We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight - relaxing and restful stay with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Durham Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Durham Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected delight - relaxing and restful stay with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Stayed just one night breaking our trip down south from Scotland and had a perfect stay. Rooms great and food was wonderful. Excellent service and staff efficient and friendly. Would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    57
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
51
172
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I booked the OX after a recommendation from a friend, for my partners birthday.

We stayed in one of the £120.00 a night rooms as non of the £80.00 ones were available, the bedroom was the best room in the little cottage. I feel that £120 was rather expensive for the quality of the finish available, it needed new carpets / new bath / better lighting. but the bed room was great, modern finish nice and clean..

We had dinner in the Pub in the evening and it was great food was amazing and correctly priced, service was great if a little pushy.

They are having some building work done so maybe when this is done they will give the rooms a little spruce up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We have just spent one night at this delightful inn. We had previously experienced the good quality well cooked food and again were not disappointed. This time we stayed overnight in the Green Room which was warm, comfortable and a good size. My only slight criticism would be that the lighting was not really bright enough to read and take full advantage of the pleasant seating area. When we mentioned this to the staff the following morning they were very receptive to our comments. Overall the staff are friendly and efficient and I would recommend the Durham Ox to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here on a whim and exceeded all our expectations. Delightful accommodation, stylish and cosy.
Ambience in pub great, excellent service, great seasonal menu well cooked. Can't think of a thing to say in criticism (and I usually manage to find something!). Highly recommend.
Will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

We visited here to spend our wedding aniversary. We had a delicious dinner in the pub on Wed night, which was quite busy night in considering the mid-week night, but we could understand why. I had a beef calpaccio, my husband had a baked scallop as starter and they were absolutely delicious. then we had Chateaubriand. this was also delicious, but not quite as I expected. Don't get me wrong, it was very nice, perfectly cooked tender beef, we really loved it, but not THE "WOW!" factor, which we had experienced in La tupina in France (not Chateaubriand).
The room was absolutely WOW factor!! very roomy, very warm, clean, cozy, beautiful deco. We stayed in Rose Cottage. only 2 of us, but the place could take up to 4-6? Although the bed was a bit too hard for me, the place gave us a very comfortable stay. We wake up, went outside to go to the restaurant for breakfast, then surprised to see the SNOW! Beautiful scene.

We definately will go back there. Staff are very kind and friendly. Absolutely good choice!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiCragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

A lovely night away as a break an a quiet village. The food, service and rooms were fantastic. Would highly recommend to food and real ale lovers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webster-nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We have just returned from our second weekend stay in The Durham Ox. Our first stay was in Green Cottage; our second in Field Cottage. There are two further cottages. Both "Green" and "Field" are spacious and comfortably furnished. Pricing is more than fair.

The pub itself is a delight with a notable range of well kept real ales. The cellarman clearly knows what he is doing.

The restaurant serves high quality "pub grub ..... and beyond" to a standard not normally found nor expected; especially at these prices.

The bar and waiting staff are invariably courteous and cheerful. The kitchen staff are seriously talented.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
13.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durham Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Property: The Durham Ox
Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crayke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing