a weird one ... there was a small selection of DVDs on the corner shelf, but we couldn't find a DVD player in the room. Not that we even wanted to watch DVDs, mind you ... it was just odd.

OVERALL, we loved the location, easy access to nearly everywhere in Yorkshire, and we had a great meal in the dining room (will review separately) and found the staff to be very friendly and pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked some of the quirkiness that comes from adapting old outbuildings into comfortable cottages.
With regards to the heating, we did encounter a few problems at the time of your stay but luckily these have now been rectified.
Thanks for the feedback regarding the bathroom, flooring and storage. All comments are useful for us when planning any changes etc...
And finally, the DVD player is built into the back of the TV, not that it matters too much as you weren't wanting to watch DVDs. Who can blame you when theres so much more to see and do in this fabulous part of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited recently for my birthday and it was fab. Good food in the restaurant, rooms were lovely and clean with a selection of books and DVDs. Tea and coffee came with water and a Yorker bar, which as a none tea/coffee drinker is always important as we are usually forgotten!
Only negative would be one of the radiators wouldn't work and so the room was a little chilly when we first arrived, but warmed up into the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieFisher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the Yorkie bar. So much better than biscuits, wouldn't you say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Before I begin I don't want to put anyone off going to the DO because, by and large, it is a wonderful place to which we will return. However, make sure that if you book rooms you get some sort of confirmation - we had the experience of booking 2 rooms over the phone a number of months ago only to be told on the day of a family celebration that there was only 1 available. Now you can debate whose fault that was but the bottle of wine didn't offset the 3 figure taxi bill for the other couple. The cottages are wonderful, some might call them small but we thought very cosy ! We were less impressed by being seated in the newer extension which frankly could be a bistro pub anywhere in the country whereas the original rooms have an ambience which makes the DO special.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadebosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Great to hear how much you enjoy the Durham Ox. Sorry that we had some slight accomodation confusion this time, but glad that things were resolved quickly.
When booking, always let us know if you have a preferred area of the pub, we will always try to accomodate.
I hope that enjoyed your Pinot Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose the ox fr a cosy relaxing evening and good food. We arrived and were shown to our 2 bed apartment , very cold but radiators put on immediately. The bedroom was very cosy , the downstairs sette a bit grim brown colour more a futon but that's just not my taste. The kitchen bathroom fine with a nice stocked honesty bar.
The meal was amazing couldn't eat much of my main too full and very high quality. Wine flowing , very busy but full of atmosphere . Breakfast was lovely very nice and staff throughout were great we highly recommend a visit for chilling and relaxing

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Crayke is an absolutely gorgeous village. There's only the one place to eat, but the pub has great food. Breakfasts were substantial and of good quality. The room was great - very clean and modern and comfortable. Staff were friendly.

No big issues, just the following:

Internet reception in the rooms was weak - sporadic and this was a bit frustrating. Also - and this could possibly be something that is standard in the UK, I don't know - the radiators went off about 8pm and didn't come back on until 7am. So the room got pretty cold at night, and this was only in October.

Would we stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: We had the blue room, on the end of the block. You get most of the traffic from the car park driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckiestCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My daughter and I were over from the Continent for the Hull - Sunderland game and wanted to stay somewhere a bit quieter and homely outside Hull. I had tried the Horseshoe Inn in Levisham which I had visited last trip but they were not going for a one night only on Saturday nights. I found the Durham Ox in the Good Pub Guide as plausible alternative. Arrived at 1900 on Saturday to find the pub already quite busy. Was suprised how many tables they have in what appears from the outside to be a quite small looking pub. Our room was part of the renovated outbuildings behind the pub. Very stylishly decorated and well laid out. Great king size bed and huge bathroom with separate bath and shower. Very comfortable! Made our way back to the pub for our dinner. Excellent menu and plenty of friendly staff around to make sure you're not kept waiting too long to order or to get your food. Excellent real ale choice and from what I could tell a well stocked wine list. Food was very good.
Next morning we were able to appreciate the location of this pub. Amazing surroundings and views. Crayke is on a hill overlooking the surrounding Yorkshire countryside with magnisifcent views. Had a walk up the hill to the church after a great breakfast.
A fantastic place to stay, eat and unwind. Have already booked a night next summer for our annual Motorcycle Tour and expect to be back early next year again for an after football overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,460 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
599 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Property: The Durham Ox
Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing