We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but fun”
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue Closed late July til early September
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
432 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Quirky but fun”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is one place you must stop at on the way to Farewell Spit. They have a great selection of beers, the food is simple but homely, and the location amongst the trees with the outdoor courtyards makes for a great setting in summer. They also have live music on a very regular basis. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    152
    53
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and a little different”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stopped by here for lunch on day while exploring the area. Its not your usual café with loads of fried or processed food so it that is what you want don't stop here. The food is all made on site by the looks of it and leans on the healthy side with some slightly naughty options like pies (but these appeared to have been made on site too and were not your average pie).
We had a lovely meal sitting outside in the courtyard and the service was excellent. We would certainly return if we were in the area and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4kiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food, great fun”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Mussel Inn is a must do when you are in the area. They have really lots of different beers with different tast. You can have a "test run" with five different small beers which is almost enough for you stay unless you really want to get drunk. The food was also good and more than enough. Even the nacho chips are hard to finish by you own. The atmosphere was also nice. We spent the evening with a table quiz night. Although we were too late for joining it was fun to watch. Besides sitting inside it is also possible to join people outside at the bonfire. An interesting thing is also their composting toilet. When you first hear it it might sound strange for a bar/restaurant but there is really no smell at all and I think it is a great thing to safe water and do something good for the environment. As I said, if you are around: go there and have a great time

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ngemelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best beer in town!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Manuka Honey beer is amazing! Great atmosphere and setting. We loved our after-hike beer at the Mussel Inn!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
428 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stopped by for lunch on our way to Farewell Spit. As others have said, there were no fresh mussels over the holidays. But we had the mussel chowder with garlic bread and it was delicious and reasonably priced. The building itself is an old style kiwi building. We sat outside at rustic tables. An enjoyable meal. My companions enjoyed the beer selection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing