We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW......!!!!!!!”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is busy !!
The whole operation is SO smooth and the staff and managers just SO nice and friendly.
I had the Tuna Tartare with Tempura Prawns and Chilli Sauce to start.....gorgeous, and I just thought I'd test the chef for my main course. I asked if he could do a Rib-Eye steak black and blue.....but cook it rare rather than blue? Yes.....no problem!!!! Well, it was superb and it really is a tricky dish to do well, but it was an 8.5/10 from me....and THAT is good. Highly recommended, check this place out!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank foodgourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned home after having had a very enjoyable traditional Sunday lunch in the private dining room .
We received a warm welcome and then introduced to charlotte who was to look after 12 of us.
What a brilliant job she did,serving our drinks and food from 1pm till 6pm. Philip and Val say a big thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classy_lady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent one night at the Durham Ox for a Birthday treat and it was fabulous. Stayed in Green Cottage which was lovely, very well appointed and the bed was so good I didn't want to get out of it, ever!
Excellent food in the evening and at breakfast, a very good value dinner bed and breakfast deal for £130, we only paid for drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlyadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for one night in the studio, and it was worth every penny. A super king size bed,
42" TV, DVD player, fully fitted kitchen. ensuite with bath & shower. an outside seating area with
amazing views. We ate in the restaurant, the food And service were first class.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernonWhaleybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked the large cottage for one night in March and were rather delighted when the hotel phoned to offer us a free upgrade to the Junior Suite. The suite is a very generously sized apartment with very pleasant views both front and back and could easily suit a small family for a self-catered stay. The kitchen also seemed well equipped. The breakfast provided by the hotel was excellent. We also enjoyed the meal in the evening in the hotel's restaurant. All in all a well run establishment that is obviously keen to provide good service. We hope to return when the weather is more clement.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for your poor experience on Saturday evening, we have clearly let you down on this occasion and not maintained our usual high standards of food & service . You are right to say “you are only as good as your last meal” , this is very much our motto. We would very much appreciate if you would contact us directly enquiries@thedurhamox.com or telephone 01347 821506 as we would love to have the opportunity to try and make this up to you
Kind Regards
Andrew Eaton-Carr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ate at the Durham ox last night and was very disappointed with both the meal and particularly the service. Having been before and loved it, i thought i would treat my American and Scottish family to a taste of North Yorkshire.
We ordered Steaks and Lamb. The Lamb had to be sent back having not been cooked to request. The garnish of onion rings and tomato was underwhelming as was the peppercorn sauce and i think a place like the Durham Ox could do better than pale looking frozen chips.
We ordered wine which never made it to the table. We ordered more drinks and puddings which after 25 minuets neither had arrived so we missed out again. The waitress apologised and knocked the drinks we had off the bill but it was too late our evening having not lived up to expectations.
Yes the place was busy but if your going to pack them in you've got to have the staff and they have to know what they are doing. The Durham Ox thrives on its reputation and rightly so but your only as good as your last meal.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank william1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived at the Durham Ox having booked a room for 1 night with high expectations,and it didn't disappoint,The view was lovely,the pub was cosy and welcoming,the staff were friendly and helpful,the room comfortable and clean,the bed was to die for,the food was very nice and everything was done at your pace...a lovely little place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
416 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
18.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
321 reviews
5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thormanby
107 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range: $106 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing