We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every detail.”
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Spent a wonderful night away at the Durham Ox celebrating a friend's birthday.Everything from the cleanliness and comfort of the room, to the warm ambience of the bar, to the quality of cooking was excellent. Many other more pestigious places could learn rom the "Ox" on how to organise things for the benefit and enjoyment of their paying customers. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Green room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starryeyed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your recommendation, it is always great to hear our customers feedback and even better to know what we offer is enjoyed. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 351 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed overnight at the weekend. Stayed in the 'Green' cottage which had a huge bed with almost a quicksand mattress which ensured a perfect nights sleep! Well appointed room with tv and dvd player with selection of dvds provided-nice touch. After consuming several pints of hand -pulled beer we ate in the dining room. Staff polite, efficient, knowledgeable and with a sense of humour! Food was excellent, had a divine venison loin, cooked to perfection. Was defeated by the 'plate of puds', but will get my own back next time! Food complemented by a well stocked and reasonably price wine list. Little wait despite dining room full.Breakfast was hearty and plentiful(not that it needed to be!) and set us up for the day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Green Cottage', bed is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Pigsleyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

It is always lovely to read such a positive review. Thank you for all your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and in particular liked your cottage and the Venison so much. Do come back and try to get through the plate of puds next time. Kind regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Found The Durham Ox by chance on the internet. What a find. We stayed in the studio suite and it was just perfect. The room was so comfy with the biggest bed I've ever seen. The pub itself was all decorated for Christmas and looked fantastic. We ate in the restaurant at night with log fires burning (lovely on a cold December night). The food was fantastic, the best fillet steak I've had in a while. All staff were very friendly and could have not been more helpful. Breakfast was just as nice. Could happily have stayed a lot longer than one night and will definately be back to visit again! Absolutely perfect night away.

Room Tip: The studio suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil71537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

We too are happy you found us on the internet! Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at the Durham Ox as part of a 40th birthday party. Our party was made extremely welcome in the private dining suite, and had an extensive menu to choose from. We were looked after by staff who were efficient and friendly and the food was great. My partner and I stayed in the Green cottage which had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in a hotel and was cosy and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely with lots of local produce.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for all your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed the birthday celebrations so much and that the Super King Bed was comfortable! Glad you like the brekafast too - we do pride ourselves on using local produce whenever possible! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have dined 5 or 6 times here, the last before today being some 2 weeks ago when it was superb. How it can deteriorate in this time is amazing, the beef was absolutely underdone when we asked for it to be well done, the vegetables were over done, the cut of beef was also very poor quality, the service was diabolical, everything arriving haphazardly and particularly slowly, it took over 2 hours to get finished. We understand that this is part of a small chain, i think we have dined in them all, apparently they are opening a new one in a couple of weeks we wonder whether this is causing them to take their eyes off the ball, this would be real shame as in the past we have recommended them all to friends.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Durham Ox. I am glad that you enjoyed your earlier visit but extremely disappointed that during your last visit we fell very short in the level of service that we pride ourselves on offering. I can assure you that your experience had nothing to do with our new openings but is more of a training issue that I will ensure is rectified immediately. I hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future to receive the level of food quality and service that guests in the majority of cases compliment us on, but which we regrettably lacked on your occasion. Please do contact me personally here at The Durham Ox if you wish to return and I will ensure that any future visit is memorable for more positive reasons. Kind regards, Paul Wanless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked this for partner's birthday. Stayed in one of the small cottages - lovely and clean, small but very quirky. Great coffee and tea facility. Terrace is very nice and we enjoyed sitting outside reading papers and drinking champagne! We had a great meal although if I had to find any fault it would be that the choice for vegetarians is limited and A bit expensive. My partner had one of the best steaks he had ever had! A lovely spot which I will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkYorkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thanks for your comments about your recent visit to The Durham Ox. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments about the vegetarian options. We hope to welcome you back to The Durham Ox on another occasion soon. Kind regards, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were recomended the Durham Ox for some time before we finally went. And in many ways it did not disappoint. The Food was well produced and presented. The chef evidently knows what he/she is doing. However some elementary mistakes were made in service and hosting:

Strangely the barman on our arrival decided to measure our champagne in a measure then pour it into the vertical flute thus flatterning the otherwise good wine!! Whilst we went on a relatively quiet weekday evening, it felt like our table was required seconds after we arrived for our booking. The waiter (who was otherwise good) was rushing unneccesarily and made us feel quite uncomfortable. Of note however, he was otherwise polite and expert. Upon recieving our shared starter some of the components were missing. The waiter confirmed with the chef that this was a mistake, apologised, but did absolutley nothing about it. We still paid in full for the dish at the end of the meal!! Also at the end of the meal we asked for a taxi to get us home. Whilst there are plenty of companies who could do this, the staff booked a car from the centre of York. This meant the car travelled some 40 minutes to pick us up!! This meant we had to pay an extra charge! the local town, 4 miles away has its own taxi firm. None of this was discussed with us and we only discovered it once we had arrived home!

It is important to say, in conclussion, that the food and atmosphere was excellent. However the level that the Durham Ox pithces itself at means that these mistakes are fairly unforgivable. For the price I would question returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeythump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedurhamox, General Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Durham Ox. I am glad that you enjoyed parts of your visit, notably the quality of food and general atmosphere. I am however disappointed that this wasn’t matched with elements of the service. I can assure you that we do not train our staff to intentionally flatten champagne or book out of town taxis, however on this occasion it has somehow strangely happened and highlights a training issue that I need to address. I do hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future to receive the level of service that you had expected following the recommendations made to you. Please do contact me personally here at The Durham Ox if you wish to return and I will ensure that any future visit is memorable for more positive reasons. Kind regards, Paul Wanless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
19.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
416 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
18.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
321 reviews
5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thormanby
107 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range: $106 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing